We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts and home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hills B & B

Save Saved
You added Red Hills B & B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Hills B & B
P.O. Box 900 Thornbury | P.O. Box 900, Meaford, Ontario N0H 2P0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Meaford B&B and Inns
Parry Sound
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hosts and home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

An excellent place to stay in a beautiful modern home with lots of amenities. Out side the pool and hot tub both are waiting to be enjoyed. The home is located on lovely specious property, peaceful, a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the countryside.

Arlene and Dave are excellent hosts, very helpful and friendly... They really try to offer the right balance of interaction with guests, extremely helpful and welcoming but giving guests privacy and personal space. The bed room and bathroom were spacious, very well maintained, spotless and nicely decorated, with a tv, fireplace and fridge.

We are also B&B owners, just wanting a few days away, it was a real pleasure to be looked after by Dave & Arlene before our busy season begins... Being guest Vs being the hosts!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Unionville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have stayed at Red Hills B&B on several occasions since it opened, and always found the beds to be warm and comfortable, the rooms and ensuites well stocked and spotless, and the breakfast ample, creative, and accommodating. They offer too many little extras to mention here (from fireplaces to dressing gowns). Arlene and David will take great care of you, and are very helpful when it comes to answering questions and finding you things. Their property includes a hot tub, a seasonal swimming pool, a pond with a beach, and 50 acres of bush and hardwood forest for hiking/cross country skiing or bird watching. It just keeps getting better each year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Excellent place to stay! Arlene and Dave were very hospitable. Their home is beautiful and their surrounding property is magnificent! You share the entire lower level with yourself or any other guests staying there. The rooms and bathroom were spacious and very well maintained and beautifully decorated, with a tv, fireplace and fridge. The bathroom even came equipped with toiletries in case you forgot anything. Shared kitchen, with complimentary water/pop/coffee and tea. Close to Collingwood and Blue Mountain. Great place to stay and get away from the city!

Room Tip: Room with the jacuzzi tub and king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a great time staying at this place. Dave and Arlene went out of their way to help us out, give us directions, make sure everything was going well and even let us use their snow shoes to go around the beautiful surrounding area...Arlene makes delicious breakfast...the outdoor hot tub was very nice as as well...we stayed two nights and had a great time, thanks Dave and Arlene!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the yellow room, it had an electric fireplace and big windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I have been to many B&Bs and this is definitely one of the best. I advised possible late checking in at time of booking at booking.com and was replied promptly by David and Arlene. David and Arlene were nice enough to stay up late and gave us a warm greeting and still took us for a quick tour of the house even when we arrived at 9pm. The bed was extremely comfy and everything was prepared for you in the room - I meant EVERYTHING: slippery, robes, basket of high quality personal toiletries (even has feminine hygiene products), soft drinks, bottled water...My wife loves the fireplace in guestroom. Breakfast was fabulous and full filling. We only had a chance to notice how beautiful the house and the surrounding area is in the morning since we arrived late and dark. We only stayed for one night but do feel it was not enough and didn't have a chance to try the sauna and other amenities which can be a regret, but this is a place we are sure of returning next time we hit up blue mountain for skiing. Arlene is very accommodating and very pleasant to talk to. Only one minor cons: we don't know if it was the air-conditioning or furnice operating but we can hear some mild noise on and off at night before we went to sleep. It was very very minor though, we had a great night of sleep regardless but can imagine it could be noticed by some light sleepers.

Room Tip: We stayed in the yellow room, all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlene T, Owner at Red Hills B & B, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is our pleasure to do everything we can to make our guests feel welcome and provide the best possible B&B experience. We are taking steps to rectify the "slight sound" issue and look forward to your return visit at some future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I very much appreciated the amenities that this B&B offers, which are far superior to most. The infrared sauna, hot tub and huge guest living room were a saviour to our fall weekend getaway, which the weather had different plans for! As hiking was out, the location was less spectacular, as its a little farther off the beaten path (15 mins to nearest town), but if its remote country quiet you're looking for, it his place is perfect.

Breakfast was lovely, and all food sensitivities were taken into account. If you are a light sleeper (like my husband) I recommend earplugs, as the walls are not quite sound-proof. That's the only complaint. We will likely be back... And hopefully without the rain!

Room Tip: Yellow room is separated from the other two. Green room has a king bed & jacuzzi tub... But hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for three nights during the long, hot summer, and made use of the pool and the barbecue. Nothing was too much trouble, and we found our hosts hospitable and easy going - so we were able to relax and enjoy ourselves.

The breakfasts were fabulous, and it was great to have a kettle, microwave and fridge at our disposal in the guest kitchen / lounge.

An added bonus was being able to see the stars at night - there was No Light Pollution.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms are good as you are miles from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Hills B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hills B & B

Address: P.O. Box 900 Thornbury | P.O. Box 900, Meaford, Ontario N0H 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Meaford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Meaford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Hills B & B is located on 50 acres of quiet highland countryside with magnificent views of Georgian Bay and the Blue Mountains. Although quiet, private and secluded, our modern fully air conditioned smoke free country home is just 2 minutes south of Hwy 26 and within a ten minute drive of several neighbouring towns and resorts. A private ground level entrance leads into a large great room with wood burning fireplace, bar/kitchenette. For your additional pleasure, other amenities include seasonal heated salt water swimming pool, hot tub under the stars, sauna, exercise room and a patio with barbecue. Three large fully equipped bedrooms provide you with a choice of either a queen, twin or king, or two queen sized beds. Each room has its own en-suite bathroom with robes, slippers and toiletries. Full gourmet breakfasts, with special consideration given to dietary needs, are served in our upper level dining room overlooking the valley and pond. Whether you choose to stay with us as either a young at heart couple or as a group of good friends, Red Hills Country House B&B is the place to relax, rejuvenate and romanticize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Red Hills B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Hills B & B Meaford, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hills B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.