Tours and Tickets

Catamaran Day Trip to Saona provided by Saona Dreams

Catamaran Day Trip to Saona

Catamaran Day Trip to Saona
4
Book in advance
from
$79.00
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this reservation up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Duration:
9h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
50
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Know before you go
  • Duration: 9h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, Russian, Portuguese, English, Italian, French, Dutch, Spanish
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 9h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
German, Russian, Portuguese, English, Italian, French, Dutch, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 29258P1
Important information
Inclusions
  • Buffet lunch
  • Unlimited drinks (open bar)
  • Hotel/port pickup and drop-off
  • Beverages
Exclusions
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
  • Bandanas (available to purchase)
Duration
9h
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • Departure Point: Bayahibe or Punta Cana hotels Dates: Monday, Wednesday & Friday
  • Ports:
  • bayahibe, C2FJ+WCW, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
Inclusions
  • Buffet lunch
  • Unlimited drinks (open bar)
  • Hotel/port pickup and drop-off
  • Beverages
Exclusions
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)
  • Bandanas (available to purchase)
Departure details
  • Traveler pickup is offered.
  • Departure Point: Bayahibe or Punta Cana hotels Dates: Monday, Wednesday & Friday
  • Ports:
  • bayahibe, C2FJ+WCW, La Romana 22000, Dominican Republic
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
9h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: Dec 2, 2020
A note from Catamaran Day Trip to Saona
Face masks are required for travelers and staff during bus rides.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Isla Saona
    Stop: 5 hours
    See details
  • 2
    Natural Pool
    Stop: 3 hours
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
41 reviews
Excellent
19
Very good
9
Average
7
Poor
2
Terrible
4

Adam
Colchester, UK15 contributions
May 2022 • Couples
Great day out, chilled, relaxing, lovely island. Good cruise to the natural pool, then onto saona island. nice to sit on the boat n relax in sun with rum n coke! Music and dancing if that's ur thing, good vibes.
BBQ lunch was ok, had just over couple of hours on island so not too rushed but time went quickly tho, nice walk along beach and in the carribean sea, that's what the trip was about and had enough time to take in the beach and shores. We went with nexus tours, the tour guide Mel (Gibson....as he joked) was really good and certainly, speaks more languages than I have fingers and made the bus journey informative, definitely had his work cut out for the day getting everyone in taxi boats to the catermeran, there are sooooo many other tours to contend with on the shores. Its a shame a taxi slot wasn't set aside as we spent prob 1 hour of the day waiting for taxi boats which would have been better spent on the island. Maybe a private tour would have been beneficial here as this should take away the waiting around time. We spent appx 2 hrs travelling either end of the day by bus picking everyone up. That's the only thing that let this day out down a little, all the waiting around, we sat for 45 mins in downtown area before everyone was boarded the main bus. Not quite as exclusive an island as i was expecting and 5hours (appx) of the day was spent travelling/waiting but still worth it for a day out.
Written May 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

exaaman
29 contributions
Jun 2016 • Friends
We were told that the journey from our hotel in Dom Julio to the catamaran wold be 45 minutes, it took twice as long.
The tour rep also said the boat would have netting between the hulls of the boat which it didn't and was a huge disappointment to my wife and her sister who love to lie there and catch the surf as it splashes up.
Other than those two issues we all had a fantastic day.
There were soft drinks and rum available on board the boat, all included in the price, no beer though.

The stop for snorkelling in the sea was ideal and much fun was had by all, even if the water was a little choppy.

At the beach on Catalonia we were fed a light lunch with no rationing, there was also cooled beer available, then a good couple of hours, or more to do your own thing, most of which time we spent snorkelling in the calm, shallow sea off the beach.
It's ideal for youngsters who may have been intimidated by the depth of water at the first stop.

I would highly recommend this trip.
Written June 22, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

JuanOquendo
Lakeland, FL161 contributions
An absolutely fabulous day. Sail out to Saona island on a Catamaran, have a few drinks and either soak up the beauty or party with the locals. Make a stunning entrance to the beach and have a few more drinks. There is a buffet lunch which was very nice. Chicken, fish, pasta, salad and potatoes. This is one of the most beautiful beaches I’ve ever been to. The Water is a turquoise blue green and there are hammocks, picnic tables, lounge beach chairs and plenty of shade. There is a good amount of beach time. Then get on a speed boat and go to the natural pool. The water is only waist deep as it seems like you are out in the middle of the ocean. Have a couple of more drinks. Then speed boat your way back to the starting point. Excursion starts at about 9am and finishes at about 4:30pm. Well worth the price and the time. A must do.
Written March 16, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Tanks for your review Regards
Written March 29, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

