We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Hill Estate Restaurant & Winery

Elephant Hill Estate Restaurant & Winery
86 Clifton Road, Te Awanga, New Zealand
+64 6-872 6060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 restaurants in Te Awanga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Elephant Hill is a stunning and innovative winery estate and restaurant located on the idyllic Te Awanga coast, in Hawke’s Bay, New Zealand. As a producer of premium Hawke’s Bay wine, our vineyard enjoys the spoils of a temperate, dry climate and an extended growing season. We care. Our grapes are 100% hand picked and we are proudly 100% accredited by the Sustainable Winegrowers of New Zealand.Elephant Hill is your place to relax and enjoy great wine and food.
Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great place to visit ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great staff and interesting wine tasting ( small fee per person) Lovely setting and the restaurant is excellent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    143
    37
    14
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We ended up here with some friends and had a simply amazing lunch... The Wine was fantastic service great and the food divine. I'm a foodie and this was fantastic! Presentation wow! Beef Tataki YUM YUM YUM! Fish -Blue nose scrummy! We will be Back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Welcoming winery with a modern sophisticated feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The local advice kept steering us away from this place - perhaps the good residents of Clive thought Elephant Hill was too posh for cyclists to drop in on... We were welcomed in our lycra glory for mid-morning coffee and chose to admire the vines from the divine patio area. The staff were professional but warm and it looked like a great place to sit back and indulge... definitely on my bucket list, as we discovered this gem a little to late in the trip to explore dining options.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Loved this ultra modern vineyard. The food and service was first class and the wine was great. On a summers day the outside area would be a pleasant afternoon retreat, it was too chilly in June but the inside space was great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb Cuisine and Wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were down in the Hawkes Bay for Queens Birthday weekend with friends and selected Elephant Hill as we had not dined nor tried their wines before. Gorgeous setting and we were lucky to have a beautiful day so able to sit outside - outstanding wines, fabulous cuisine and maitre de very professional - only thing that let it down was our waitress - very loud and clearly no training - more suited to a drive through fast food outlet. However would recomend people definitely make the trip to the winery!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Hill Estate Restaurant & Winery also viewed

 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Elephant Hill Estate Restaurant & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Hill Estate Restaurant & Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.