We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Leeky Canoe Pub & Eatery

The Leeky Canoe Pub & Eatery
94 Sykes Street North, Meaford, Ontario, Canada
519-538-1377
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Meaford
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Owen Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Food is always good but can take a while to be tabled but is worth the wait.
Can get a little noisy at times, especially the back room.
They have good promotions in the winter with giveaways, we won a pizza, an entree & a couple of appetizers. They give you an envelope with your check & tell you to bring it with you next time (usually 1 mth) & then you open it & see what you won!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crooksbums, Owner at The Leeky Canoe Pub & Eatery, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
It is SO nice to here from our locals! We LOVE that you enjoy our Santas Buying Contest envelopes! it's our lil way of giving back to our regulars/locals in our slowest season! Thanks so much for the positive feedback and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    35
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Perry, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food just reheated fair”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice atmosphere but the food could have been better. The burger I had was very greasy, I know some people like that but not to my taste.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crooksbums, Owner at The Leeky Canoe Pub & Eatery, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We're not sure what you meant by "food just reheated fair"....Our burgers are all chargrilled to order. We also wanted to let you know our burgers are NOT typically found to be greasy at all...we sincerely hope that you let your server know that you were not happy, and that they (your server) fixed your meal and your bill for you.

It's so VERY important that you tell your server if something is "not right" with your meal. Without them (and in turn us) knowing there are problems, we cannot ever hope to fix them :(

Thanks for letting us know that there was an issue with your food.
Happy Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We are locals and absolutely love eating at the Leeky! The service is great, the food portions are massive in comparison to the price and its 100% kid friendly. They always have something unique on the go on Fridays and the lunch specials are tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crooksbums, Owner at The Leeky Canoe Pub & Eatery, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks you so much! We love getting positive feedback, especially from our locals!
Happy Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If you like pub food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

... this is a restaurant you will enjoy. However, if you're after healthier fare, stay clear. There were no appealing vegetarian choices on the menu. As someone with dietary restrictions, the choices were very limited and even then, I had to delete two of the items in the wrap.

Wait staff was very pleasant and food was timely.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crooksbums, Owner at The Leeky Canoe Pub & Eatery, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
..."There were no appealing vegetarian choices on the menu. As someone with dietary restrictions, the choices were very limited and even then, I had to delete two of the items in the wrap."
We are so sorry you didn't find our Vegetarian Options satisfactory....we were suprised at this as so often we are told what a fabulous amount of Vegetarian options we DO have. We were glad that you were able to adapt a menu item to suit your palate! Almost anything on our menu CAN be made veggie style..We're not certain what (if any) other dietary restrictions you had, but wanted to let you know that we are always happy to adapt a menu item to suit a customer!
Happy Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“CHARMING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was my first time to eat at the Leeky Canoe. We were warmly welcomed and given excellent service. The place is rather quaint and old fashioned but that only added to its charm. The food was delicious with good sized portions. I hope I can eat there again soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crooksbums, Owner at The Leeky Canoe Pub & Eatery, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks You!!

We LOVE positive feedback (and we happen to think the Leeky is pretty charming ourselves) :)

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Leeky Canoe Pub & Eatery also viewed

 
Meaford, Grey County
 

Been to The Leeky Canoe Pub & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Leeky Canoe Pub & Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.