We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travelers have booked this property

Church View Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 stars
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Visited by Tripadvisor
Overview
Rental Home /
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England
A warm welcome awaits you at 23, Kirkgate - a Listed Georgian cottage in the Kirkgate conservation area of historic Cockermouth, on the uncrowded north western edge of the Lake District National Park.
Carefully restored and tastefully decorated by its loving owners, the cottage is ideally situated, overlooking the Parish church, and close to all Cockermouth's amenities, including superb restaurants, excellent pubs, interesting specialist shops and the lively Kirkgate Arts Centre.

With its four poster bed and log-effect electric stove, this snug cottage for two makes a romantic hideaway at any time of the year.
Strictly no smoking. One well-behaved dog only.
About the owner, Boband Liz P
Languages spoken: English
Calendar Updated: 4 days ago
Listed since : Jul 2013
Overall rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Based on 12 reviews and 1 property
Contact owner See more properties
Listing #HL539584 by: Holiday Lettings
Reviews from our community
 of 5 stars
4.5 of 5 stars Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alanmcdad...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at this lovely cottage over Christmas and New Year. We first stayed in September and enjoyed it so much, We actually forfeited a £200 deposit on another property( which is A LOT of money to us) to return at Christmas. We arrived to find a beautifully decorated Christmas tree, a bottle of bubbly and even a Christmas card!... more

Tom H
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed here in December 2015. On the plus side the location is excellent with the excellent Bitter End pub a few steps away as well as the main town centre with its various eateries,shops etc. On the downside, the cottage, as others have said looks thrown together.. I have stayed in a lot of rentals in the area whilst visiting... more

Management response:

This review is somewhat disingenuous, as it appears to have been posted by the partner of Sam Duske, who has already reviewed their stay and to whose review we have responded. When he refers to "as others have said" he is in fact referring only to the comments by Sam Duske, the only other visitor to have found this cottage... more

Report response as inappropriate
Hufflepuf...
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

A lovely little cottage in an ideal location but sooooo lacks the personal touch. Huge potential to make it into something amazing but everything was just basic and bland. Wood burning stove removed and replaced by electric one - we primarily booked this cottage because it had a wood burner. Very disappointed. On the plus side it was still warm... more

Management response:

We are as disappointed as yourselves that we had to remove the woodburning stove, however we were informed by the chimney expert that it, and the flue, were unsafe, so we had to quickly replace it with a replica, and amend the property description accordingly. We are sorry you did not like our personal touches- fresh flowers, local prints on... more

Report response as inappropriate
Amenities
  • Dining Seats (2)
  • Double Beds:(1)
  • DVD Player
  • Fireplace
  • Freezer
  • Kettle
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room Seats (2)
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stereo System
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Towels Provided
  • TV
Suitability
  • Wheelchair Access:
    No
  • Elder Access:
    No
  • Pets Allowed:
    Ask
  • Smoking Allowed:
    No
  • Suitable for Children:
    No
Availability
Show Rates
Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Dates Min stay Weeknight Weekend night Per week
Jan 6, 2016 -
Mar 18, 2016
Winter Low season
3 nights
$79
£55
$79
£55
$361
£250
Mar 19, 2016 -
Apr 8, 2016
Winter Low season
4 nights
$79
£55
$94
£65
$433
£300
Apr 9, 2016 -
May 20, 2016
Spring Mid Season
4 nights
$79
£55
$87
£60
$433
£300
May 21, 2016 -
Jun 3, 2016
Spring Holiday
4 nights
$87
£60
$94
£65
$505
£350
View all periods
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to U.S. Dollars and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
Additional Rate and Availability Information
Discount of £100 per month for bookings of 1 month or more
Hide Rates
Map
Access
Car not needed
How to get there
Railway: Penrith: 24.9 mi
By Car: Cockermouth is about 35 minutes' drive from junction 40 on the M6, or 45 minutes from Carlisle.
By Public Transport : The X4/X5 bus service links Penrith Station on the West Coast Main Line directly with Cockermouth Main Street.
Alternatively, take the train to Carlisle and change for the Cumbrian Coast line which will bring you to Maryport or Workington, where you can catch buses to Cockermouth.
Activities nearby
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive, Nearest Beach: 7.5 mi.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
Initially, you may contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.
How will the owner contact me?
This owner will contact you via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox.
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.
How do I pay?
For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Is my payment insured in any way?
Yes. Payments made via the TripAdvisor inbox are covered by our Payment Protection.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Enter dates to see pricing
2 guests
Show Price
38 travelers
viewed this property in the past week
Send Message
this property has payment protection