Convent of La Encarnacion

The Convent of La Encarnacion is located at Paseo de la Encarnación, 0. The convent was initiated in 1479 by Doña Beatriz de Higuera and inaugurated in 1515. This convent is famous because it was the convent where Santa Teresa first became a nun in 1535. She lived here for 30 years, the last three years as the prioress of the convent. It was here that she wrote the reforms for the Carmelite Order, which consisted in a return to austerity, poverty and living in a cloister. It is here where Santa Teresa had the vision of Jesus, her cell and where she left some personal effects. San Juan de la Cruz (Saint John of the Cross) lived in the convent between 1572 and 1577, being the priest and confessor of the nuns. There is a small museum dedicated to Santa Teresa which contains her chair as the prioress and a crucifix she carried on her trips, as well as a drawing of San Juan de la Cruz. There is a large Renaissance style cloister of two floors. The façade is Renaissance and has a tall spire. The bell tower has the coat of arms of Fray Julian Cano, the Bishop of Avila. The church has the Latin cross ground plan and has only one nave. The altars have the Baroque style. The convent was declared a National Monument in 1983.