We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 visits in a week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horse & Farrier Inn

Horse & Farrier Inn
Threlkeld, Keswick CA12 4SQ, England
017687 79688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Threlkeld
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Marlow, Bucks
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“3 visits in a week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great little pub. Sister pub over the road when this one gets busy.
Dogs welcome
Kids lived the Lasagne and a great ginger pudding. EPA beer was fantastic. Good place to end the railway walk or Blencathra mount.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    61
    22
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Six of us booked dinner at the Horse and Farrier which was packed out at 6.30 .. Always a good sign that the food would be good and we were not disappointed. Service was quick and staff polite and accommodating. The menu was varied with unusual options. I had pork belly which was delicious but too much to finish ..though I gave it a good go. The highlight was the Colonel , a pudding described as a palette cleanser which consists of a large shot of vodka with lemon water ice and strawberries - an adult slush puppy. The bill was reasonable for the quality of the food - we all had 3 courses and a couple of bottles of wine and it came to £194.00 . We would definitely go again as everything being served to other tables looked equally delicious. Parking is difficult in the car parks but easy in the side streets and book. Lovely evening , thank you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub - perfect location at the end of the Railway Walk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We popped into the Horse & Farrier after walking the Railway Walk from Keswick. As we were soaking wet from the impromptu hail storm that greeted our entrance to the village the brought our drinks to our table after they insisted we take seats in front of the fire to dry off!

A lovely country pub with a wide menu and friendly staff - who even gave us a lollipop each to help us garner the strength for the walk back in the rain! (Thank you for that, they were most appreciated!!)

We'll be back soon! :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Another year in the Lakes and another great meal at the Horse and Farrier. We are never disappointed with this place. The steak and ale pie was up to its usual standard and the cheerfulness of the staff adds to the experience. The beer was as good as ever. We’ll be back next year!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food, great beer and friendly welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Lovely pub which we have been to many times on our visits to the Lakes. Always made to feel very welcome.

We usually have food but this time had Sunday lunch for the first time. I had rib of beef and my wife had turkey. Both were excellent. Fresh, plentiful, local food washed down by a cracking real ales.

Highly recommended if you are in the area.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse & Farrier Inn also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Horse & Farrier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horse & Farrier Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.