VivaAQP
Veytaux, Switzerland24 contributions
Most companies sell this trip way overpriced, let alone hotels. I've seen up to USD 120 per person for this day trip. We paid less than USD 80 (4000 DOP) for the whole family (2 adults and 2 small children) by going to Bayahibe port directly and dealing with the first tout that appears. And this included the entry fee to the natural reserve (500 DOP per adult). The service is exactly the same, we got on one of the catamarans together with all the folks from the hotels in Bayahibe and Punta Cana. Of course this way you need to get to the port by your own means. Starting with a low price and haggling a bit in Spanish can get you a good deal.
The trip itself is really nice. Even if you are staying in Punta Cana with its already nice beaches, Isla Saona has such a stunning beach you can only see on postcards.
The catamaran is slow, it took us more than 3 hours, but it's fun with all the ambiance and drinks. Sometimes you can spot dolphins and flying fish if you're lucky. The trip back by speedboat is faster but there is a half an hour stop at Piscina Natural which is a nice sand bank out in the sea. All in all recommended if you get a good deal.
Written November 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

spacegirl349
Houston, TX26 contributions
Apr 2019 • Couples
My husband and I booked a snorkel trip to Saona Island from the Best Day Travel desk at the Westin Punta Cana. We told the representative that we loved to snorkel, and he said this trip would provide 2 snorkel stops – one out in the water, and another off the beach at Saona. It also included a seafood buffet, a stop at a natural swimming pool, and a catamaran ride home. It sounded fantastic. He also said there were only about 20 people on a boat – which sounded great. Unfortunately, that is not how the trip went.

We had 38 people on the boat, not 20. We did our first snorkel stop only a few minutes after leaving the shore. The tour guide said we only had 15 minutes and told us to hurry. Everyone was a little confused that this was the first snorkel since we just sat down in the boat. There was no explanation about what to do and some people hadn't snorkeled before. Only a few people got into the water. My husband felt too rushed and so decided to wait until the beach snorkel. I don't think any of the crew got into the water. It didn't seem like a real snorkel stop and we were rushed. I got into the water and we could really only circle the boat since there were boats everywhere.

We were called in and headed to the natural swimming pool. That is a large sand bar where the water in the middle of the ocean is just about 4 feet deep and there is pure white sand below and clear water. No plants, fish, nothing. It was like a swimming pool. They had a floating bar and provided champagne to everyone, along with fruit kebabs and sandwiches. That was a fun stop.

Then we went to the island and it was a huge disappointment. It was pretty, but the beach was not nearly as nice as the one at our hotel. The beach was packed with people and the entry was very rocky and hurt our feet. When we arrived, there were many, many boats along the beach and only a small area to get into the water. When we got off the boat, we were told there was no snorkeling and nothing to see in the water. Several of us were angry, as we had been told this was a snorkeling trip. Since my husband had skipped the quick snorkeling stop, he didn't get to snorkel at all on this excursion. He was planning to snorkel off the beach. The seafood buffet was also a big disappointment. It consisted of hot dogs, pork chop, chicken, fish, and shrimp kebabs. That is not really a seafood buffet, and everything was very overcooked. We could not get the shell off of the shrimp because it was so overcooked.

Then came the scariest part of the trip. We had to climb from our speedboat onto the catamaran, which was parked out in the middle of the water away from shore, while the two boats moved apart and crashed together in the waves over and over! I was terrified! Of course everyone was wet and the boat surfaces were slippery and in constant motion. You had to time it just right or fall between the boats! My husband did end up falling onto the catamaran - and has a couple of bruises. I am 58 and don't have good balance - I was really scared and could not believe we had to do this not once - but twice to get back home. There were two elderly people and an older woman with a cast on her arm - I was very scared for them also! Someone could have been seriously injured. We have been on many boat excursions in Mexico, Honduras, Aruba, Belize, Virgin Islands and have never had to do this type of unsafe boat transfer.

I will say that the crew were all friendly and helpful, and the crew included photographers who took photos of everyone, but the bottom line is that we had paid for a snorkel trip (expensive at $165/person) and that is not what it was. I feel we were misled and it was falsely advertised. It also turned out to be a bit dangerous.

We and another couple complained to the Best Day Travel desk in the hotel when we returned, and they told us to write up all the problems in an email to the Best Day Travel customer service address. I wrote the company and received NO response. After another week, I wrote them again and still have received NO response. I will also be sending a complaint to the Westin Punta Cana (which was otherwise a fantastic resort, by the way).

