We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oakleaf Restaurant

The Oakleaf Restaurant
The Grand Hotel | Main Street, Moate, Ireland
+353 906481104
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 restaurants in Moate
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In a prominent position in the heart of the market town of Moate, the spacious Oakleaf Restaurant offers a cosmopolitan menu of Irish and international cuisine, which makes use of local produce including meat from the town master butcher. The ideal venue for an evening out or celebrating that special occasion, The Oakleaf Restaurant is situated in the Grand Hotel - a family-run establishment with a welcoming, convivial feel. A four-course lunch is served on Sundays, with a carvery lunch available in the bar area during the rest of the week. There is also a wide range of quality wines from around the world.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Really tasty food, tastefully decorated dining room, VERY friendly and helpful staff - especially Michelle.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    8
    2
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great grub & great service:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Just had a confirmation dinner in the grand, we had a lot of kids to look after and the people serving us couldn't have been more helpful.
The way the kids were treated was nothing other than excellent, spilt juice more juice, salt destroyed dinner fresh dinner.

Congrats and fair play to the staff & management please note this keeps family's coming back!!

Oh I'm stuffed 2!!!!

Noel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great value for money in a very warm and relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Myself and a friend had a meal here on Sat. 9th Feb. 2013, and we really felt we had made a great choice in choosing to dine here! We just arrived on spec about 7pm, and we found only one other table occupied, so it got us wondering if this was a good or a bad sign on a Saturday evening, but we soon learned we had very little grounds for our reservations. Our waitress was an extremely pleasant and helpful girl, and had no problem in answering any questions we had about their extensive and varied menu, which was extremely good value for money with two pages of main courses costing only €10 each! To be honest we were spoilt for choice, and had a bit of trouble choosing, but we both were very happy with our meals and felt quite full afterwards! Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, even when we asked if the radiator beside our table could be turned off, it was done almost immediately and without any hassle! And later on, it proved it was quite a popular place as the tables started to fill up with what appeared to be local people!

All in all a very enjoyable experience, well cooked food served simply, and didn't cost the earth, served by a very pleasant waitress in a lovely relaxed surounding, for less than €65 for three courses each, and two glasses of pinot grigiot, and a 7Up! Great value! If you are ever in Moate and are looking for somewhere nice to enjoy a good quality meal, pay a visit to the Oakleaf at the Grand Hotel, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New Look Menu at a Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I found the Oakleaf Restaurant warm and welcoming. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

There was a good selection on the menu . Main courses starting from just €10, were well presented and tasty. I'd recommend it for anyone passing through.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossbox
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Dont stop unless you are desperate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Didn't like - the restaurant, the quality and look of the food.
Did like - leaving quickly!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oakleaf Restaurant also viewed

 
Moate, County Westmeath
Moate, County Westmeath
 

Been to The Oakleaf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oakleaf Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.