We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying on Dingle Peninsula? Stay at The Old Anchor Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Anchor Inn B&B Annascaul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Anchor Inn B&B Annascaul to your Saves list
The Old Anchor Inn B&B Annascaul
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Main Street, Annascaul KY007, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Annascaul B&B and Inns
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Staying on Dingle Peninsula? Stay at The Old Anchor Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We have just completed a 6 month period of travelling and one of our best stops was at The Old Anchor Inn at Anascaul. The rooms are clean, tidy and roomy. The breakfast is wonderful and the welcome you receive is great.
Brian is a great host and his advice and knowledge enhanced our stay.
Make sure to visit The South Pole for a lovely atmosphere.
If you're planning to visit The Dingle Peninsula and like us don't want to stay in the hustle and bustle of Dingle itself, then stay at The Old Anchor Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    52
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
128
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
askeaton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay. The location was very convenient, within walking distance of a few pubs. The food and lodging was top class and great value for money. Our host could not have been more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

Brilliant stay the hospitality of Brian and his family was 5 star. The bedroom was very comfortable light and airy. Breakfast was amazing and we ate in their restaurant the two nights of our stay and it was delicious. If we ever travel back to the Dingle area then we will certainly try to stay there for a repeat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

My boyfriend and I went to Ireland looking for an escape from busy London and we found it on the Dingle Peninsula. Integral to that was staying at Brian's guesthouse, which was calm, clean and generally lovely without unecessary extras to push the price up. We'd toyed with staying in Dingle but upon seeing each town we were so glad to have chosen Anascaul. Dingle, although charming, is expensive, busy and a total tourist trap. In fact we felt rather exploited there and wondered where all the locals were. Instead we retreated to the quiet of Anascaul, picked Brian's brains and headed out with our hire car to the countryside where we swam on Inch beach (loved, loved, loved the pub for locals right on the sea front there), took walks into empty hills and discovered secret castles and empty coves. Thanks Brian - friendly, accommodating, knowledgable - for helping us have such a lovely time: your guesthouse is great.
Another tip for Dingle - if you're sef-catering, do look out for the farmer's market in the town. We raided it and had fantastic picnic lunches of local produce for days. I'm still dreaming of the trout pate we had.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Brian & Beata - everything was fantastic. I can't imagine how they could improve things - they have thought of everything. From the free wifi to the mints in the hall to an incredible breakfast. thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

The Old Anchor Inn was, in my experience, one of the very few places that live up to the hopes you build up before you visit somewhere.
Annascaul itself is very small, about 15mins drive from Dingle town. Dingle is a great place, but we were glad we didn't stay there: it can get a bit rowdy in the evenings. If you like quiet, charming Irish villages, with a few nice pubs (strongly recommend the South Pole!), then Annascaul is the place to go.
The Old Anchor Inn itself was just great; simple and basic, but everything is clean, everything works, the breakfast is excellent and the price is extremely competitive. The young couple running the place have found a way to strike the right balance between making sure their guests are happy, and giving them some peace: very nice people, and very helpful. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed at the Anchor a s family of three, and were so pleased! Brian (the host) was so calm and friendly. The Inn is charming, and the town is such a delightful stop on the Dingle Penninsula.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Anchor Inn B&B Annascaul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Anchor Inn B&B Annascaul

Address: Main Street, Annascaul KY007, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Annascaul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Annascaul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Anchor Inn B&B Annascaul 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Anchor Inn is a cozy B&B in the heart of the picturesque village of Annascaul in the centre of the Dingle peninsula in County Kerry. The Perfect place to stay while visiting County Kerry & the Dingle Peninsula.All of our 8 rooms are en suite with tea & coffee making facilities and tv/DVD player. Choose from a wide selection of books and DVD's in out lounge, and enjoy in the comfort of your room. A full Irish breakfast and selection of fruit, juice and yogurt is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Anchor Inn B&B Annascaul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Anchor Hotel Annascaul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Anchor Inn B&B Annascaul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.