We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horse & Farrier Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Horse & Farrier Inn to your Saves list
Horse & Farrier Inn
nr Keswick, Threlkeld, Keswick CA12 4SQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Threlkeld B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

First time visit to the horse and farrier, but hope it wont be the last! From the moment of arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Jooles and her team, we were efficiently booked in and taken to our room, very comfortable with a lovely view, very clean too. Lunch and dinner exceeded all expectations, very hearty meals indeed. Jooles and staff are exceptional, cannot do enough for you, found it very heart warming that we were remembered by our Christian names and not simply as guests, made us feel very at home. The horse and farrier is delightful, traditional old charm, immaculately kept and maintained. location is superb for a variety of high and low level walks, we ventured up blencathra on this occasion. We must thank Jooles for Andrews birthday cake and for making a fuss, it was a real treat. The sister pub "the Sally" is across the road, more modern but still a delight. Both pubs have very happy and friendly staff who look after you so well. One thing to be aware of, the pubs cannot charge to your room, so for dinners etc you need to "pay as you go"- a minor inconvienience. Fantastic gem in the lakes.

Room Tip: room 5 is quiet, excellent king size bed with a good view and en suite bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    67
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
54
122
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our 5th visit to the area but first to stay at the Horse and Farrier. We stayed in the annex which suited me and 11 yr old son perfectly . Every single member of staff - from the first minute to the last could not have been more friendly and helpful. Food great and we has to do more cycling and walking due to the huge breakfasts. Location can not be beaten for walkers, cyclists -serious mountain biking to gently flat rides into keswick
Recommended to all
The only downside to our 6 nights was when we had to leave :(
Ken and Jamie

Room Tip: Annex or cottages may be for anyone wanting a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have just returned from a very enjoyable, relaxing visit to the Horse and Farrier. On arrival we were greeted by a very convivial owner, Jooles. We stayed at the Guest House and this was very comfortable for all the family, including our dog. Later we were joined by friends at the Horse and Farrier for a meal and it was a gastronomic delight!!
At breakfast we were pleasantly surprised to be joined by a company of five very well behaved dogs and their owners of course! The food once again was of high quality and generous helpings. The staff were very friendly and attentive.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hospitable hostelry to anybody who enjoys a relaxing sojourn in picturesque Cumbria. We shall certainly return to the Horse and Farrier in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just celebrated our firm's 20th birthday at Horse and Farrier on Saturday, great time had by all. Staff were excellent, food superb and the setting wonderful. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've now been to this place three times - but I'm still not sure. Its a great location. And the food is great. But i think that may be part of the problem - the main part of the business is the food and the accommodation is an afterthought. This time, I specifically asked for the room I had the first time I went - the one over the road - so as not to get the poky room above the bar where there was lots of noise the second time I went. But the room felt tired - the TV didn't work - and whilst the person who welcomed me was friendly enough, because the place was heaving with food customers - it felt like asking for someone to sort the TV out was going to be too much trouble. It is worth going there for the food - and of course - it being under Blencathra - the location is amazing, but not sure about the accommodation.

Room Tip: Not room 2 (I think) - or any of the rooms over the bar. If they mend the TV - the room over the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I recently spent a night at the Horse & Farrier Inn as part of a walking party and found the hospitality to be outstanding! Julie (Jooles) and all the staff made us feel so welcome and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The rooms were clean and well-appointed and we enjoyed a superb dinner and breakfast. The views from both the pub and the cottage, which we stayed in, were fantastic and the location is ideal for exploring the northern lakes. I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have now stayed at this hotel twice a year for the past 6 years, when we where told that it was under new ownership we here a bit dubious but Jules the new owner gave us a warm welcome and we where at ease right away, the meals are very good and the accommodation is clean so much so that we have booked again for Dec. This hotel is dog friendly, look out for the special deals late in the season. The Pub has a guest house, cottage and rooms at the Salutation Inn, worth a visit just for the food and the warm welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms at the salutation inn are quieter that the main Horse and Farrier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horse & Farrier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse & Farrier Inn

Address: nr Keswick, Threlkeld, Keswick CA12 4SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Threlkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Threlkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1688 this traditional Lakeland Inn with its slate flagged floors, beamed ceilings and open fire retains all the character you would expect from this popular village pub. Situated at the foot of Blencathra in the beautiful village of Threlkeld with views towards Skiddaw & Helvellyn this really is the place relax and enjoy the beauty of the Northern Lake district. The Horse & Farrier is committed to serving food and drink of excellent quality amidst informal surroundings. We have an excellent reputation in the Lake district for serving home cooked Fayre either in our intimate restaurant or cosy bar. Our menus are interesting and varied with vegetarians well catered for. We have two pubs in the village which cater for every occasion,two cottages and 14 well appointed bedrooms. Jooles & the team look forward to welcoming you to The Horse & Farrier & The Salutation Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Horse & Farrier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse & Farrier Hotel Threlkeld
Horse And Farrier Inn
Horse & Farrier Inn Threlkeld, England - Cumbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horse & Farrier Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.