The brick home called Blenheim was owned by the Willcoxon family and completed about two years before the start of the Civil War. The home, situated on a 367-acre farm about one mile northeast of Fairfax Court House (now the City of Fairfax), became a strategic camping ground and refuge for Union soldiers. Between 1862-63, Union soldiers covered the walls of the home with sayings, drawings, signatures, and names of their regiments, creating, in effect, a diary of the period on the walls. Subsequent owners (all descendants of the Willcoxon family) covered the walls on the first and second floors with paint and wallpaper. Only the walls in the attic remained undisturbed. Restoration efforts on the lower floors have uncovered faint representations of the Civil War era grafitti. Today, the home at 3610 Old Lee Highway, remains on its original site. The City of Fairfax purchased the home and remaining grounds  (about 12 acres) and built an interpretive center where the attic walls are reproduced in an authentic , full-sized reconstruction. (The original attic is off-limits to visitors due to safety considerations.) Each May, Blenheim is the site of a Civil War reenactment. In addition to the attic reproduction, the interpretive center houses restrooms and a small gift shop that carries a range of Civil War books, DVDs, prints, games, and toys. The interpretive center is open Tuesday-Saturday from 12:00 to 4:00. Guided tours of the site are conducted at 1:00. Admission and parking are free. Call 703 591 0560 for more information. Shopping and dining are available in the City of Fairfax where visitors can take a walking tour of historic homes, churches, and buildings that date from the Civil War era.