Overall, Punta Cana was wonderful, and the people everywhere were so nice. But this Saona snorkel trip was terrible.
Written May 17, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We dont do snorkeling trip to Saona. The snorkeling trip like you can see in the title is at Catalina. That's 2 different island and 2 different trip.. In some saona tour like the one that you buy (Best Saona) we have snorkeling stop (20 to 30 mins) but it's in Bayahibe because en Saona its al sand bottom (nothing to see). The snorkeling stop en Bayahibe does not have anything to see with the snorkeling that we do en Catalina. We are very sorry that your rep did not sell you the right excursion. Regards
Written May 21, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

TravelGRL1414
Grand Blanc, MI55 contributions
Jan 2019 • Couples
My in laws booked this trip for us while vacationing in Punta Cana. We paid $99pp for 10 couples. We called the day prior to confirm pick-up time and when we called the guy who answered the phone was extremely rude and never said hello just asked for our last name and he said 7am!!! Then hung up!

The next day while waiting 7am passed so I called again, he answered and said 7:05 and hung up! The small vehicle arrived at 7:06am and we boarded. We were the first to board (10 guest) the vehicle then proceeded to the next resort where we picked up an additional 4 guest, then onto the next where we have 4 more. At this time the tour guy said we had to stop at the gas station as we were having vehicle problems but also picking up an additional 4 guest... but no more room on this vehicle so we had to change out. We waited for 15-20 minutes and then got a new vehicle.

We arrived to the port where we board the boat for the day. While going out to The catamaran is was a very rough looking boat. Beat up, 2 hot tubs that didn’t work, and cheap cheap rum with coke or sprite only.. no beer or diet!!!

Arrived to the island and had a nice day. We left island and on our way home we had another break down on the bus. We stopped on the side of the road in a dirt lot and my father-n-law helped try to fix the issue, snapped Belt!!! Couldn’t fix it, I called the number again and the rude guy answered and said not his fault and would send someone to help. 43-45 minutes later a new bus arrived.

Also, our tour guy picked up a “friend” to tag along, she used up a seat and was not working. She enjoyed the day just like a paying customer.

DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS COMPANY!!! Viator is also not refunding or staying by us as there customers. This was advertised as a 10 hour tour. 7am to 5pm, we got back to resort at 7:15pm! We missed a party we booked on beach also!! Thanks Viator & Saona Dreams!! 2 thumbs DOWN!
Written February 5, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hola TravelGRL We are really sorry that you did not get in our excursion what you were expecting. Regards
Written February 20, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Real B
Parkland, FL42 contributions
We booked a day trip at the Sheraton Santo Domingo. We were told to show up in the Zona Colonial at 6:30am. The guide showed up at 7 am and we hopped on a bus. The bus was comfortable by not recent by any standard. We stopped on the way to pick some people and at a rest stop for 15 min. The travel agent told us breakfast was served on the bus but that was not the case. So not knowing this we did not buy food or water. Nothing was provided on the bus. We then proceeded to another stop to pick up more people. All said it took about 3 hours to get to where the boats for the island leave. All I can say is if you do not like crowds you should stay a away. Boarding was chaotic to say the least. It looked like a bus station with loads of people boarding the boats. We boarded what we thought was a fast boat only to be transferred on a catamaran. The boat was loaded with people and crying kids. No food just cheap rum with coke or sprite. Music and dancing on board made the ride somewhat fun. It took about 90 min to get to the island. Ok this was the best part as far as the trip. Very nice beach with nice water but again if you don’t like crowds you will not like this. By crowds I mean real crowds. The food line for the buffet was long and only chicken and some sort of fish and pasta was available. The drinks on the island are cheap rum no ice by the way with coke or sprite and beer. Then after 2:30 hours they rounded up the cattle for the trip back. We returned on the fast boat with a stop on an area with shallow water. We got back to the bus at around 5:45 pm. The bus ride back took 3:15 min with numerous stop. So all in all 6 1/2 hours for a 6 hours excursion. All in all it was nice to see the island but it makes for a very long day and I suggest you bring your own breakfast and snacks with water specially if you are going with kids. Probably would not do it again.
Written October 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hola first of all remember that we are soana dreams so we are just responsable for the boat part and time in Saona the transfert and tour guide is the responsibility of yout tour operador we have vip excursion with private boat and premium witch is more what you were expecting from this excursion that the regular saona Regards
Written October 22, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Craig F
Edmonton, Canada13 contributions
Apr 2019 • Family
Paid $85.00 usd for snorkel cruise which turned out to be very long bus ride, 30 minutes and a very long cruise, 45 minutes to Catalina Island for a very short snorkel 35 minutes. The area is good for snorkeling but not great. Cozumel or anywhere in Hawaii is much better. After short time at the reef we were taken to an island for 2 hours where we had an OK lunch and then just sat on the beach until it was time to board the boat and gp back to the bus. The worst part was a person of the cruise ship who danced all the way to the reef and then all way back. He/She was very inappropriate in his/ her dancing and made it a very uncomfortable cruise. Could have saved $85.00 and stayed on the resort.
Written April 9, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hola Snorkeling at the Wall reef is 45 mins The on the beach is 3 hours where the mask and snorkel are also available. Regards
Written May 21, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Joe R
Coto de Caza, CA496 contributions
Set aside one day for a Catamaran sail to Saona. The price is decent for the experience. This is a must do!
Written October 4, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hola Joe Tanks for t your review Regards
Written February 20, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

