We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Village Cottage ~ Weekly Rental

  • Property description
    Key West
    |
    Rental Home – 
    2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
    Ideally situated in the Historic Seaport side of Old Town Key West, this one-and-one-half-story Island Village Cottage vacation rental is located in one of the most charming and interesting Old Town residential neighborhoods of Key West. Perfect retreat for anyone who wants to experience Key West as the locals love and live it.


    The renovation of this 19th Century Classic Revival shotgun cottage was careful to respect the original seafaring charm by restoring the original pine floors on and walls on the first floor. The long tall wooden hall that runs from the front door to the back of the cottage is characteristic of the shotgun island cottage, and the shiny wood floors and pickled walls make it a beautiful room in and of itself. At the same time the renovation opened the ceiling of the...
    more
  • Amenities & details
    • Air Conditioning
    • Deck
    • Linens Provided
    • Stereo System
    Suitability
    • Wheelchair Access:
      Ask
    • Elder Access:
      Ask
    • Pets Allowed:
      Ask
    • Smoking Allowed:
      Ask
    • Suitable for Children:
      Ask
    Listing #FKN4018191 by: FlipKey
  • Rates
    View Details
  • Property location
  • About this property
    How do I know if the property is available?
    How can I contact the owner?
    What if I don't hear back from the owner?
    How do I pay?
    Is my payment insured in any way?

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michele D
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in June 2015

I'm thrilled my husband and I found Vacation Homes of Key West before booking our trip. We stayed at the Island Cottage, which has two bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a private dipping pool (which has been a treat at the end of each day after aquatic or beach activities). The house is located in Historic Key West, which is walking distance from Duval St and from many of the main attractions. This location is perfect!

The house could use larger tv's and possibly some new furniture in the master bedroom, because the dresser is warped and it's not easy to open the drawers. But all in all, it's been a great experience and we'll definitely use VHKW again on our next trip. It's been a wonderful vacation and the weekly cost of the house was a great value in comparison to the hotels in the area (which don't provide this amount of space or privacy and certainly not a private dipping pool)! Staying in a VHKW home also provides the charm and authenticity to the experience that is Key West...
more

PaulaS131...
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
5
people found this review helpful

This was not a good experience for us.

Here are the good things: it is a decent amount of square footage. The master bedroom is a decent size and the loft to downstairs is cool. The wifi worked great & we had no issues connecting to work. The washer/dryer was really nice to have.

Here are the things that were most frustrating:
Ants in the master bathroom. Lots of tiny little ants...which we didn't notice when we came in at night, so by the next morning, they were in all of my cosmetics. Several days - and several complaints - later the management company offered to spray for them. Maybe they're just used to having them since there's an inch high gap on the right side of the front door - direct to the outside, and gaps around the AC units, too. The pool was dirty - the walls had brown stuff all over them, and the concrete was cracked and missing in sections on the bottom. Again, days into the trip they sent someone over to clean it, and on our last...
more

Management response:

It is regrettable to hear that your experience with us was not good. All reviews are passed along to the appropriate staff for improvement. However, please keep in mind that this is the Tropics and the little sugar ants are very common down here. Unfortunately we have no control on what's going next door; the pool has been resurfaced. Thank... more

Report response as inappropriate
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$400
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
10 travelers
viewed this property in the past week
Manager
Vacation Homes of Key West
13052947358
Speaks English, Polish
Listed since : Oct 2012
Response Rate: 25 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 5 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing