We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Hill Estate Restaurant & Winery

Elephant Hill Estate Restaurant & Winery
86 Clifton Road, Te Awanga, New Zealand
+64 6-872 6060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Te Awanga
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Elephant Hill is a stunning and innovative winery estate and restaurant located on the idyllic Te Awanga coast, in Hawke’s Bay, New Zealand. As a producer of premium Hawke’s Bay wine, our vineyard enjoys the spoils of a temperate, dry climate and an extended growing season. We care. Our grapes are 100% hand picked and we are proudly 100% accredited by the Sustainable Winegrowers of New Zealand.Elephant Hill is your place to relax and enjoy great wine and food.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Loved this ultra modern vineyard. The food and service was first class and the wine was great. On a summers day the outside area would be a pleasant afternoon retreat, it was too chilly in June but the inside space was great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    42
    16
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb Cuisine and Wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were down in the Hawkes Bay for Queens Birthday weekend with friends and selected Elephant Hill as we had not dined nor tried their wines before. Gorgeous setting and we were lucky to have a beautiful day so able to sit outside - outstanding wines, fabulous cuisine and maitre de very professional - only thing that let it down was our waitress - very loud and clearly no training - more suited to a drive through fast food outlet. However would recomend people definitely make the trip to the winery!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The terrace provides a marvellous view over water and vines to the sea. Our party of four were welcomed with enthusiasm and were made to feel welcome by friendly and efficient staff. Our meal was excellent, complimented by fine Elephant Hill wines, and our overall experience was most enjoyable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice venue, wine, food less so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Beautiful venue, everything well thought out. Syrah very nice. Food beautifully presented, however cool, and less than expected

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Absolutely mind-blowing food, ambiance, and wine. We had the lamb pie and the smoked salmon. Both were the best we've ever had. The atmosphere is idyllic and we enjoyed every moment of sunshine and seabreeze on the outside deck. All-around phenomenal. Go here if you want to have a wine lunch in Hawke's Bay!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Hill Estate Restaurant & Winery also viewed

 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Elephant Hill Estate Restaurant & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Hill Estate Restaurant & Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.