Church of San Gines

The Church of San Gines was once part of the Convent of Santo Domingo de la Cruz, which no longer exists, and is located in the Plaza de Santo Domingo. The church construction started in 1561, but stopped in 1566, so the building is only half of that planned. The facade is made of stone and has two large buttresses that have a belfry on top of each of these. The central rose window has the coat of arms of the Dominican Order on top of it. There is one nave that has side chapels, that have tomb sculpture. The sculptures of Pedro Hurtado de Mendoza and his wife Juana de Valencia are shown in prayer on each side of the presbytery. They were the founders of the convent. The transept chapels hold the tombs of the Counts of Tendilla, Iñigo Lopez de Mendoza and Elvira de Quiñones, and these date from the 15th century. Close to the church is the monument dedicated to the Count of Romanones that the sculptor Miguel Blay created in 1913.