We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Location & a Gastronomical Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karriview Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Karriview Lodge to your Saves list
Karriview Lodge
Lot 66 Caves Road, Cowaramup, Western Australia 6285, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic Location & a Gastronomical Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of 2 nights stay in the Governors Wing (with our Cudo voucher). The setting was tranquil, with our own balcony amongst the tree tops. The suite was spacious and had heated towel rails. Dan, the new manager, went out of his way to ensure everything was in order, including trying to stop a persistent magpie from swooping on us, whilst having an alfresco breakfast. However, the highlight for us, was definitely our evening meal at the restaurant. My hubby ordered a fantastic steak, and my braised pork belly was simply melt-in-the-mouth divine. Absolutely amazing. As was the ice cream. The pancakes at breakfast were also terrific. The walking trail was great fun and a good workout. Our stay here was fantastic and we're looking forward to coming back and eating in again. Thanks Dan and the Amazing Chef!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    24
    23
    13
    6
See reviews for
4
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in olives retreat with a fantastic balcony looking out to the trees room was clean and tidy and received a very adequate tasting platter on arrival..the staff were very helpful and accommodating and couldn't fault them.....I do have a few suggestions tho.....a small work top over fridge would help to prepare coffees....proper table and chairs on deck (a spa out there would be nice!!) and replenished toiletries...we had no soap for washing hands. We did the walk to beach which was ok to get to and did take 45 mins as advertised however coming back up that steep hill was a killer...decided to go via ridge(mistake) as no signs and got a bit lost thanx google maps and G network for getting us back
All in all tho a great place to stay and would go back

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My husband and I purchased a cudo voucher and spent 2 nights at Karriview in a Governors Wing suite. The Managers were very friendly and inviting.... Service was great! Continental breakfast was always fresh and tasty - Plus you must try the Pancakes!

The location as a whole is breath taking. Beautiful walk to Gracetown Beach is a must.

Can't really fault a thing :) Maybe the spa's need to be a bit bigger.... thats about all :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We had a lovely quiet restful time. Grounds are extensive, lovely walks around golf driving range, ponds, tennis courts, cricket pitch etc. Spa water is from rainwater, so a bit brownish, but soooo relaxing. Room was very large, staff very helpful, a wonderful place to go, well located in the midst of bush, but not too far to beaches, wineries or Margaret River town.

Room Tip: All rooms were different, ours was in a building of 4, and we had a nice deck outside the sliding do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Hubby and i spent our christmas holidays staying at Karriview and i couldnt have asked for anything better!! The New managers were friendly, accessible and couldnt have been more accommodating!! New menu was just amazing! (please! Try the Tiramisu!!) and the breakfast in bed was such a lovely touch!

If youre looking for a weekend away from city life; then you couldnt find a more perfect place.

Im definitely coming back!

Room Tip: Governers wing and forrest retreat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here. I have to admit after reading the latest reviews we were more than a liitle worried. We didnt need to be!!! It is under new mangement and they were awesome . They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and a pleasure. We ate the first night at their resturant and the food was awesome, 2nd night we went to a Margaret River establishment that was supposed to be fantastic and we wished we had eaten at the Lodge. Dont be put of by the other reviews. This place is awesomwe, oh and it was with a Cudo Voucher as well . The rooms are comfortable and furnished nicely. The antipasto platter that was given to us on arrival was more than enough for 2 of us and we werent on a diet !!! It was lovely being waken by the sound of a kookaburra. The grounds are huge , we spent some time wandering around looking at it all. If you are looking for a relaxing , secluded place to stay make sure you check it out ... you wont be sorry

Room Tip: ask for a room that is elevated, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed overnight at Karriview. The rooms are large but sparsely furnished - ours had one armchair, nowhere to put cases, 2 day lounges and a very small table on the deck. Breakfast was beyond basic - and if you supply breakfast to the room there should be somewhere to sit to eat it - there was nowhere. Flavoured yoghurt, boxes of fruit juice, soggy croisssants and a basic fruit plate are pathetic - top that with no proper coffee - plunger provided but no coffee grounds, no real milk on the breakfast tray only small uht capsules in the fridge, and we had to go elsewhere for breakfastt.
Great location, lots of potential butting cutting corners makes it a no-go area in my opinion - particularly for the price.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel P, General Manager at Karriview Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not a satisfactory one.

We take your comments and suggestions very seriously and I can assure you that all the appropriate measures have been put into place to make sure this doesn't happen again.
We have had nothing but exemplary comments since.

I have taken over as the manager of this property recently and have made changes to issues which your review has brought to my attention.

Thank you for your comments, please contact me directly if you were willing to let us redeem ourself and I will personally guarantee that your stay with us will be a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karriview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karriview Lodge

Address: Lot 66 Caves Road, Cowaramup, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Cowaramup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Cowaramup
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to idyllic Karriview Lodge, a renowned haven of relaxation in one of Australia’s most beautiful destinations. Nestled in the heart of the Margaret River wine region in Western Australia, Karriview is set amongst a magnificent karri forest and walking distance to majestic white beaches, providing the perfect base from which to explore the region.Our luxury lodge is the perfect location for your wedding celebration, business retreat or special occasion.We pride ourselves on removing those modern-day stresses allowing our guests to really escape, relax and enjoy the south-west.We look forward to taking care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Karriview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karriview Lodge Margaret River Region/Cowaramup, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karriview Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.