The following article has been posted by TripAdvisor staff in accordance with Wikipedia's Terms of Use.

Since the administrative reform in 1992, Munich (German: München) is divided into 25 boroughs or Stadtbezirke:

The Boroughs of Munich

 

Key Boroughs/ Neighborhoods:

1.  Altstadt- Lehel:

Since the town extension via Ludwig the Bavarian lasting from 1285 until 1347, Altstadt consisted of four quarters and an open locale:

  • The Kreuzviertel in the north west of Altstadt. Its borders are described roughly as the Kaufingerstraße/Neuhauser Straße in the south and the Weinstraße/Theatinerstraße in the east. Located here was the centre of the clergy as there was a particularly high number of monasteries. The Kreuzviertel which was first mentioned via documents on 29 December 1458 is named after the Kreuzgasse: a street that today roughly corresponds to the Promenadenplatz and the Pacellistraße. The origin of the name is unclear. Other name: Eremitenviertel.
  • The Graggenauer Viertel in the north east of Altstadt. Its borders are described roughly as through the valley in the south and Dienerstraße in the west. The gentry preferred to reside here, probably because of the proximity to the Alten Hof. This town quarter was first mentioned on 29 December 1458. The name of the Graggenauer Quarter derives from Graggenau, which in turn has its root in the word "Krack", meaning Raven or Crow. Alternative name is Wilbrechts-Viertel, after the first Viertelhauptmann (translates as "quarter captain"). Until into the 16th century the local tax records considered the area outside the wall up to the modern-day Prinzregentenstrasse as part of Graggenau.
  • The Angerviertel in the south east of Altstadt. Its borders are described roughly as through the valley in the north and the Sendling street im the west. Traders predominantly resided here. First mention via documentation of the area is veritable as of 15 September 1508. The name Anger (meaning Meadow) derives from the meadow which was in domain of the modern-day St. Jakobs Platz with the Münchner Stadtmuseum in the old armoury and the new Jewish centre (Jüdisches Zentrum München). Another name for the district is Rindermarktviertel, after the former cattle market of the city at the site of the Altstadt on which the Rindermarktbrunnen, sculptured in 1964 by Josef Hensel, is a reminder of the former significance of the area.
  • The Hackenviertel in the south west of Altstadt. Its borders are described roughly as through Kaufingerstraße/Neuhauser street in the north and the Sendling street in the south. Traders also predominantly resided here. The name was first documented on 29 December 1458. On Altheim corner in the Hackenviertel was the area of Altheim, which was included into the area via the defensive wall in around 1285. The name is derived from Hacken, which apart from meaning hoeing or chopping, is also like a closed, fenced in area. (Compare "Hecke", meaning hedge). Alternative name for Hackenviertel is Kramerviertel.

Lehel 

Lehel is the oldest suburb of Munich; it was incorporated into the city as of 1724. In the course of the large urban extensions the area was officially named as St.-Anna-Vorstadt (St. Anna suburb) in 1812, in reference to the other suburbs such as Maxvorstadt. However this name did not go down well.

The Lehel has become another area for the arts next to the Kunstareal: The State Museum of Ethnology in Maximilianstraße is the second largest collection in Germany of artifacts and objects from outside Europe, while the Bavarian National Museum and the adjoining State Archeological Collections in Prinzregentenstrasse rank among Europe's major art and cultural history museums. The nearby Schackgalerie is an important gallery of German 19th century paintings. 

2. Ludwigsvorstadt- Isarvorstadt

The Ludwigsvorstadt district encompasses the quarters of St. Paul and Ludwigsvorstadt-Kliniken, while the district of Isarvorstadt is composed of the Schlachthofviertel, Drei-Mühlen-Viertel, Am alten Südfriedhof, the Glockenbachviertel, the Gärtnerplatzviertel and Am Deutschen Museum.

St. Paul: The St. Paul quarter, located immediately to the west of the Theresienwiese, the site of Munich's yearly Oktoberfest, is centered around St. Paul's Church, a neogothic Catholic church from the turn of the 20th century. St. Paul, especially along the Bavariaring, an orbital road circling Theresienwiese, and along the Kaiser-Ludwig-Platz, is considered one of Munich's more upscale neighbourhoods, although many a residential building has since been converted to office space. The Goethestraße to the east serves as a divider between St. Paul and the neighbouring Ludwigsvorstadt/Kliniken quarter. The quarter is served by the U4 and U5 subway lines at Theresienwiese station in the north and U3 and U6 lines at Goetheplatz and Poccistraße stations. On the northern edge of the quarter, the tramway lines 18 and 19 call along Bayerstraße.

