The Citadel

The Citadel is also known as the Star Fort. King Felipe II ordered its construction in 1571. The military engineer who planned it was Giacomo Palearo, and the Virrey of Navarra Vespasiano Gonzaga y Colonna also participated in its planning. It followed the defense fundamentals of the Italian Renaissance. The fort had a ground plan in the form of a star with five points. From each point of the fort, it was possible to control all possible angles of attack. The fort was improved during the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries to resist artillery sieges. Today it is a park because it is obsolete for modern warfare. The fort was part of the defensive system of the city with a perimeter of walls that had a perimeter of 5 kilometers. Three of the four sides of the city walls still remain. So this fortification is the best conserved in Spain. The munitions dump was constructed in 1694. Today it holds art exhibits. The Arms Room was constructed in 1725. It has four floors and was used to store artillery. Today it holds artistic and cultural events. There is a structure that used to be the bread oven, and this holds contemporary exhibits.