We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“«All-you-can-eat» is soo good that it turns into more than you should have eaten!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Perle

La Perle
4230 boul. St-Jean, Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Quebec H9H 3X4, Canada
514 624 6010
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai, Szechuan
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
L'Île Bizard QC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“«All-you-can-eat» is soo good that it turns into more than you should have eaten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It is not far from home so my wife and I end up going there several times a year. Like DkmBailey,we order from the all-you-can-eat VERY extensive menu. We try to «sample» things we do not know (or do not remember!) but my wife always returns - amongst many others - to chinese dumplings and chicken with fried spinach. Of course, one cannot like everything equally, but the the overall quality is outstanding. It is almost always crowded, so service tends to be sometimes erratic (and there might be problems when you ask some waiters what to expect in your plates!).
We are usually only the two of us, so, even while overeating, we cannot sample everything. Best is to go there in parties of 4, 6 or more... Reservation, expecially if you want a specific hour, is mandatory and should be made well in advance for the week-ends
.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    13
    15
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fresh, Tasty and got kick!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've eaten and the restaurant and most recently got delivery the food is always fresh, tasty and well I like heat so it has that and tons of options with out heat/spicy for kids too.
Lemon chicken - lightly breaded to perfection and the sauce on the side so it won't get soggy when re-heating the next day.
Portions are large and fairly priced.
I ordered the meal for 2 it fed family of 3 for dinner with left overs for next night for dinner. I just took the extra steamed rice and made it into fried rice adding egg and green onion and garlic. Yummy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty Szechuan dishes.Great value & variety !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My colleagues and I meet for a business lunch monthly at La Perle.It has become everyone's favorite place.We always order from the all-you-can-eat menu (not buffet) for $18 and what great value. Service is most often very good.Most people that come here choose this deal. The food is always delicous,hot,& tasty.There are a wide variety of Szechuan dishes to choose from,which keeps us coming back regularly. If you don't like this place, you can't be pleased.
Great value & variety !!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perle still in the rough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Went to La Perle for a large family gathering. It's always been a favourite of my mothers. They offer an all you can eat which is ordered from a menu (not buffet) for $30 but I find these deals are often overpriced and drive one to overeat to get the $30 value. We ordered a la carte which is a different menu and shows prices for each dish. We order more food than we needed but we still ended up less than $30 a head including drinks.

Service was very good, attentive and because we all ordered a la carte we were a challenge. Most people that come to this resto take the $30 per person deal.

Food was nothing special - most of it lacked the flavour you expect from Chinese food. My beef and black bean was average. The General Tao's was unimpressive. Best dish was the curry shrimp.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Untrained waiter, food very so-so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were a group of 10 at lunchtime for the tasting menu. The waiter first of all wanted to know if we were paying with credit card or cash before he would take the order. One has to wonder why? It was a real problem to order with 10 people and when 8 people ordered one dish, the dish that came would have served 2 people. The General Tao's chicken was great as was the shrimp - for the rest, no so much. Lemon chicken was absolutely tasteless and deep fried and another chicken much the same except the sauce was different. Really not worth the money and I shall not be returning. There are so many better Chinese restaurants in the West Island to frequent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perle also viewed

Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Quebec
Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Quebec
 
Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Quebec
Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Quebec
 

Been to La Perle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Perle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.