Interested in Salzburg?
We'll send you updates with the latest deals, reviews and articles for Salzburg each week.
The site where the current cathedral or Dom of Salzburg stands was probably a sacred place for rituals and sacrifices from Celtic and Roman times. It is known that the first Dom was built under the guidance of St. Virgil, who might have used foundations by St. Rupert. The first Salzburg Dom was recorded in 774. In this year, the relics of St. Rupert were transferred to the Dom from St. Peter’s Abbey.
The so-called Virgil Dom of Salzburg was built between 767 and 774 and was 66 metres long and 33 metres wide. Archbishop Arno (785 – 821) was the first to arrange changes and renovations of the Dom, which was in place for less than 70 years: in 842 it burned down after being stroke by a lightning. Three years later, the re-erection of the cathedral started.
Bishop Wolf Dietrich von Raithenau planned the construction of the current Baroque Dom. The conflict with Bavaria in 1612 caused Wolf Dietrich to disappear in a “dungeon” and the construction work being interrupted. Wolf Dietrich’s successor and nemesis Prince Archbishop Markus Sittikus hired Santino Solari in 1614 to finish the building. At Sittikus’ death, the Salzburger Dom was almost complete and finished under Prince Archbishop Paris Lodron, who opened the cathedral in 1628. The towers were finished in 1652 and 1655.