M4reach
4 contributions
Aug 2018
We did the regular Tour. They will stop for 30 mins at the natural ocean which is short. But it’s crowded recommend to take a vip trip
Written August 22, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Tank you for your review Regards
Written February 20, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 14
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Saona Dreams
Happiness278640
Happiness278640
00
Saona Island is paradise!
Saona Island is paradise! Absolutely beautiful! Papa German was an excellent guide throughout the whole day! He pr
Chloelouise21x
Chloelouise21x
00
DO NOT BOOK THIS - it’s an absolute rip off!!
We were picked up from our hotel at 7:05am - we then traveled for around an hour to pick up people from an addition
AmandaNickel
AmandaNickel
00
Fun Day
It had rained a lot the days before our trip which is not conducive for visible snorkeling. Otherwise it was fantas
Elisabete M
Elisabete M
00
Beautiful island and fun catamaran ride!
We booked our VIP Saona excursion from Punta Cana at our hotel with Amstar. It’s a full day but it was worth it, Y
Tricia R
Tricia R
00
Good choice for port
This was a bit of journey to get to the island, but a nice choice on this port. Not much to do on island without tr
Krystal411
Krystal411
00
Best by far...
We booked Sanoa Island Adventure VIP with AMSTAR and I’m so glad we did. Day started out with our guide Jose, witty
Pavel F
Pavel F
00
Really conflicting experience
Fyi -We purchased vip tour that included lobster dinner. Pros: Knowledgeable guide Ramirez Absolutely stunning loca
Katrina K
Katrina K
00
Good - But Long Day
Good: Altos de Chavon was a unique experience - hard to believe the town is not "ancient". Our guide Ramone was ver
7106Lora
7106Lora
00
terrible tour company to deal
On Janurary 31 with took a tour from Dreams Punta Cana to Catalina Island. When we left the hotel the bus filled up
patsmitg
patsmitg
00
Worth the trip
Beautiful, Stunning Blue Lagoon Beach. It was amazing. Go if you can. We ate lunch on the beach, had a siesta an
Tonycal3
Tonycal3
00
Fun
My son and I had a blast. There were things to do on the boat. The lunch was decent and the price from Bayahibe was
SwissTrippy
SwissTrippy
00
Fantastic Day!
We were picked up at our resort in Bayahibe by taxi. This was a bit unnerving because the taxi driver was unsure
hi_maint_couple
hi_maint_couple
00
Best day of our vacation
We first went to the natural swimming pool in the middle of the ocean where you could take professional pictures wi
LeilaBEsco
LeilaBEsco
00
Fun in the sun
Very well organized trip to isla Saona. Crew new various languages and I was impressed. I felt very safe. Everyone
cooklm73
cooklm73
00
Perfect
We were aboard the Adventure and the crew and captain were the most fun friendly bunch of people I had met since be
Frequently Asked Questions about Catamaran Day Trip to Saona

Catamaran Day Trip to Saona price starts from $79.00. Discover and book Catamaran Day Trip to Saona on Tripadvisor

Catamaran Day Trip to Saona cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Catamaran Day Trip to Saona on Tripadvisor

Catamaran Day Trip to Saona is hosted by Saona Dreams. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Saona Dreams on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Catamaran Day Trip to Saona on Tripadvisor

On average, this experience will take approximately 9h. Discover and book Catamaran Day Trip to Saona on Tripadvisor