We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, basic accomodation - acceptable package deal if skiing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Russell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre
Save
You added The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Hwy 16 & 83, Russell, Manitoba R0J 1W0 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Russell
Moose Jaw
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good, basic accomodation - acceptable package deal if skiing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife, grandson and I stayed at the Inn for three nights while skiing/boarding Asessippi. The hotel is your typical accomodation. Our room was quite large and had two TVs mounted on the wall (this was great for my grandson). The bathroom is a bit smaller with no fan which make for lots of condensation. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool/waterslide/hot tub was great for my grandson. The Asessippi package was excellent: three days of lift tickets for two adults ... three days of ski lessons ... and meal tickets. We took full advantage of these tickets which did save us a great deal of $$ in the long run. At the time we were there the hotel was crammed with school kids who were also doing the Asessippi resort. Although lots of kids were visible they were courteous, well-mannered and well-behaved. Asessippi has an excellent learn to ski/board program and I suspect that most of the kids stay at the Russell Inn. Contrary to what Jessica2192 stated, the restaurant was excellent - great service, one of the most extensive menus I have seen, and excellent food! The $5.00 vouchers are worth five dollars; so, use them and don't complain (again ... don't know where Jessica was coming from with her statement?). All-in-all, our trip was excellent. We got in some good skiing and my grandson learned how to board.

Room Tip: Lots of people stay in this hotel; however, we never had any difficulty with or complaints about exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocolatelover09, Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Good afternoon! And thank you so much for the awesome review!

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the Sleep & Ski Package; they are very popular with our winter guests.

Yes, we do offer an Overnight Sleep & Ski program to schools; we host over 5,000 students every winter! The hotel is always filled with activity when our student groups are visiting.

Glad to hear your grandson learned how to snowboard at Asessippi! It's a great sport!

We look forward to having you visit us again. Thank you for taking the time to review our property; we greatly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    41
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
16
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here for a night while skiing at Asessippi. The hotel is big and clean. The staff is nice and the rooms are very spacious. I've been to hotels where the foot of the bed is only 3 or 4 feet from the TV. At the Russell Inn, the Beds have a good 8 feet from the TV before the pull-out trundle bed comes out of the foot of the bed. Real mugs and glasses in the room were nice, as well as a door closing the toilet and shower area off from the sink area. Also the extra large night-stand tables on each sides of both beds were a nice touch. The restraunt is decent food for a high price. A continental breakfast would be nice. The drive-up rooms are quite a great feature to a single storey hotel. In the end this is the only place I would stay at while skiing at Asessippi.

Room Tip: A room in one of the 400 wings is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanie68, Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Russell Inn!

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We want everyone to feel at home when staying with us and do our best when planning out the comfort of our guest rooms.

Thank you again for your review. We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the Russel Inn on our way to Saskatchewan for a snowmobile trip. We hit a blizzard and they closed the HWY so we stopped at the first hotel when we hit town at midnight. There was no regular rooms left so she upgraded with no extra charge. I believe it was $120. Room was large and clean with big comfy beds, a bar fridge/microwave and our own outside entrance/door. Nice for keeping an eye on our machines although security assured us he makes frequent trips to the parking lot. Only complaint was the workers that had the next room were very noisy when the left at 6 in the morning and the maid knocked on the door just after 8 am and woke us for the second time. We didn't eat there($5 coupons) just grabbed a Tim's(next door) and hit the road

Room Tip: we liked the upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanie68, Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that we could upgrade you to a room and provide some comfort to you on a stormy evening.
Our security guards take their jobs very seriously and are happy to keep an extra pair of eyes out for our guests.

