We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Farm at Cape Kidnappers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Farm at Cape Kidnappers to your Saves list
The Farm at Cape Kidnappers
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   446 Clifton Road, Te Awanga, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Te Awanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Most amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

When reading reviews and deciding to book Cape Kidnappers, someone described it as truly 6 star - well they certainly weren't wrong! The Lodge is furnished beautifully with different rooms for reading, sitting by the fire for a drink or for having a meal. The service is fantastic and really sets this place apart. From the greeting from Hanna and her team to the incredible service and knowledge from Andrew the Head Waiter and his staff, to the great service at the golf club from John and Rebecca to the magnificent food from the the kitchen - we were spoilt.

Our room was to die for, being a Lodge suite looking down towards the golf course and Hawkes Bay. The food was fantastic with an extensive wine list with a great variety of excellent Hawkes Bay wines. Once again thanks to Andrew for his knowledge of the local wine district.

The golf course speaks for itself in a stunning location, the staff attend to your every need. The course is in great condition, though will have its annual coring in October, so we just made it.

Totally recommend a minimum two night stay here and in comparison to some other all inclusive Lodges we've visited particularly in Nth America, this is the best we've been to.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Some a little way from the Lodge but max only 100m. We stayed in the Lodge Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Paul C,

Warm greetings from Cape Kidnappers!

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit to Cape Kidnappers. We are truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed the main lodge and your accommodation, the amazing cuisine, and your interactions with our staff. We are also thrilled that you were able to enjoy the fantastic course, where indeed the stunning vistas can distract even the best golfer.

Thank you for choosing Cape Kidnappers and we look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
80
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Put simply, I think it would be very difficult to improve on The Farm at Cape Kidnappers. We had mulled around the idea of going for many years before finally committing, always balking at the price and thinking it was out of our reach. Having now stayed there, and experienced what this lodge has to offer, I actually think the price is quite reasonable for what you get. We did make use of the winter special with unlimited golf or a spa treatment, and unashamedly state that it was the golf course that got us there.
The suites are beautifully appointed with fantastic views, warm and comfortable.
The Lodge is a stunning place, fitted out in such a way that you know a lot of time and money went into it design and application. Every room had its virtues, but have to say, like I'm sure many people do, that the "Snug" was our favourite room. Our private night of dining there was quite special.
As for dining, the food experience at Cape Kidnappers was as good as I have had anywhere. We tried the degustation menu both nights and could not find fault with a single course. Conversations with Jeremy, the Sommelier, helped us to pick a special wine for each night, and the service provided by Benjamin and James (and Blair and John) was beyond reproach. A truly special culinary experience for us.
Breakfast too was 5 star, with brilliant service from the young lady (whose name I can't remember) at 0645 even though breakfast didn't officially start until 0730.
The Golf - what a course and what a pleasure to play it! Thanks to less than optimal weather, we got 2 days of the course to ourselves, managing to play 54 holes in the process. Let me just say that its high world ranking is well justified. Kyle and John at the Proshop were excellent, even bringing us out dry towels after a soggy front nine!
Overall this was a brilliant place to visit and stay. We were treated to exceptional service at every point of the stay, and made to feel like millionaires (which we clearly are not!) without feeling like any of the staff were "forcing" it. No pretentiousness here.
Would I return?....already planning to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear emohawk,

Thank you for sharing both your comments and photos following your recent stay at Cape Kidnappers.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodation and the main lodge, the superb cuisine, and the service provided by our staff members. We are pleased dinner in the snug, the exquisite degustation menu, and a fantastic bottle of wine were ingredients for such a memorable evening.

We are also pleased that you not only enjoyed our stunning golf course, but played an amazing 54 holes!

Thank you again for your kind words. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Kidnappers.

Warm regards
Jay Robertson
Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had a wonderful lunch here. Although the weather was wet & gloomy, The Farm, had a lovely, warm feel. The set menu lunch was superb, with just the right size portions. Staff were very friendly, especially Vanesa from Argentina, sometimes places of this calibre ,can be a bit pretentious & over the top with service, but this was not the case here.
The decor is relaxed, country type feel, with fantastic natural features. We will definitely be returning & hopefully able to play golf, weather permitting! Highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear hokimai

Warm greetings from Cape Kidnappers.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your visit to Cape Kidnappers. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for another lunch visit and golf next time.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson
Managing Director, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel exceeded my expectations - just pure luxury. It is so nice to see the attention to detail these days which unfortunately is greatly lacking in some so called 5/6 star hotels/resorts. The property is a country sophisticated classic style - the views from our suite were amazing. I would highly recommend and would come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear jinnine r,

Warm greetings from New Zealand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of The Farm at Cape Kidnappers. It is lovely to read how you enjoyed your overall experience, the attention to detail, and the breath-taking views. We take such pride in the service we provide and to read rave reviews like yours makes it all worthwhile!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Staying at CK stretched my budget, but I am so glad I had 3 nights there. Beautiful accommodation, fabulous food and wine, superb service and sensational views. The golf course is spectacular, challenging, and it was in excellent condition. Don't miss the quad bike tour, it was great fun.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Patricia2004,

Warm greetings from New Zealand!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Cape Kidnappers. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your accommodation, the cuisine, and the breath-taking views. It is particularly pleasing that you made the most of your stay, enjoying not only a round of golf but also an exhilarating quad bike tour!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the Farm at Cape Kidnappers while we were on our honeymoon. It was our first stop on our first trip to New Zealand, and we immediately started talking about planning another trip there for our 5 year anniversary. Words cannot begin to describe the utter perfection of the experience. The property is stunning - elegant, warm, tastefully appointed. The staff set a new bar for service - everyone was gracious, hospitable, and attentive without being intrusive. The golf course is stunning (and challenging), the food was delicious (we loved dining in private in the Snug), and the rooms exquisite. We were upgraded to the Owner's Cottage, which was such a lovely surprise and made for a truly unforgettable experience. We can't wait to return and hope to check out the related properties in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear MCM219,
Warm Greetings from Cape Kidnappers!

Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback following your recent stay at Cape Kidnappers. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the main lodge and your accommodation, the cuisine, and your interactions with our staff. We are also pleased that you enjoyed and were challenged by the golf course.

We certainly take pride in what we do, and we are so pleased that the start of your honeymoon was so special.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Kidnappers in the future.

Congratulations and Regards,
Jay Robertson, Managing Director/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Farm at Cape Kidnappers is a special place. Top quality in staff and structure. The ambiance is enhanced buy the lovely vistas. The golf course is excellent and challenging. One of the best hotels I have stayed in. The only negative is that compared to other top resorts it is a bit pricey. At 30-40% more than Aman resorts it is not of equivalent value. However I will note the owner must have decided to put the prices high for his own reasoning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson J, Owner at The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Alassio1,

Warm Greetings from Cape Kidnappers!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Cape Kidnappers. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the Lodge, its breathtaking vistas, and the staff. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed and were challenged by our amazing course. To rate us as one of the best where you have stayed is truly a compliment.

Your comments regarding our price point are also noted and your comparison appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Kidnappers in the future, or perhaps to try the equally impressive course at the Cape’s sister property Kauri Cliffs.

Warm Regards,
Jay Robertson- Owner/Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Farm at Cape Kidnappers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farm at Cape Kidnappers

Address: 446 Clifton Road, Te Awanga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Te Awanga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Te Awanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Farm at Cape Kidnappers 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Farm at Cape Kidnappers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.