Oregon has the largest concentration of covered bridges in the western USA.  

Although many are located in the central Willamette Valley, there are two that are easily accessible for visitors to the Oregon Coast just a few miles off Highway 101.

Drift Creek – This covered bridge is the oldest in Oregon, originally built in 1914, just a couple of miles from the ocean.  It was damaged by floods in the 1930’s and extensively repaired.  By the late 1990’s, the bridge was slated for destruction, since it was in poor condition and no longer able to support any weight.  However, thanks to the efforts of Laura and Kerry Sweitz, plus many local volunteers, this bridge has the distinction of having been completely disassembled and moved to its present location at their rural ranch.  Although no longer open to traffic, it is open for visitors every day of the year, and there is no charge to visit.

Please respect private property around the bridge.

Directions:  From Highway 101, just north of Lincoln City, take Highway 18 east for about 5 miles.  Look for a brown directional sign to the south, then go up the hill about a mile and it is on the left.

Yachats – The Yachats covered bridge is one of the shortest in Oregon at only 42 feet.  Built originally in 1938, it spans the North Fork of the Yachats River and was rebuilt in 1989.  It is open to traffic, but not large RVs or trucks. The road ends just past it.

Please respect private property around the bridge.

Directions:  From Highway 101 in Yachats, drive east on Yachats River Road for about 7 miles.  After crossing a small concrete bridge, turn left (north) on a graded gravel road and continue for about 2 miles. The road goes through the bridge.

There are four other covered bridges near the Oregon Coast, located slightly farther inland which do require more time to drive to.

Chitwood – Built in 1933 and rebuilt 50 years later, the Chitwood bridge spans the upper Yaquina River.  It is easy to spot just off present-day Highway 20 east of Newport, near the 17 mile marker.  Located 17 miles inland from Highway 101.

Fisher School / Five Rivers – This bridge is known by both names, as it crosses a fork of Five Rivers and is also located next to the Fisher School.  One of Oregon’s oldest bridges, it was built in 1919 for about $2,500 and restored in 2005 for nearly $700,000.  To drive there, take Hwy 34 inland from Waldport 20 miles to Five Rivers Road, then proceed about 9.5 miles to Crab Creek Road.

Deadwood – This bridge is unique in that the wood floor was “cambered” , or slanted, to assist traffic traveling on it around the corner. Built in 1932, it was in regular highway use until the 1970’s, when it was bypassed with a concrete bridge.  Rebuilt in the late 1980’s, it will be receiving a new roof in 2010/2011.  From Highway 101 at Florence, go east on Hwy 126 to Mapleton.  Follow signs to Deadwood, about 12 miles. Turn north on Lower Deadwood Road, follow it approximately 5 miles, then turn right on Deadwood Loop Road for about 1/3 mile.

Wildcat Creek – This covered bridge was located on the first road to the coast in this area, called Stagecoach Road. The bridge has a long narrow opening on one side, so that oncoming traffic would be visible. Bypassed in the late 1930’s, it has been repaired and strengthened several times since 1980.  Take Hwy 126 east from Florence about 30 miles to the Whitaker Creek / Clay Creek recreation areas turnoff.

Enjoy your visit to the Oregon coasts' historic covered bridges :-)