We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can tell a lot by the exterior” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Angus Inn Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Angus Inn Motel to your Saves list
Angus Inn Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   168 Mill Street, highway 90, Angus, Ontario LOM 1B0, Canada (Formerly Canadas Best Value Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Angus
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You can tell a lot by the exterior”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My first choice was the place next door with its newly surfaced parking lot and beautifull brickwork it looked a lot more inviting,
Unfortunately they were fully booked and I now know why

You can tell a lot by the exterior
From the run down badly maintained parking lot and the dirty walls I had a good idea what awaited within.

The guy at the front desk was cold and unwelcoming verging on rude.
The room was dirty and oppressive and had a lingering odour of bad curry.

It's bad value when you wouldn't accept payment to stay in such a place.

Advice to owners spruce up your exterior for a start then fire the middle aged Asian guy at the front desk.
Then turn your attention to the rooms

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Mines, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Dirty....went to bed alone....woke up sharing my bed with hundreds of ants! Informed staff about situation, and was basically ignored. Clerk refused to even inspect the room. Save ur money, sleep in vehicle!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton NB
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at the Angus Inn during the first week of December 2013. From the outside, the Inn is nothing exceptional; however, the rooms are very nice and very clean.

Our room had a queen size bed and one of the most comfortable mattresses I've ever slept on. I even moved the sheet so I could see what brand mattress it was. We had a full size stove, a full size refrigerator, a coffee maker, a toaster, a microwave, all the dishes, flat wear, glasses and pots and pans we'd ever need.

We also had a large flat screen TV and a DVD player. We had a table and chairs where we enjoyed a few games of cards.

The bathroom has the best water pressure in the shower I've ever seen! I told my husband that I rinsed the shampoo out of my hair in about five seconds! LOL

Angus is a small town but it was perfect for us. We were within easy walking distance to a Subway, a Tim Horton's, KFC and two Chinese restaurants. There was also a Sobeys store where we bought some fresh fruit.

Our son rented a room just down the walkway from us and his room was every bit as nice as ours. His room had two double beds and a kitchenette but otherwise, had all the same things.

The people who run the motel are very friendly and very helpful if you need anything.

Room Tip: The owners told us the upstairs rooms are the best because they've been recently renovated. We s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was doing some work in the Innisfil and Barrie area recently. This motel now known as the Angus Inn offers great value, clean spacious rooms, and comfortable beds. The room had a desk, coffe maker, toaster, microwave, and a fridge/freezer. The bathrooms seem renovated, *excellent water pressure in the shower!* and the Tv was a brand new 40" Samsung with a dvd player as well. Its a family owned place, they are very friendly, helpful, and they keep the property in tip top condition, the nights were warm and quiet. Tims, Sobeys, and McDonalds all within a 5 minute drive, as well as other restaurants, and pubs. If you dont mind being about 10 minutes west of the 400 Highway, this is a very good choice.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 114, as mentioned the water pressure was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Great tv but that's it! Dirty comforter, smoky rooms, poor service...would not stay again

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angus
9.8 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
9.5 mi away
Comfort Inn - Barrie / Hart Dr.
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
18.9 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#11 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angus Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angus Inn Motel

Address: 168 Mill Street, highway 90, Angus, Ontario LOM 1B0, Canada (Formerly Canadas Best Value Inn)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Angus
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Angus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Angus Inn Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Angus Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angus Inn Motel Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angus Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.