We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kupelna 6, Strbske Pleso 05985, Slovakia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
KempinSKI WINTER PREMIERE
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Strbske Pleso
Galanta, Slovakia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE BEST!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Its already second stay and looking forward to third!! The location couldn´t be better! Perfect big rooms with huge closet, balcony and marble bathroom! absolutely perfect!Ideal for families as well, personal is very kind and helpful. A glass of champagne for breakfast? perfect! absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    30
    6
    7
    0
See reviews for
65
105
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A fantastic hotel with a fantastic location in the heart of Slovakia. The hotel has a great view as its set into a mountain region of Slovakia that needs more tourist to really appreciate the beauty of Slovakia. Prices are typical for a 5 star hotel, and the restaurant could improve or charge less, but all together a great hotel for a relaxing weekend. If you dont want to have a over priced dinner go to a local restaurant that will charge you less for a typical meal. The spa is fantastic, more then we expected and for sure we will return as its a fantastic relaxing experience....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Location of this hotel couldn't be better! The views of the High Tatras and the lake are stunning! With provided van, skiing was perfect and blissful spa was a cherry on the cake! Great service overall! Especially, I would like to mention Andrea from Reception and Peter from Restaurant. Well done for going that extra mile for a client. I also work in hotel business so I was pleasantly surprised by the level of customer service...great job! It is simply a fantastic place to visit for active holiday or just relax and enjoy the scenery from a comfy spa sofa! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very nice luxury hotel direct at a lake (which you cannot see in winter though). Rooms clean, comfy and spacious, probably best beds I ever came across, nice decor in rooms and common areas.

Not the best locacton if you come to ski, as we did, as the lifts are ca. 2 km away, but an efficient van service provided free of charge makes up for it.

For a luxury hotel has some important draw-backs which make me wonder why this hotel gets such good reviews.The restaurant is by far the weakest point of Kempinski. Service is very slow and inefficient, staff needs training, you wait long for your coffe or tea, which is of a good quality when it arrives, but your patience is well tested before it happens.

It is a buffet selection of good quality food but the choice is very limited. God forbid you order eggs - then you really wait ages, only to get half warm eggs, not very tasty. We tried it once for dinner and it was a disaster - slow service comes with very average food at very high prices - something that the hotel can easy get away with as there is not a lot of alternative eating options in town.

Swimming pool very nice, although could be bigger, spa excellent although priced at the top end.

Kids club that the hotel is supposed to feature is nothing more than a space at a mezanine floor filled with worn out toys and kids books.

Overall, a disappointment from what supposed to be a top luxury and has actually a long way to achieve it

Room Tip: In winter, do not pay extra to get lake view room, makes no difference as you cannot see a lake anyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gliwice
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 4 days in January. The rooms are big, have comfortable beds and almost everything you need. The only thing, that lacked was a bidet. Although we didn't have the lake view, the view from our window was magnificent. We could see a broad valley with some mountains behind.

The service is almost perfect. We mostly appreciated the service of a new women in reception and a waitress during the breakfest named Maria and Lenka. They were very kind and did everything with smile on their faces. We also appreciated the service of somelier who advised us really tasty Slovak wine.

Dishes in the restaurant were tasty, but quite expensive in comparison to their quality. I found a bullet in the pheasant during the dinner. When we told it to the waiter, there was no reaction, apologise or something. Maybe he didn't understand what we said..

Hotel has a very nice swimming pool with jacuzzi and saunas with comfortable deckchairs. You can relax there drinking pina colada and looking at strbske lake nad tatras. If you don't like children there's a special zone only for adults.

We took special package with skipasses included, so the price of the hotel was a real deal! The ski conditions in Strbske Pleso or Tatrzanska Lomnica are not like in the Alps or Dolomites, but definitely better than in Poland, so you can ski with pleasure for a few days.

Overally the hotel is really nice and it's a good idea to go there for a weekend or a few days to relax thoughoutly.

Room Tip: The view in "not-lake-view" rooms is also very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

What an absolutely amazing hotel. From the second we arrived my colleagues and I were treated so well - like royalty!
Unfortunately I didn't have a room with a lake view, although that was fully compensated by the HUGE SIZE of the room! It was seriously big enough to be someones flat! And the lake could be seen from the pool or on a walk/jog around and about anyways. What a stunning view it is too - it is the poster view for the Slovakia tourism campaign.
The beds were soooo comfortable. The bathroom was so clean and I had the best bubble bath with the really nice bathroom products they provided. The building itself is stunning, too.
All the staff were really helpful - I was there as part of an event with work, and everyone who was involved with us was a huge help.
The piano in the main bar was beautiful and the pianist was really good.
The food and wine in the restaurant was to die for - I think I put on half a stone after indulging in everything they had to offer! Oh and the breakfasts! Amazing!
The pool and spa were HEAVEN. The wall of windows showing the lake view whilst swimming in the pool is just perfect. Every little detail in the pool/spa area has been covered. I tried all the little things you could do - like walking on hot and cold stones, jumping into an ice pool and the sauna etc. I had a full body massage in the spa which was sooo relaxing, recommended.
I'd definitely go back to this hotel. Fantastic place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presov, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in Kempinski High Tatras with my fiancee. Upon arrival, we found our place in the car park outside the hotel. Receptionist gave us a pleasant and warm welcome & gave us sparkling wine & juice as a welcome drink. Then we were led to our room. It was beautiful & luxurious! Had a bath & a shower! Everything was well placed. We tried the Grand Restaurant for dinner, it was unbelievable! Beautiful desserts & very friendly & professional staff. The best part though, was the ZION SPA! Large pool, jacuzzi, 3 saunas, massages, relaxing areas, Kneppel's walk, Arctic & Tropical showers, etc. Plus, breathtaking views on Lomnicky Peak & the rest of High Tatras! All in all, the best hotel I have stayed so far, with all the amenities a demanding customer would look for! Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras

Address: Kupelna 6, Strbske Pleso 05985, Slovakia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovakia > Presov Region > Strbske Pleso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Strbske Pleso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a fairytale at Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras – an exceptional grand hotel where traditional values are combined with modern services, exclusivity and luxury.Behind the doors of 98 rooms and suites guests are engulfed in luxury and get carried away from everyday life by the most breathtaking views on the surrounding mountains and the legendary alpine lake Strbske Pleso. Even the most seasoned gourmets will be amazed by the culinary delicacies of international and local cuisine at the Grand Restaurant. The elegant Lobby Lounge & Bar invites you to unwind in the cosy atmosphere of cracking fire while you enjoy your favorite glass... or two. And nowhere else do guests feel more pampered then in the unique and heavenly Kempinski The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.