We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely position, enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Clive Restaurant with Rooms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Clive Restaurant with Rooms to your Saves list
The Clive Restaurant with Rooms
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bromfield | Ludlow, Bromfield, Ludlow SY8 2JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bromfield B&B and Inns
Pembrokeshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely position, enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were so pleased to stay in this delightful accommodation. We were looking to return to the delightful Ludlow area after a visit a couple of years ago abd we needed somewhere with ground floor rooms, parking and food available. This we had, but in addition we had very good accommodation, very clean and the additonal bonuses of excellent food, friendly staff, a "village" shop to buy papers and the excellent Ludlow Food Centre just a few yards away.

We were close enough to justify a trip to Shrewsbury, which is always good, as well as a look at the ever-delightful Ludlow and the surrounding area.

We should have been in Italy but medical problems prevented that, but at least we had the consoltation of staying in delightful places, including this. Any excuse and we shall be there again. Can I say more?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    75
    32
    10
    1
See reviews for
38
94
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Really helpful staff, a number of us needed an early breakfast, sorted without any fuss. Tasty too.
Rooms are lovely, spacious, light, clean, and a good size en-suite, with large towels, well stocked mini bar at fair prices. Would have liked biscuits with the tea/coffee (Available at extra cost from mini bar) but real coffee also on the tray. Yes a little road noise with the windows open. Not much "bar" area, so not that comfortable if not dining, those that did dine enjoyed the locally sourced food on offer. Ideal location if visiting the "area" or the racecourse, but a bit out of Ludlow if that's your destination.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Having read very positive reviews of The Clive I was disappointed by our visit. Our bedroom was hot, despite the ambient temperatures being low 20s. They are obviously aware of this as there was a fan in the room, but it was too noisy to be left running all night. We had the (velox) windows open, so had road noise instead. However, the biggest disappointment was the food. The presentation is excellent, the staff are very helpful, but the taste was a let-down. Especially poor was the cooked breakfast, most ingredients - egg, mushrooms, sausage, tomato were lacking in flavour and the bacon tasted as though it had been kept warm for too long. Given that this hotel is set in the midst of rich farming country, surely better quality local ingredients could be found. Interesting that I am not the only one to complain about the breakfast, shame the hotel hasn't taken note.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I attended a Golden Wedding at The Clive last weekend. We had an excellent time and can only say positive things about the facility and its staff. The Bedroom 212 was excellent, clean and comfortable and the mini bar was not a rip off. The food provided for the evening event was excellent and the service very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was also excellent. A most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: I only saw 212 which was an upstairs twin room which was everything we wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel before and found it good. However on this occasion, the bed in our room, 111, had a very old mattress, and neither of us slept well, as we kept rolling into the middle of the bed as the mattress was in such poor condition. At breakfast, we choose the locally sourced grilled breakfast. The sausage quality was poor, the bacon tasteless and the tomato had been shown to grill, but not cooked. However It was the individual pot of jam on our table that had lost its lid, but had been covered with clingfilm that put me off. These jam pots cant cost much, so if one loses its lid, just throw it in the bin, dont put it out for guests to see, its just an example of poor hygeine. We were also seated in the bar for our breakfast, and the door kept slamming, a point that I noticed had already been complained about on a previous tripadvisor review, but has still not been rectified, the door has a closer on it so simply needs adjusting. On checking out, we were asked if everything had been okay with our stay, I advised that the room needed a new mattress as it was very uncomfortable - no comment from the staff whatsoever, not even an apology. If you dont care - dont ask!

Room Tip: Not room 111 unless they replace the mattress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Clive for our first wedding anniversary and had a lovely experience there.
Our room was spacious and modern with a rustic feel and also very clean.
The food was excellent with a good variety and especially liked that it was all sourced locally.
The staff were polite, friendly and more than willing to put themselves out to make our stay memorable.
Would defiantly love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here as our base for a long weekend in and around Ludlow. A good location, with bright and modern rooms with an element of retained rustic charm. The service was friendly and attentive, with a good breakfast. We ate one night in the restaurant and it was perfectly adequate without being over pretentious. Overall I would recommmend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clive Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clive Restaurant with Rooms

Address: Bromfield | Ludlow, Bromfield, Ludlow SY8 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Bromfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bromfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Clive Restaurant with Rooms 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 En-suite bedrooms situated in period outbuildings tastefully converted to provide contemporary accommodation. Bedrooms are very well equipped and some suitable for families. With an emphasis on fresh local produce the Clive Restaurant is renowned for locally sourced food, two AA Rosettes and entries in the Good Food and Michelin Guide. The Bar offers less formal dining and lighter menu. Located in Bromfield just 2 miles north of Ludlow with ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Clive Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clive Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Bromfield
The Clive Restaurant With Rooms Ludlow/Bromfield, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clive Restaurant with Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.