Hallockvile (named for the Hallock family who established the farm in the 1780s) has 18 farm buildings on 28 acres of farmland, part of which is currently farmed. Rich in agricultural and familial history, the Hallock Homestead was the home of several generations of Hallocks from 1801 until 1979 and is now preserved as a museum with much of the original furnishings and interior in tact. The Homestead also has associated outbuildings and the original "English style" barn housing tools and farm equipment and providing shelter for the sheep and chickens. The four-square Cichanowicz House reflects the Polish immigrant farm acquisitions of the 1930s and is situated on the western end of the Hallockville campus. The building and contents reflect the period and the influence of the Polish farm families. The Hudson-Berg Sydlowski house is the administrative center with a small museum and gift shop. Several smaller farm buildings (Sprout House, Naugles Barn, the Trubisz House, Hog House, Wash House, Out House and others) dot the campus. Several gardens: the Heritage Garden, the Community Garden and the summer camp garden are integrated into the campus at various points. Tours are given on weekends during the warmer months and by appointment. The annual Christmas at Hallockville, the Barn Dance, Chicken Barbecue, Annual Tea, and the Fall Harvest Festival bring tourists from parts near and far. A summer camp is held for youngsters to learn and enjoy the farming ways of the past. Special exhibits are created annually such as the 2009 "Fletcher and Lizzie Booker: Pioneers of the Great Migration" reflecting the African-American influence on the area agriculture, and the summer exhibit for 2010, "Chairs of the Homestead." In May 2010, Hallockville will host the inaugural "Long Island Fleece and Fiber Fair." Agricultural history comes alive at Hallockville in a vibrant mission to reconnect people to our shared agricultural heritage. And, the staff, volunteers and farm animals are mighty friendly, too.