Interested in Molokai?
We'll send you updates with the latest deals, reviews and articles for Molokai each week.
The Molokai Museum and Cultural Center resides in a former sugar mill that was once owned by Rudolph W. Meyer, who came to Molokai on his way to the gold rush, but stayed to marry the high chieftess and operated this small sugar plantation. The 1878 building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and features a 100-year-old steam engine, a mule-driven cane crusher, copper clarifiers, and a redwood evaporator. The museum also holds special events, including an annual music festival, wine tastings, taro festivals, and crafts classes, such as loom weaving and sewing.
St. Joseph’s Catholic Church, on Highway 450 just past mile marker 10, is a wood-frame building from 1876—one of four built by Father Damien. The building was restored in 1971, and has an adjacent cemetery with a Damien statue.
Kapuaiwa Coconut Gove, located 2 miles west of Kaunakakai along Maunaloa Highway , boasts more than 1,000 coconut trees on 10 acres planted back in 1863 by the island’s high chief Kapua’iwa. A sign at the shoreline Kiowea Park delights tourists: “Danger: Falling Coconuts.”Palaau State Park, at the end of Highway 470, features more than 200 acres of pine woods. Well-marked hiking trails that start here take hikers to the fantastic sea cliffs, Phallic Rock, and the Kalaupapa Lookout, where visitors can see the famous leper colony.