We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  • The Old Mill
    The Old Mill
    The Old Mill
    The double height kitchen/dining area with its fine timber work
    The large, very light upstairs sitting room
    The dining area at The Old Mill looks out onto the patio and garden beyond
    The main entrance through double doors into the kitchen/dining area
    Property description
    Forest of Dean
    |
    Rental Home – 
    3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
    On the outskirts of the tiny hamlet of Flaxley in a gated courtyard setting bounded by a stream and with immediate access to the owners' fields and lake, The Old Mill and The Old Dairy are the very attractive result of much thought and hard work. At right angles to each other, the houses have their own parking and garden area and can be rented individually but are also ideal for larger parties wishing to holiday together: The Old Mill provides large, light living spaces where a party of ten can comfortably gather to eat or just relax.

    There is a well-stocked lake in the adjacent meadow for fly-fishing enthusiasts: arrangements and any payment for this will be made directly with the owners.

    Both these cottages have been cleverly and imaginatively designed to incorporate interesting a...
    more
  • Amenities & details
    • Central Heating
    • Cots:(1)
    • Dishwasher
    • Double Beds:(2)
    • Dryer
    • DVD Player
    • En Suite Rooms (1)
    • Fax
    • Freezer
    • Grill
    • Highchair
    • Iron
    • Kettle
    • Linens Provided
    • Microwave
    • Private Fishing Lake/River
    • Refrigerator
    • Secure Parking
    • Single Beds:(2)
    • Stove
    • Telephone
    • Toaster
    • Towels Provided
    • TV
    • Washer
    • Wi-Fi
    Suitability
    • Wheelchair Access:
      Yes
    • Elder Access:
      Yes
    • Pets Allowed:
      Yes
    • Smoking Allowed:
      No
    • Suitable for Children:
      Yes
    Additional amenities & feature info
    Main entrance through French windows to large, light, double height kitchen/dining area with fine woodwork, fully fitted kitchen incl. island unit, dining table with seating for up to 10, plus sofa and TV in double-height sitting area. Corridor leading to secondary entrance and three bedrooms, two doubles (one with en suite shower room/wc) and one twin bedroom. Separate bathroom/wc with shower over bath. Stairs from corridor, with clever concealed low-level lighting, leading to large upstairs sitting room with glass wall overlooking the kitchen/dining area. Door out onto a small, glass-fronted balcony with table and chairs.
    Listing #HL342619 by: Holiday Lettings
  • Rates

    Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

      Begins Ends Min stay Weeknight Weekend night Per week
    Xmas & New Year Dec 20, 2014 Jan 9, 2015 3 nights
    $414
    £266
    $414
    £266
    $1,777
    £1,142
    Winter Jan 10, 2015 Feb 13, 2015 3 nights
    $250
    £161
    $250
    £161
    $1,077
    £692
    Feb half term Feb 14, 2015 Feb 20, 2015 3 nights
    $316
    £203
    $316
    £203
    $1,352
    £869
    Winter Feb 21, 2015 Mar 13, 2015 3 nights
    $250
    £161
    $250
    £161
    $1,077
    £692
    View all periods
    Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to U.S. Dollars and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
    Additional Rate and Availability Information
    Nightly rate prices quoted are based on a 3 night stay. Prices for 4 and 5 night stays can be provided on request.
  • Property location
    Restaurants
    Things to Do
    Access
    Car advised
    How to get there
    Full route details will be provided at the time of booking.
    Activities nearby
    Fishing Nearby.
  • About this property
    How do I know if the property is available?
    How can I contact the owner?
    What if I don't hear back from the owner?
    How do I pay?

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alison N
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Great welcome from the owner Ben. The pictures do not do this place justice. The attention to detail is very impressive. An old building fabulously restored and finished to such a high standard giving a great feeling of luxury. Opening the fridge to find bread, eggs, milk, butter and orange juice and even a bottle of wine to welcome us... more

Management response:

Thank you for your feed-back about The Old Mill. We're glad you received such a special welcome from Ben & Kelly and enjoyed your stay. We wholeheartedly agree with your comments about the accommodation. Hideaways Reservations team. more

Report response as inappropriate
Peter T
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

From the moment we steeped in the door we knew that we had found a gem!! A fantastic barn in a beautiful location only made better, by what can best be described and good old English hospitality from Ben and Kelly, who own the barn. Barn was keep impeccably clean throughout our 5 week stay and information on what was... more

Management response:

Thank you for your feed-back. we're glad you had such a fantastic stay at The Old Mill and were so well-looked after by the owners. Hideaways Reservations team. more

Report response as inappropriate
Lisa G
Tring, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at the Old Mill for a week and had a fabulous time. The property is gorgeous, beautifully decorated and very well equipped. Sort of place you wouldn't mind having a rainy day in - it's so cosy, immaculate and beautiful. Ben and Kelly left a fab welcome pack (which included cake and wine, best welcome pack we've ever... more

Management response:

Thank you for your kind and positive feed-back about The Old Mill. We're glad you had such an enjoyable stay. Hideaways Reservations team. more

Report response as inappropriate
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$250
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Talk to the Manager
0843104 0769
Manager
Nicholas Pash (Property Manager Hideaways)
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Mar 2013
Calendar Updated: 7 days ago
Note: Response rate information for this manager is unavailable.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing