We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rembrandt Houseboat

4.0 of 5 stars
Very good
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Rental Home /
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Simple houseboat on the Prinsengracht canal, close to the Rembrandt square, tourist attractions and nightlife (although quiet location). Two double beds.
The Rembrandt Houseboat is a nice vacation rental in the old city centre of Amsterdam, for those who are looking for a not so conventional stay.
It offers beautiful views of the Prinsengracht canal and its bridges.

This houseboat is very simple and actually it is a bit shabby, for the reason that it is also low budget (houseboats are usually more expensive than apartments). Therefore don't expect any luxury. The reviews are pretty good though (see here below).

Please be aware that smoking is allowed.

It offers one double bedroom, living room with an extra double bed and a small sofa, basic but complete kitchen, and bathroom. No open areas, but great views with the big glass wind...
Read more
About the manager, Apartments Unlimited
Languages spoken: Portuguese, English, Spanish, Dutch
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Listed since : Apr 2009
Overall rating: 4.6 / 5.0
Based on 656 reviews and 22 properties
Contact manager | See more properties
Listing #FKN1986411 by: FlipKey
Reviews from our community
 of 5 stars
4 of 5 stars Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The location is very nice, quite near city centre (20 min walking). Not so far from museum area.The house is quite large for 4 adults with two separate rooms (one used also as dining room). A kitchenette is available. Efficient WiFi connection available. Not very satisfied about cleaning (just essential), don't know if this is the standard in Amsterdam. Furthermore... more

Management response:

Thank you for your feedback. We will forward your remarks about the cleaning and the need for refurbishment to the owner. Your feedback is very helpfull to improve the quaity. more

Report response as inappropriate
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We've never written a negative trip advisor review before but our experience at the Rembrandt Houseboat was truly horrible. The owners/managers showed their true colors with us. When they said that the houseboat would have no internet, we asked that they discount our price. One in our group is a medical doctor who needed to keep track of his patients... more

Management response:

I’m the owner of Apartments Unlimited, with which you have booked this houseboat. We are very sorry for your troubles, but perhaps I should explain our side of the story. 
There was indeed a problem with Internet there on the day you have arrived and, while we were trying to solve the problem, the owner has provided a local sim... more

Report response as inappropriate
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Really enjoyed my stay at the Rembrandt Houseboat. Clean, central, and fantastic view down the canal! Friendly owners, highly recommend! more

Management response:

Nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your time in sending us a feedback :-) more

Report response as inappropriate
  • Central Heating
  • Hairdryer
  • Internet Access
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Towels Provided
  • TV
  • Waterfront
  • Water Views
  • Wheelchair Access:
  • Elder Access:
  • Pets Allowed:
  • Smoking Allowed:
  • Suitable for Children:
Show Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Showing rates for up to guests.
Dates Min stay Weeknight Weekend night Per week Per month
Default 2 nights
Sep 19, 2015 -
Oct 31, 2015
4 nights
Nov 1, 2015 -
Dec 23, 2015
3 nights
Dec 24, 2015 -
Jan 3, 2016
5 nights
View all periods
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to U.S. Dollars and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
Hide Rates
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
If the owner has provided contact information, you may contact him or her directly. If not, you can contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to check if the property is still available. If the owner has listed a phone number, you can also call to follow up. send inquiries to other properties. \n If you still don't hear from the owner, TripAdvisor recommends that you send inquiries to other properties.
How do I pay?
If the owner approves your stay, he or she will let you know which forms of payment are accepted. This owner does not currently accept payments via the TripAdvisor inbox. You can ask him or her to sign up; payments made via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.
Is my payment insured in any way?
If you would like payment protection, ask the owner to sign up to accept online payments on TripAdvisor. Payments made via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Make Inquiry
62 travelers
viewed this property in the past week
Call manager