We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak is to die for.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motte & Bailey Restaurant /Egan's Pub

Motte & Bailey Restaurant /Egan's Pub
Mount Temple, Moate, Ireland
353 (0) 90 648 1240
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Moate
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Steak is to die for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I have ate here twice. Once for sunday lunch and one for dinner. Both times i had steak. One was a big sirloin and the other was a steak sandwich. Beautifully cooked and prepared. I cant wait to a return visit...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballymore, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Have been here many timse before but just recently last Friday night - food as always was lovely and the service was perfect. If you are loking for a nice meal, for exceptional value in a restauarant that always has a lovely atmosphere - this is the perfect place. Try the tobacco smoked onions - to die for!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Country Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Enjoyed a family meal in Egans. Lovely old style pub and restaurant, off the beaten track, but not far off. Great food and good variety on the menu. Short but adequate wine list. Young children with us were welcome and well catered for (just note that for day-time meals you are likely to encounter several). Staff cheery and helpful. Treat yourself to an excellent pint of the "black stuff" in the bar, before (or after) your meal, while the driver goes for a stroll!.
Only criticism - service was slow, with long periods between courses. Parking is a bit random, but you should find space reasonably close.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff and good value tempered by poor table position”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Heading says it all really. We like this venue and have eaten there before - often. As before the food and service was good and value is also good.

One piece of advice if you are visiting; avoid that table situated in the middle of the room with customers and waiting staff all squeezing past you ... in what seems like a constant stream.

I was disappointed on the night as we had made a reservation and we weren't the last to arrive. On future visits (and we will go back) I will make sure to specify NOT that table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was my second visit to this restaurant and I was not disappointed. I first visited on a trip to Ireland last December and was blown away by the quality of the food. I was visiting recently and took my mum out for Easter Sunday dinner. Two of us had steak and it was melt in the mouth, my mum had the salmon and it was brilliant. My daughter had chicken from the children's menu and the quality puts other children's menus in the shade. We had starters so did not have room for pudding - this was a shame as they looked amazing. I will be back and this time will not have a starter so I can sample the puddings. The service was great and wine prices very reasonable - we will definitely be back. Can't believe I have been visiting Moate for the last 20 years have only just discovered this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motte & Bailey Restaurant /Egan's Pub also viewed

Moate, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Motte & Bailey Restaurant /Egan's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motte & Bailey Restaurant /Egan's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.