Church of Nuestra Señora de la Encarnacion

 

The Church of Nuestra Señora de la Encarnacion was built in 1505 by Friar Diego de Deza. Later it was rebuilt by Pedro Diaz de Palacios in the 17th century and work stopped on it in 1614. The church has a late Gothic design. The church conserves many valuable images, such as the Crucified Christ (16th century), a main altar from the late 5th century which shows scenes from the life of Christ, and a chasuble that was used in the first mass in the church and that was a gift from the Catholic Kings. There are other very valuable items used for worship.