We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomodation in need of a refurb” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Katse Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Katse Lodge to your Saves list
Katse Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Katse Village, Bokong, Lesotho (Formerly Orion Katse Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Basic accomodation in need of a refurb”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the the Katse Lodge. The room was ok, very spacious with a large tv on the wall, but both the bedroom and bathroom were in need of updating. Katse dam is a beautiful area of the country and the dam tour interesting.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katse, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you back at Katse soon.

Warm regards,

The Katse Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This as an above average hotel situated right on the edge of the stunning Katse Dam.

The rooms in the main hotel are a decent size but are looking a little tired and in need of a face lift. They are however clean and tidy and the beds are big and comfortable.

The lounge, private bar and restaurant are all fine. The staff were very friendly and attentive; they made us a wonderful log fire in the lounge where we sat in comfortable chairs and drunk decent SA wines at around R120 a bottle. They charged us corkage of R30 to bring in our own bottle of brandy, not bad at all.

Supper was above average, from a very comprehensive a-la-carte menu. Unfortunately there was no fresh trout available, despite a trout farm being located just up the road and the first page on the menu being devoted to trout dishes.

The charming hotel manager spent at least 15-minutes chatting at out table. He explained that there are local supply issue with respect to trout.

Noise from the exuberant kitchen staff was a trifle excessive, but added to the local charm :)

The early breakfast was excellent and extensive. Each individual's choice being correctly catered for; crispy bacon, soft eggs etc. being correctly delivered to each guest. Plenty of good coffee was served too.

Room Tip: Must ask for a view of the Katse Dam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katse, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Sandy,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are a simple lodge in a very remote location and sometimes that makes it a little more difficult to provide the things that most people take for granted... That is why it really makes a difference to hear such positive feedback.

Warmest regards,

The Katse Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The rooms are spacious, but in need of an upgrade. It is fine for a night, but quite expensive for what you get. We had dinner in the restaurant and it tasted nice, but contained mainly canned vegetables, although there were also some fresh ones to be found on the plate.

We appreciated the service for an early breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katse, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review of Katse. We are currently working on a refurbishment plan for both of our Lesotho properties, in fact Mohale Logde has just completed refurbishment on their rooms. We eagerly await the opportunity to upgrade ours and look forward to being able to welcome you to Katse again.

Warmest regards,

The Katse Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bokong hotels

Capetown
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Katse village in one of the houses for one night. The houses are old and in desperate need of upgrading. I will not recommend staying over for more than one night, but even though the accomodation is not great, we were glad we planned to spend the night there for 2 reasons. It enabled us to take the tour of the dam wall. Defenitely worth it! The other reason is that we had dinner at the hotel. What a surprise! I can recommend their trout specialities. Delicious! Also make sure you take all supplies needed as shopping opportunities are basically non-existent. The beautiful scenery and quietness make a visit to the Katse dam a must.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katse, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and use it as a valuable tool to measure our performance. We are looking at upgrading chalets, however we recommend staying in the lodge rooms. The chef and restaurant staff will appreciate your compliments on your meal at the lodge restaurant.

Warmest regards,

The Katse Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed two nights in a "chalet" at Katse Lodge. The chalets are old housing from the dam construction project and are in very bad condition (at least the 2 we saw were.) Windows rotted, rugs stained and ripped, curtains ripped, window panes broken, plumbing problems, etc. Needless to say, they need alot of work. Definitely not worth the money. Hotel rooms are hopefully much better because the setting is nice and the dam tour is excellent. Not much else to do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katse, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. We generally encourage people to book the hotel rooms as the chalets are a separate entity and are being earmarked for renovation.

Our apologies, hopefully next time round you will stay in the lodge.

Warm regards,

The Katse Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The logde is NOT the main attraction but the view over the dam is. Not much to do so, this is the perfect time to relax with a good book looking out over the dam . I recommend the dam tour. Wanted to do the village walk but is seems they do not have guides available. Do not be enticed by the ad in the reception about various exciting trips available - they probably wont have guides! Ask for a room far from reception as the tv, staff voices etc echos down the passage when you might want to sleep a bit later. The road from Ficksburg to Katse dam is slow but beautifull! Plenty of photographic oppurtunities. The meals where simple but good! This is a nature trip, no shops arround. The Sotho people are very friendly and willing to pose on their horses or donkeys for a photo. Take biscuits, sweets etc as a thank you. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from reception as the tv, staff voices etc echos down the passage when you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katse, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Christine,

Thank you for your wonderful review. You have summed up the Katse experience perfectly- "solitude, nature with spectacular vistas". There may not be a lot to do but it is peaceful enough to finally hear yourself think...

We hope to see you back at Katse soon.

Warmest regards,

The Katse Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Staff is friendly and helpful. The lodge is very basic, but clean. The beds are borderline comfortable. Bathrooms need some serious maintenance. The taps are leaky which a simple new washer would take care off and the shower holders are in some rooms rickety. Extraction fans are not always working. The Flyscreens are loose and tend to bang when windows are open.
We ate at the restaurant as all meals were included. The food was freshly prepared and good. I have to make a special mention of Chef Adeline's mastery in preparing meat. We had lamb chops and pork chops. The lamb chops were out of this world. It's been a long time since I had such perfectly prepared lamb chops, the same for the pork chops. Break is basic but good. A recommendation for fellow travellers. When you go for supper have your oder in the kitchen early, then have a drink in the lounge or on the patio with great views. As Chef Adeline prepares your meals fresh it will take a while, but for us it was a worthwile wait.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katse, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Willy,

Thank you for your kind words, we are working on some of the smaller issues and hope to take Katse to the next level.

Warmest regards,

The Katse Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Katse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katse Lodge

Address: Katse Village, Bokong, Lesotho (Formerly Orion Katse Lodge)
Location: Lesotho > Thaba-Tseka District > Bokong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bokong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Katse Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katse Lodge is perfectly positioned atop a saddle, offering incredible panoramic views of the famous Katse Dam, with its surrounding mountains, rocky crags, sparse vegetation and landlocked lakes. The Lodge is an ideal starting point for travelers wishing to explore Lesotho’s mountain kingdom. For the adventurous, drive the robustly constructed alpine roads to Mohale Lodge, and experience the stark desolate landscape with traditional villages, untouched by time. Return to the lodge after a day of exploration and adventure dine in comfort, with unobstructed views of the glimmering waterscape, and then relax in front of the inviting fireplace. Katse Lodge offers genuine warmth and old-fashioned hospitality, making it one of Lesotho’s best-kept secrets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Katse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Katse Hotel Bokong
Katse Lodge Lesotho/Bokong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.