We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travelers have booked this property

Architect's tropical treehouse Cairns

4.0 of 5 stars
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Rental Home /
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Unique Architect's own tropical treehouse holiday home in Cairns. Located high in Edge Hill, Cairns' most leafy & prestigious suburb, in natural rainforest setting alongside seasonal creek. Enjoy the beautiful natural breezes & views, both of the rainforest & to the city lights. This house truly embodies the concept of the indoor-outdoor lifestyle that tropical locations are so fabled for. Watch the scrub turkeys & guinea fowls parade through the yard. 5 bedroom 3 bathroom rainforest home located in quiet leafy close, in beautiful Edge Hill. 5 mins walk to Cairns famous botanic gardens, 3 mins walk to coffee shops, bakery, restaurants, delicatessant, 10 mins walk to whitfield conservation park, rainforest walking tracks & Centenary Lakes. 7 mins bike ride to esplanade, 12 mins bike ride to CBD, 5 mins by... Read more
About the owner, Architect's tropical T
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 102 days ago
Listed since : Apr 2012
Overall rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Based on 7 reviews and 1 property
Contact owner See more properties
Listing #FKN3579072 by: FlipKey
Reviews from our community
 of 5 stars
4 of 5 stars Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We rented this place as a group so that everyone could interact more easily in a common area instead of individual hotel rooms. The place was decently located not too far from cairns as indicated in description. When we first walked in, the place was quite nice looking. Spacious and clean. The description says no air conditioning so the place... more

Management response:

Unfortunately tropical rainforest environments in summer are extremely difficult to control bugs and beetles, in spite of spraying and baiting, and our inability to control guests' food scraps on a daily basis heightens this issue. We are considering reinforcing responsible management of food scraps in our guest information. Unfortunately November can be a warm month being the onset of our... more

Report response as inappropriate
Yamba, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
people found this review helpful

After a nice set up and booking all seemed well. We were even informed that wifi should be on at the property by the time of our booking. Turns out that the owner did not put on wifi. The access is nearly impossible and is NOT suitable for anyone with mobility issues. The house itself was large enough but the... more

Management response:

It is very unfortunate that the power of internet reviews provided anonymously are such a tempting platform for guests with a lingering complaint. In this instance, the guest has deliberately chosen not to reveal the reason for their poor review is that they were charged for altering their bedding arrangement during their stay. In spite of the quoted bedding arrangement... more

Report response as inappropriate
Emily H
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay here. With nine of us, kids, young adults and grandparents, Tropical Treehouse ticked all the boxes, which is no mean feat! The house could have easily fitted a few more people in, we had ample space. A max ten minute drive to cairns it was a perfect base to explore the delights of far North... more

  • Balcony
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Deck
  • Dishwasher
  • Double Beds:(3)
  • Dryer
  • DVD Player
  • Freezer
  • Garage
  • Grill
  • Kettle
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Guides/Maps
  • Microwave
  • Mountain Views
  • Outdoor Dining Area
  • Paper Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Refrigerator
  • Shared Yard
  • Shower Rooms (1)
  • Soap/Shampoo Provided
  • Stove
  • Terrace
  • Toaster
  • Towels Provided
  • TV
  • Washer
  • Wheelchair Access:
  • Elder Access:
  • Pets Allowed:
  • Smoking Allowed:
  • Suitable for Children:
Show Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Showing rates for up to guests.
Dates Min stay Weeknight Weekend night Per week Per month
Default 3 nights
Dec 1, 2015 -
Jan 2, 2016
5 nights
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to U.S. Dollars and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
  • Cleaning fee: $141 / stay - Fee
Additional Rate and Availability Information
Rates are based on 10 people, with double beds accommodating 2 people. for numbers greater than 10, or for additional bedding such that double beds are not shared, additional charges apply. Check with owners on additional costs involved based on time of booking.
Hide Rates
Car advised
Activities nearby
Nearest Beach: 0.0 mi.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
If the owner has provided contact information, you may contact him or her directly. If not, you can contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner
How will the owner contact me?
This owner may contact you via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox, your personal email, or phone.
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to check if the property is still available. If the owner has listed a phone number, you can also call to follow up. If you still don't hear from the owner, TripAdvisor recommends that you send inquiries to other properties.
How do I pay?
For this property, you may use a credit card to pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox; the owner may also offer other payment options. \n You must pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox if you want to be covered by our Peace of Mind Protection. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Is my payment insured in any way?
If you pay online via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox, your payment will be covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Request to Book
28 travelers
viewed this property in the past week
Send Message
this property has payment protection