Convento de Santa Clara The Santa Clara Monastery was founded by Zarco's grandchildren on the site where he originally built a chapel. It is said that one of his grand-daughters was the first abbess of this monastery for poor Clare nuns (subsequently used by Franciscan orders) . Zarco himself is buried underneath the high altar. The convent became the richest in Madeira and as a result was a prime target for the raiding French pirates who attacked Funchal in 1566. The valley in central Madeira named Curral das Freiras is the place where the nuns fled to escape the pirates, and hence why the area is known as the 'corral or stable of the nuns'.

The site consists of a large main church, ornately decorated with azulejos tiles and a painted wooden ceiling, as well as very pleasant cloisters and a number of other smaller chapels/rooms. Some of the buildings are currently used as a nursery school; those parts that are not, are available for public viewing in group tours.

One of the smaller chapels, (the walls of which are covered entirely by 17th century azulejos tiles) is home to an unusual painting depicting a black Madonna and Child. Apparently it is from Tenerife, dates to the 17th century and was a gift to the convent. The original order of nuns who inhabited this convent led totally secluded lives, and the tour should include a chance to see the church from behind the iron grills which separated the nuns from the public during open services.