We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Castle - Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schloss Reinhartshausen Kempinski

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Schloss Reinhartshausen Kempinski to your Saves list
Schloss Reinhartshausen Kempinski
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hauptstrasse 41 | Erbach, 65346 Eltville am Rhein, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Munich
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Old Castle - Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Schloss Reinhartshausen Kempinski in Eltville near Mainz, Wiesbaden and Frankfurt is an old castle - and the interior is just like that. The technical interior is more like the 60´s and I assume it will get a little warm inside - didn´t see any AC.
But: The entrance is amazing - big, very open, spacious, the reception is quick and friendly and our room was breathtaking: Junior Suite - about 80qm -> enough space. Park View and a little Rhine View, welcome fruits, great bathroom and extra bathroom for guests.
The spa is nice, two different saunas, nice indoor pool - long enough to swim.
The breakfast is just great: All fruits, cereals, eggs, pancakes, rolls, raw fish...etcetcetc. (and champagne!)
Loved it so much - would go there anytime again!

Room Tip: Go for the Junior Suite - it´s worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    22
    13
    8
See reviews for
15
53
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lillestrom, Norway
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel building is very nice and gives you an impression of glamour. The staff is friendly. But the prices for wi-fi is ridicilous. 25 euro per day per device! This should be included in the room price. Breakfast was not impressing and in line with the impression the hotel gives you in genreal. Service is also a litle bit slow. I think this hotel is popular for tour buses who stops for a night or two on their way through Germany/Europe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Tripadvisor should include the rating good. This hotel is just that but definitely not very good. Paid WIFI (25 Euro a day) is not of this time anymore. Especially when the wifi doesn't work. A hotel without a day (a Kempinski hotel!) is simply ridiculous. All the rest was good. The hotel is nice, the suite wonderful, service is good. A road passes closely by on both sides of the hotel so don't think you'll ne in a calm oasis. the fact that they make wine there as well (they were harvesting the grapes) is a charming perk that I enjoyed observing.

Room Tip: the suite in the apendix is nice. I didn't see any other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have stayed here twice on work related visits and have found the rooms extremely comfortable, the breakfasts are fabulous, the restaurant at the winery is excellent, and the staff are super helpful and friendly. The only downside is the lack of internet access in the rooms, and limited choice of TV - the only english language station was CNN. I couldn't hear the autobahn and indeed slept extremely well. Be careful to keep the windows closed to avoid mosquitos.The rooms are dated but in fitting with the age of the building - they have everything you need.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Schloss Hotel Kempinski is a beautiful german style hotel. The elegant, not too modern style will provide you the basis for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was good. Dinner was okay. The location is good an the surrounding park gives a relaxing feeling to the place. Unfortunately, one can hear the Autobahn close by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrich S, Manager at Schloss Reinhartshausen Kempinski, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Perception of Reality,

thank you for posting your comment on Tripadvisor and please apologise the delay in response to your comment.

We regret to take note, that the noise of the autobahn close by has disturbed your stay at our property.
Unfortunately we are unable to take influence on the traffic situation on the street, however, we promise you to invest in precautions measures to minimize the noise disturbance to a bearable degree.

Furthermore, we are delighted to hear your positive comments about the breakfast, the dinner and the surrounding park and please rest assure that your positive comments are motivation for all of us. Thank you very much.

We would be delighted to be your host for your next visit to the Rheingau region and remain

with kind regards

Friedrich Semel
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Our arrival at the Schloss for the weekend was greeted by a member of staff who immediately took our suitcase to reception and offered to park our car. His colleague in reception had our key and the registration form ready for us to fill in. He then took our case and showed us to our room. Although we had planned to explore an alternative venue for lunch, we were convinced by the staff that they could offer us an enjoyable light lunch (we had already made dinner reservations at an alternative restaurant) on their large sunny terrace overlooking the Rhein. We were NOT disappointed - food and service was very good!

We visited the spa on two different occasions in the early evening and found the sauna and pool to be well appointed with plenty of fresh towels and available chaises longues, as well as being clean and well laid out.

We had a wonderful weekend and found all the staff that we came into contact with courteous and helpful. Despite the fact that we visited in early Spring before the trees and gardens were in full bloom, the outdoor areas were very well maintained. We were not sure what to expect at this time of year, but the decor, layout, and maintenance was a clear reflection of a hotel of this calibre. In addition, the area has so much to offer! We will definitely visit again in the future.

Room Tip: Some third floor rooms seem to be/have been previously smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrich S, Manager at Schloss Reinhartshausen Kempinski, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Franz and Liz,

thank you for posting your comment on Tripadvisor and please apologise the delay in response to your comment.

We were very happy to read your review and your positive comments about your stay are motivation for all of us. Thank you very much.

We would be delighted to be your host for your next visit to the Rheingau region and remain

with kind regards

Friedrich Semel
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

How do you arrive at a 5 star hotel and have to unpack your 5 cases yourself with zero help......then put your cases in reception, go park your car and come back to find they haven't even moved your cases? Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms clean and reasonably maintained but very dated - shower (complete with gold coloured taps) was dismal. Products very poor quality. Air con virtually non-existent. Service generally lacking - very few staff and those that were there seemed only focused on Corp events. Spa is not a spa - very old sauna and pool area and a room that looks like a converted office which is used for massages (no spa staff - they call someone to come to the hotel if you want a treatment). Only highlight was the courtyard restaurant which is independently run. Feels like a hotel nearing it's end.....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Schloss Reinhartshausen Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Reinhartshausen Kempinski

Address: Hauptstrasse 41 | Erbach, 65346 Eltville am Rhein, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Eltville am Rhein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Eltville am Rhein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Schloss Reinhartshausen Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Escapio, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Schloss Reinhartshausen Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Reinhartshausen Kempinski Hotel Eltville Am Rhein

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schloss Reinhartshausen Kempinski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.