This is a typical itinerary for this product
Pass By: Broad Street, Bridgetown Barbados
On the 5th of July 1628 that 64 settlers headed by Charles Wolverstone arrived. The location of Bridgetown was the most suitable place for a port. Its swampy lands however made it bad for the settlers’ health.
The settlers named the town after a bridge that had been constructed by the early inhabitants of the island, the Amerindians. The Bridge of itself was called the Indian Bridge
The principle streets in Bridgetown were laid out by John Swan and in keeping with tradition Swan street was named after him. The main street Broad Street was named Broad Street as it is the broadest street in the town.
In the early years the streets in town were ill kept and in 1656 legislature passed and act where persons not keeping the space in front of their property clean could be fined 100 pounds of sugar for each day of noncompliance.
Bridgetown's Swamp was filled in and replaced with a canal.
The lower part of the Constitution is called the Careenage. It was named the Careenage because it ships were careened on to a side to be repaired
Stop At: Garrison Savannah - Barbados Turf Club, Garrison Rd, Bridgetown Barbados
From 1655 large fleets of British ships and soldiers were visiting and Barbados making it there base of operation. In the early years there were no barracks for them or provisions, the care and expense of the officers fell in the hands of Barbadians themselves. After repeated visits this became quite burdensome especially considering it was at a time when the island was quite impoverished. The legislature of Barbados was moved to petition the British government for a permanent garrison to be built on the island.
It was not until 1780 that it was finally decided by the British Government to station a permanent garrison on the island.
It was eventually decided that the Garrisons should be built near Charles Fort and St Anne’s Castle. 16 acres were purchased in 1789 and construction began by the early 19th century most of the buildings had been completed and had grown to cover 64 acres. The Garrison in Barbados is in fact the largest in the Caribbean.
Many of the buildings were constructed of London brick brought out as ballast in ships which returned with sugar. Some 60 of the original buildings are still in existence today.
The Savannah of itself was a very rocky area where many crabs lived. It had to be filled in and leveled for the troops to practice on. It was also the birthplace of cricket in Barbados and today serves as the islands racetrack.
On November 30th 1966 Barbados was led into Independence by the then Premier Errol Walton Barrow, officially celebrating the achievement of nationhood as a sovereign and independent state within the Commonwealth
Duration: 10 minutes
Stop At: Enterprise (Miami) Beach, South Coast, Oistins Barbados
One of the most beautiful and popular beaches ion the south coats. We will stop here for a light snack and a photp opportunity
Duration: 20 minutes
Stop At: Foul Bay, Barbados
The name Foul Bay it is an adaptation of the original name Fowl Bay which itself originated from the large number of migrating birds that once nested in a swamp located in the area. Foul Bay is an absolutely beautiful expanse of white sandy beach overlooked by rugged cliffs. The beach is partly shaded by casuarina and palm trees. It is truly unspoilt & off the beaten path.
The HARP Gun was landed at Foul Bay in August 1962. The High Altitude Research Project (HARP)
Duration: 15 minutes
Stop At: Codrington College, Barbados
odrington College is the oldest Anglican theological college in the Western Hemisphere having been built in 1 743 after Christopher Codrington had bequeathed the estate and considerable money at his death in 171 0.
Many Caribbean priests have trained at Codrington
and the College continues to play an active part in
education and theological teachings, working closely with the University of the West Indies.
The setting of Codrington College is especially beautiful with a magnificent lily pond and a driveway lined with
cabbage palm trees. Christopher Codrington Ill
was the son the Governor.
Codringtons College's wildlife include, Green heron, ducks, pigeons and a variety of fish.
Duration: 15 minutes
Pass By: Speightstown Mural, Speightstown, Barbados
he area of Speightstown was te first major port and commercial centre of Barbados. The city is named after William Speight, a member of Barbados' first Assembly during the colonial years. Slave ships sailed into it bringing the with them a stolen people. Manny of them ill from a rough crossing in inhumane conditions. Ships laden with sugar & other commodities left Speightstown bound directly for London & especiallyn Bristol. For this reason it was sometimes called Little Bristol
Stop At: Bathsheba Beach, Sandy Beach, Bathsheba Barbados
Bathsheba is located on the Eastern coastline of Barbados. It is said that this area was named after the wife of King David whose name was “Bathsheba”. Legend has it that she bathed in milk to keep her skin beautiful and soft, and the rolling surf waters of Bathsheba’s “Soup Bowl” resembled Bathsheba’s bath. The area is popular with surfers. It is a popular area for locals and visitors alike and is dotted with several seaside cottages.
Duration: 20 minutes
Stop At: Animal Flower Cave, North Point Barbados
We visit North Point Barbados for the great views. The Animal Flower Cave is also located at North Point But the entrance fees are not included in this tour. Dutring the Months of Dec to April Humpback whales migrate through the Caribbean. North Point is one of the popular viewing sights. Located at Animal Flower cave is a woinderful restaurant where you will enjoy luch with a spectacular view.
Duration: 1 hour
Pass By: Glory Tours, Bridgetown Cruise Port, Bridgetown Barbados
Pass By: Holetown Beach, Holetown Barbados
Holetown was the first town in Barbados. in 1625 by an Englishman named Henry Powell, who was blown off course and landed in Barbados by accident.
He returned to Barbados two years later in 1627 with a group of English settlers who named the area Jamestown after the then king of England James 1st.
The name Holetown comes from the rriver mouth an area they reffered to as The Hole, by early settlers as it provided them safe landing place
Stop At: St. John's Parish Church, Barbados
According to the Anglican tradition, worship has been conducted on this spot since 1645. The first building, a wooden structure, was destroyed by fire in 1676 and replaced by a stone structure.
Following the hurricanes of 1780 and 1831, the current building was constructed in 1836.
Fernando Paleologus,a former church warden and planter was buried under the choir when he died in 1670. He was buried with his head pointing to the west and the body embedded in quicklime in accordance with the Greek Orthodox custom. Following the hurricane of 1831 his tomb was moved to the churchyard.
Paleologus was a descendent of the brother of the great Emperor Constantine XI He fled to Barbados after his family was driven from the throne of Constantinople by the Turks
Duration: 20 minutes