We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cherry Tree Cottage

Cherry Tree Cottage
3.0 of 5 stars
3 reviews
Cherry Tree Cottage
Cherry Tree Cottage
Sitting Room
The Log Burner
The well-equipped kitchen
Dining Area
Dining Area Detail
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
The bathroom (with shower over the bath)
The Lake District's ancient English woodlands
The beautiful Newlands Valley nearby
The Keswick Launch on Derwentwater
Bassenthwaite Lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Rental Home /
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Cherry Tree Cottage is a lovely property located in the small village of Papcastle, in the northern Lake District. It sleeps 2 comfortably, plus 2 well behaved dogs, ideal for a romantic getaway.

The cottage is beautifully furnished, with a stylish wood burner in the lounge. The room also has a bed settee that can be used for an extra bed space if needed. The cosy kitchen is well equipped and there is a comfortable double room and bathroom upstairs. Outside you can enjoy the country air in the lovely enclosed garden, perfect on a summer's evening or looking at the clear stars on a frosty winter night.

Cherry Tree Cottage has a lovely pub within walking distance, 'The Belle View', serving great food and real ales. Cockermouth is only a mile away, providing supermarkets, cafes for tea and cake and gift shops to have a mooch ro...
Read more
About the manager, Sally Fielding (Property Manager Sally's Cottages)
Languages spoken: Italian, French, English, Spanish
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
Listed since : Oct 2007
Overall rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Based on 68 reviews and 35 properties
Contact manager | See more properties
Listing #HL1209437 by: Holiday Lettings
Reviews from our community
 of 5 stars
3 of 5 stars Average - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ian S
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
person found this review helpful

Nice cosy cottage ideal base for visiting the lakes and surrounding area. The cottage is situated in the small village of Papcastle about 20 minutes walk from Cockermouth. As is the case with all small villages car parking is an issue, although there is a tiny parking area outside the cottage we ended up parking opposite on the pavement as... more

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The photos on the website are not a true reflection, the rooms look bigger than what they actually are. Uncomfortable settee and bed. TV didn't work stating no signal even set up on the sat box. Struggled to keep fire going, logs were damp even after we provided our own fire lighters and matches as none available at the cottage.... more

Management response:

We were surprised that the cottage didn't live up to your expectations as several of our guests have been back to stay many times. We feel the website describes the cottage well. It is unfortunate that you didn't find the new sofa and bed comfortable as the comfort of our guests is very important to us hence the recent refurbishment.... more

Report response as inappropriate
Melissa X
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
people found this review helpful

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for four nights and had a wonderful time. The cottage was very clean and homely, we had hours of fun keeping the log fire going. The only issue we had was a van next door parking outside so sometimes traffic struggled to pass. In a great location that is near everything, we went go... more

  • Cots:(1)
  • Dining Seats (2)
  • Double Beds:(1)
  • DVD Player
  • Fireplace
  • Freezer
  • Highchair
  • Kettle
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room Seats (3)
  • Microwave
  • Private Yard
  • Refrigerator
  • Sofa Beds:(1)
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Towels Provided
  • TV
  • Washer
  • Wheelchair Access:
  • Elder Access:
  • Pets Allowed:
  • Smoking Allowed:
  • Suitable for Children:
Show Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Dates Min stay Weeknight Weekend night Per week
Sep 4, 2015 -
Oct 22, 2015
September/Beginning & Mid October 2015
3 nights
Oct 24, 2015 -
Oct 29, 2015
October Half Term 2015
7 nights -- --
Oct 30, 2015 -
Dec 18, 2015
End of October/November/December 2015
3 nights
Dec 21, 2015 -
Dec 27, 2015
Christmas 2015
7 nights -- --
View all periods
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to U.S. Dollars and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
Additional Rate and Availability Information
Please note there is an extra £15 charge per dog
Hide Rates
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby, There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive, There Are Tennis Courts Nearby, Watersports Nearby.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
If the owner has provided contact information, you may contact him or her directly. If not, you can contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to check if the property is still available. If the owner has listed a phone number, you can also call to follow up. send inquiries to other properties. \n If you still don't hear from the owner, TripAdvisor recommends that you send inquiries to other properties.
How do I pay?
If the owner approves your stay, he or she will let you know which forms of payment are accepted. \n This owner does not currently accept payments via the TripAdvisor inbox.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Make Inquiry
20 travelers
viewed this property in the past week
Call manager