We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise Top Level Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of KAO Restaurant

KAO Restaurant
8986 Commercial St., New Minas, Kentville, Nova Scotia B4N 3E2, Canada
902-681-6388
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 restaurants in New Minas
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
South Ohio, NS
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise Top Level Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Hit by chance and we were not disappointed. Buffet at a reasonable price had a good variety of dishes of better than average quality.
Atmosphere was not special but pleasant.
Waiters wete efficient and friendly.
Would definitely return and would recommend to others when in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    7
    8
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coldbrook, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pretty Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Not a bad place. My partner and I have eaten here a few times and every time the staff is friendly and is always smiling. Food is good but I have had better. One thing that does bug me though is there is no sign stating where the line should start. For some it would be simple but for those who dont know how a buffet line works they end up going to random dishes, butting in front of u and then have the nerve to look at u as if ur doing something wrong lol

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Went to the Kao Chinese restaurant in New Minas with some friends today.

Last time I was there was a little over a year ago. The food then was fantastic.

Today, it was an utter disappointment. Except for one dish i had that was fried pork, all the dishes in the buffet were pretty much tasteless. The sauces all came out like they had been watered down. The curried chicken tasted like someone has sprinkled a little curry in a pot full of water and poured it over the dish. The Cherry sauce for the chicken balls was just as bad.

Now their chicken wings, onion rings and anything that was deep fried seemed to be okay.

Two of us had had the fried pork dish and about 20 minutes after leaving the restaurant were were both loosing our lunches.

Now the service by the waiting staff was excellent, but after this very disappointing display of flavorless culinary talent, we will not be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice Chinese buffet in the valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We went to this buffet in anticipation of good,plentiful Chinese food...we were not disappointed. The selection is very good,with the exception being a very sad salad selection.
Our particular favorites were the shrimp,meat-filled egg rolls and egg-foo-young(awesome)The food is very fresh and hot,veggies nice and crispy.
The service is attentive and polite. A tad expensive at $14.95 for the supper buffet...but I don't mind paying this if the food is good(which it is)
We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in the Annapolis Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Friendly staff and a great variety of authentic Chinese cooking. The buffet is my recommendation. From one Asian to another, it's worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KAO Restaurant also viewed

Coldbrook, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Kentville, Southwest Nova Scotia
New Minas, Kentville
 

Been to KAO Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KAO Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.