We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply put - our BEST meal in our entire visit to New Zealand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Hill Estate Restaurant & Winery

Elephant Hill Estate Restaurant & Winery
86 Clifton Road, Te Awanga 4180, New Zealand
+64 6-872 6060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Te Awanga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Elephant Hill is a stunning and innovative winery estate and restaurant located on the idyllic Te Awanga coast, in Hawke’s Bay, New Zealand. As a producer of premium Hawke’s Bay wine, our vineyard enjoys the spoils of a temperate, dry climate and an extended growing season. We care. Our grapes are 100% hand picked and we are proudly 100% accredited by the Sustainable Winegrowers of New Zealand.Elephant Hill is your place to relax and enjoy great wine and food.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Simply put - our BEST meal in our entire visit to New Zealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Elephant Hill Winery had been recommended to us by two restaurants and a winery in Martinborough. So when we saw it had a restaurant, lunch there was an easy choice! Turned out to be our best choice over the entire trip! The way I judge how good a meal is is by how many times do you have a spontaneous and irresistible urge to share your dish because it is just too good to keep to yourself. During a meal that ordered three entreés, three mains, and three desserts, all three of us HAD to share (or show off?) all three dishes we had ordered! It has been a while since a meal was that clearly amazing. Additionally, the wine selection gave us an excellent opportunity to sample their wines versus food so we knew what we should buy. We whole-heartedly recommended them to another American couple late in the trip when they said they would have ONE dinner in Napier on their trip and didn't know where to go. Was an easy decision!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    59
    18
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Devine Dinner Yet Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Great to be able to go for a really special meal where each time we have been it has been totally amazing. Right from the moment we entered we were whisked by an extremely efficient young man, seated with napkins on laps and watered in minutes. Lovely suprise chefs teaser to start, bread, entree, main, dessert, wine and tea service all fabulous!!! Presentation and chefs mix of creations amazing! Was a cold winter night and very suprised to enjoy lovely warm atmosphere. Noise levels didnt get up until closer to 9pm so was very peaceful. Spacious seating, and very very quick service. Just the most devine evening!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wine Country superlative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We went as a family and experienced some of the most beautiful food presentation that we have found anywhere. Taste too was exceptional all the way through lunch and even the children's menu had a sense of style to it.

Service could not be faulted and even bread was complimentary, which is rare within NZ. If there is a downside, it was that my starter was somewhat on the small side and what wine prices whilst comparable with those found at a decent restaurant, have a higher mark up than some of the other Hawkes Bay winery restaurants.

A lot of money has been thrown at Elephant Hill and it shows

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauanui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding in All Respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Amazing setting and stunning food, a place to relax and take your time over a meal. We were in a party of 18 with a set menu, beautifully cooked and presented, all in our party enjoyed the food and wine, with excellent service

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We ate outdoors overlooking the stunning views of the vineyards. Lovely food and friendly staff. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Hill Estate Restaurant & Winery also viewed

 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Elephant Hill Estate Restaurant & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Hill Estate Restaurant & Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.