Ludwigsvorstadt/ Kliniken: This quarter is actually made up of two distinct quarters, unofficially called Bahnhofsviertel and Klinikviertel. The Bahnhofsviertel is located directly south of Munich Hauptbahnhof, the city's main train station. It has popularly been called Little Istanbul, because of the large concentration of Turkish supermarkets, eateries and shops along Landwehrstraße and the northern part of Goethestraße. The south of the quarter is dominated by the Klinkikum Innenstadt, one of the major hospitals attached to the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität. However, there are plans to move the largest part of the hospital to the university campus in Großhadern, a borough in the south-wets of Munich and to convert the former hospital buildings to residential and office developments. Given its proximity to Munich's Old Town, the hospital buildings are considered prime developing space. There is a park along Lindwurmstraße towards Sendlinger Tor. The area is served by subway lines U3, U6, U1 and U2 at the Sendlinger Tor interchange.

Am Schlachthof: The Schlachthofviertel takes its name from the City of Munich's slaughterhouse, located in the east of the quarter. It is bounded to the north-west by Lindwurmstraße, to the north by Kapuzinerstraße, to the east by Thalkirchner Straße and to the south by the railway tracks of the Deutsche Bahn Südring. While slaughtering is no longer the main focus on the Schlachthof, the area is still home to a large number of butchers and food emporiums. Increasingly, the space around the Schlachthof has been taken up by up-start small businesses and artists. Each year, the Schlachthof hosts "Open Schlachthof", where artists open their ateliers to passers-by and display their art on the street. A small residential quarter is sandwiched between the Schlachthof and Lindwurmstraße to the west. The area is served by the U3 and U6 lines at Goetheplatz and Poccistraße stations as well as local bus services along Lagerhausstraße, Thalkirchner Straße and Kapuzinerstraße. The headquarters of the Munich branch of the Arbeitsamt federal employment agency is located along Kapuzinerstraße.

The Dreimühlenviertel is located directly to the east of the Schlachthofviertel and is bounded by the railway tracks to the south, the River Isar to the east and the Kapuzinerstraße to the north. It is residential in character, although numerous bars, cafés and restaurants are located along Ehrengutstraße and Roecklplatz. There is no subway station in the immediate vicinity, although the Metrobus on Kapuzinerstraße serves both Goetheplatz and Kolumbusplatz stations, located across the river.

Am alten Südfriedhof: This quarter is located east of Lindwurmstraße and north of Kapuzinerstraße. In the east, it is bounded by the Alter Südfriedhof (lit. "Old Southern Cementary"), where numerous illustrious Münchner are buried. The quarter is residential in character, although on the north end of Thalkirchner Straße, towards Sendlinger Tor, there are a couple of bars and restaurants. The closest subway station is Sendlinger Tor, in the north of the quarter.

It is often claimed that the Glockenbachviertel is the heart of Isarvorstadt. Indeed, it is the most vibrant part of the borough, with bars, restaurants and nightclubs straddling Blumenstraße, Müllerstraße, Hans-Sachs-Straße and Klenzestraße. The Glockenbachviertel, together with the adjacent Gärtnerplatzviertel, is also the focal point of Munich's gay culture, with gay bars and clubs located primarily along Müllerstraße. The official dividing line between the two quarters is the Frauenhoferstraße. Nearest subway stations are Sendlinger Tor and Frauenhoferstraße.

The centrepiece of this quarter is the eponymous Gärtnerplatz, a landscaped urban square arranged as a roundabout. The square is home to cafés, bars and the Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz, one of Munich's prime theatre locations. Publicly seen as part of the Gärtnerplatzviertel, Am Deutschen Museum encompasses the western shore of the River Isar as well as the Museumsinsel, an island in the river where the world-famous Deutsches Museum is located. The tramway line 18 crosses the river there, the nearest S-Bahn station is Isartor.

5. Au-Haidhausen

Au lies opposite the Altstadt of the city on the easterly plain tract of the Isar. Haidhausen is above Au on the Isar's uplands. Au-Haidhausen borders Bogenhausen to the north, Berg am Laim to the east, Obergiesing to the south, level with the flow of the Isar at Untergiesing, ending in the west at the river.

 

This work is released under CC-BY-SA, and refers to information found on the following pages: