We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, But Not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amy's Place

Amy's Place
28537 Centre Road, Strathroy, Ontario N7G 3H6, Canada
(519) 245-5400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 25 Restaurants in Strathroy
Cuisines: Chinese, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Amy has moved to a new location. She has been bui8lding the new restaurant for nore than two years and finally opened two weeks ago. The community is happy to see the new place is operational. We visited for the first time tonight, for dinner.
Wyoming, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Ok, But Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was a lunch stop for our large group-170 of old auto enthusiasts and had been pre-arranged. I had heard some very good things about Amy's and their Chinese/Canadian style buffet. Unfortunately, the Chinese was shy on variety, and not very hot. There were 4-5 dishes of typical items - fried rice,breaded chicken balls,and a couple of other mixed vegitable items. On the other hand there was a good variety of Canadian food- meat loaf, potatoes, gravy, etc. There was a salad bar and people said it was good. The desserts were good as well. Guess I was just disappointed and put off with the poorly done Chinese part of it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    8
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with a great menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A lovely building with some good food. I had breakfast here and it was a little more pricey but worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't go here for breakfast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Typical Chinese Dinner buffet restaurant -big-dirty-condiments like crunchy egg noodles---still out at breakfast with flies on bowls and lights
Had eggs/asparagus/mushrooms/shrimp....please avoid..it's swimming in water :(

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, OR
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“We enjoyed stopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

On our way to Toronto, we stopped at Amy's for an early lunch. We were delighted with our service, and the food was good. We had salads and sandwiches, and enjoyed our stop enough to save the business card for this review. There were locals showing up by the time we left. Evidently, others have had unpleasant experiences ... and maybe we lucked out ... but if we'd driven back along that same stretch of road, we would have stopped by again. I'd recommend giving it a try -- at regular meal times and just relax.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food was cold!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I am a mother and went with my son , on "Father's Day". We were late for the buffet, or so I thought. We wanted to order from menu . (It was 2:15pm) and buffet was was overcat 2pm. They told us to help ourselves. When I we we taken to our seats right in front of the buffet, there was not even one tray lit up to keep them warm.i didn't really think it would be ice cold! But it was. When we were all done eating cold food, the cheff lit all the trays and then staff ate!! Hot food! Something is not right there. I will not go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amy's Place also viewed

 

Been to Amy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amy's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.