We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Saltings, Batheaston, Bath

  • A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
    A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
    A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
    You can just see the parking area in front of the cottage
    Luxury bathroom with Egyptian cotton towels
    Lots of stone and wood and a super comfortable King size bed!
    Cosy living area with lots of character
    Property description
    Batheaston
    |
    Rental Home – 
    1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
    The Saltings is a four star rated Grade II listed one bedroom cottage with an interesting history dating back to the 16th century. Up to around 100 years ago it was used as a place to salt the meat for what was then a butcher's shop on the high street, part of the same building.

    The conversion to a high quality holiday let was completed in 2011 by the owners, John and Jane Moon.

    As well as retaining as many of the original period features of the property as possible, John and Jane have enhanced the building's character through careful use of stone and wood to create a unique and very comfortable, character property, ideal for couples looking for a romantic or relaxing break or a single person seeking a peaceful haven.

    The secure car parking space in front of the cottage is just...
    more
  • Amenities & details
    • Balcony
    • Books
    • Central Heating
    • Dining Seats (2)
    • Dishwasher
    • Double Beds:(1)
    • Dryer
    • DVD Player
    • Freezer
    • Hairdryer
    • Iron
    • Kettle
    • Linens Provided
    • Living Room Seats (2)
    • Microwave
    • Paper Towels Provided
    • Parking
    • Refrigerator
    • Shower Rooms (1)
    • Stove
    • Terrace
    • Toaster
    • Towels Provided
    • TV
    • Washer
    • Wi-Fi
    Suitability
    • Wheelchair Access:
      No
    • Elder Access:
      No
    • Pets Allowed:
      No
    • Smoking Allowed:
      No
    • Suitable for Children:
      No
    Additional amenities & feature info
    The open plan living, dining and kitchen area with oak and stone features combines tradition with 21st century technology including under floor heating, state of the art Smeg hob and oven, dishwasher, integrated Bosch fridge/freezer, Samsung flat screen TV and DVD player, integrated washer/dryer, sumptuous leather Chesterfield settee and small dining table.

    The spiral staircase to the upstairs bedroom is a little tight for those with limited mobility but adds yet more character.

    Again, under floor heating and lots of wood and stone provide a perfect combination of tradition and luxury in the bedroom and ensuite shower room.

    A super comfortable king size bed, with Egyptian cotton bedding will guarantee you the best possible night's sleep.

    Travertine tiling adds further luxury in the...
    more
    Listing #HL174775 by: Holiday Lettings
  • Rates

    Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

    Showing rates for up to guests.
      Begins Ends Min stay Weeknight Weekend night Per week
    Xmas Dec 20, 2014 Jan 2, 2015 3 nights
    $149
    £95
    $180
    £115
    $776
    £495
    Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to U.S. Dollars and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
    Fees
    • N/a: $0 / stay - Fee
    • Premium against damage: $16 / stay - Fee
    Additional Rate and Availability Information
    We feel our rates are very reasonable for the quality of property we offer.

    Everything is included, nothing more to pay other than a £10 accidental damage premium or Sunday changeover charge, as below. We supply many other things you won't find in an average holiday let.

    A £10 premium against damage is added to all bookings and covers you for all accidental damage up to £100. Please note that for Sunday arrivals or departures, where a previous guest has already booked to arrive or leave that day, we have to charge an additional £20 to cover extra cleaning costs.

    Minimum charge is £210, (which includes the damage premium) so a mid week booking for 2 nights would be £210.

    Bookings which include or lead up to a public holiday or New Year's Eve have a minimum charge of £320, so stay three nights for best value. Public holidays are charged at weekend rates.

    25% deposit to book, with the balance payable six weeks before your stay, except for 'minimum charge' bookings wh...
    more
  • Property location
    Restaurants
    Things to Do
    Access
    Car advised
    How to get there
    Airport: Bristol: 21.7 mi
    Railway: Bath Spa: 3.1 mi
    Ferry: Portsmouth: 80.8 mi
    Tucked into the corner of a listed building with origins in the 16th century, The Saltings is accessed through a courtyard just off the High Street in the village of Batheaston, one of the small suburbs of the famous historic City of Bath.

    Access by road is very simple. We are about half a mile from the main roundabout intersection of the A46 onto the London Road going into Bath.

    There is a secure car parking space immediately in front of The Saltings, whilst the bus stop, with regular services to and from the City, is immediately in front of the main building on the High Street. Typical journey time by bus or car is 10 minutes.

    You can also walk or cycle, the towpath along the canal being a particularly attractive route. A really lovely way to access the City is by one of the regular c...
    more
    Activities nearby
    Fishing Nearby, There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive, Horse Riding Nearby, Watersports Nearby, Nearest Beach: 34.8 mi.
    Nearby cities
  • About this property
    How do I know if the property is available?
    How can I contact the owner?
    How will the owner contact me?
    What if I don't hear back from the owner?
    How do I pay?
    Is my payment insured in any way?

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sharon E
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in October 2014

What a lovely cosy cottage. Refurbished to a very high standard. Perfect location for exploring the area and within easy reach of Longleat Safari Park. Wouldn't hesitate in returning in the future. more

Management response:

Thanks for the review Sharon, very glad you enjoyed the stay and we look forward to seeing you again. John and Jane more

Report response as inappropriate
558jill
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago for a stay in October 2014

Great location for the bus route into Bath which saves driving and dealing with the hassle of finding parking. The spiral staircase is only for the agile ones - especially in carrying the suitcases up! Deborah was very helpful in responding to our queries more

Management response:

Glad you enjoyed the Saltings. Yes the spiral stairs are quite tight, which we state in our property details. As it's a small cottsge there is no room for a conventional stair case. Most guests find it to be perfectly fine and we trust it didn't distract from your stay. more

Report response as inappropriate
jayandcar...
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I booked The Saltings as a suprise birthday weekend for my boyfriend. Loved the location, all so friendly in the area. The cottage is very well equipped, very snug - the oven unfortunately did not want to play. We would book to go back. Thank you more

Management response:

Hi. Glad you had a nice time with us. Sorry about the oven - it just decided to stop working while you were there, which was unfortunate for you. All fixed now but we realise it's not great when it happens to you. It was perfectly fine immediately before your stay but faults can happen anytime. Anyway, we are pleased... more

Report response as inappropriate
other travelers have booked this property
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$141
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
John and Jane M
44 1225852789
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Jun 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
Peace of Mind Payment Protection
Receive our exclusive payment protection when you pay for this rental on Tripadvisor. It's how we keep your payment safe, guaranteed.
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing