Nuestra Señora de Gracia Church 

Location: Plaza del Cristo de Gracia

 

The Nuestra Señora de Gracia Church was part of the Convento de los Trinitarios Descalzos and was founded in the 17th century by Juan Bautista. At the back of the church is the school of the Trinitarios. The church contains the images of Nuestro Padre Jesus Nazareno Rescatado, Santisimo Cristo de Gracia, and a small image of the Inmaculada, a work of the artist Pedro Roldan. During the War of Independence the church was used to house the French troops and their horses. 

The church has one nave with chapels on the sides. There is a crossing and the ceiling has a vault. The façade of the church was the work of Sebastian Vidal in 1686 and looks like an altarpiece with three sections. The chapels and the naves were decorated in the 18th century. The most important chapels are the Chapel of the Cristo de Gracia and the Chapel of Nuestro Padre Jesus Nazareno Rescatado. The artist who created the image of Jesus Rescatado was Fernandez Diaz de Pacheco. Pedro Roldan created the image of the Inmaculada in 1668. This is made of polychromed wood. The main altar dates to the 18th century. There is an organ of the 18th century. The vaulted ceiling at the crossing has the images of the Four Evangelists, created by Alonso Gomez de Sandoval.