We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again. Stay safe on your snowmobiles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is fine, they gave us 2 $5 vouchers for breakfast. By far the worst food I have ever had. The server didn't seem too shocked by my full plate... I guess it's a frequent occurrence.
Otherwise the hotel is fine.. Pretty drabby buy clean and nice tvs. Only worth your money if you get the ski package (and don't fall for the $5 breakfast voucher).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanie68, Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments; we do appreciate all comments we receive and discuss them with the proper departments.
We have tried to reach you to discuss your meals; when you have a moment, could you please contact us? Inbox message is fine.
The breakfast coupons are a $5 off coupon, not a free breakfast coupon. Two coupons are given per room and we find most guests are happy with them. We are sorry you were not pleased with our vouchers.
Thank you for your time and your comments; it provides us the opportunity to discuss matters here as well and make sure we are providing great service every time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We attended a wedding that was happening at Assissippi Ski Resort and we stayed at the Russell Inn. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Room was quite comfortable and affordable. We felt the restaurant was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanie68, Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Russell Inn; we appreciate your time to post a review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at the Russell Inn this past weekend as my son was playing hockey there in a tournament. The room came out to $174 with tax which was outrageous for the quality of the room. Yes, it was a fair size, but there were no bells and whistles here. The room was very cold and did not seem to warm up until we called maintenance and they brought us two portable heaters.
The food was 'OK', but the prices were far too expensive. They gave us 2 $5 coupons that could be used for breakfast, but rather than doing this, why aren't the prices just lower. Almost $12 for a strawberry belgian waffle is ridiculous!
Also, the staff at the front desk should review the privacy policy. I saw someone ask for the opposing team's hockey coach's room number and they gave it to them. This is private information and should NOT be shared. I actually told the front staff this as well.
I feel sorry for the skiers and snow boarders who stay there for the weekend, because this place is an absolute rip off and unfortunately there is no were else in the area that is decent enough to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanie68, Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your review; we sincerely appreciate the opportunity to correct our errors and to discuss/clarify all other concerns.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us this past weekend and we have reviewed your comments and have spoken to staff regarding your complaints.

The rooms were discounted for the hockey tournament and rates were quoted in the email you would have received from us at the time the team blocking was made. Our rates for standard rooms are $116, one and two rooms suites are $164 and trundle rooms are $159. You were in a trundle type room and received the discounted rate the tournament received. We are sorry that there wasn’t a standard room available when you booked.

Were you able to speak with a manager during your stay? We sincerely apologize for the heat not working well in your room there should have been some discount for this. No question we are in error here. Please contact us so we can make this right.

The breakfast coupons are offered towards the cost of your breakfast and are not intended to cover the cost of breakfast.

The matter of the privacy policy has been looked in to and we have corrected this issue, it was a misunderstanding in information and we sincerely apologize to all guests for this incident.

Yes, we do have a large number of skiers and snowboarders stay with us using the Sleep & Ski Packages, which heavily discounts the rooms and offers a number of meal vouchers. These packages are very popular with our winter guests who stay with us while enjoying the fun at Asessippi.

We would appreciate you contacting us, 1.800.665.0678 at your earliest convenience to further discuss this matter. We value our guests and when we are in error, we do everything we can to make things right. We look forward to hearing from you and again thank you for giving us the opportunity to correct the errors. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I stay at the Russell inn alot. I think im going to start going elsewhere. The rooms are overpriced and the food is wildly expensive for the poor quality. The breakfast voucher is a joke as a bagel with cream cheese is more than 5 dollars. The exact same item is less at Tim Hortens. They have signs down the highways claiming they have gormet food and 50% off rooms on sundays. I have never once goten 50% off my room and I have stayed there on half a dozen sundays.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanie68, Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property.
We have tried to contact you to discuss your review, however, we have not received a response to date.

Upon review of your guest history with us, we see that you have in fact received the 50% off rack rate for your Sunday stays with us. Your other stays as our guest fell on week days in which you received corporate rates in both a standard room as well as a two room suite.

We value our relationships with our customers and we always make matters right when given the opportunity. We regret that you did not discuss this matter with us in person and we would appreciate you contacting us to discuss this matter further. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: Hwy 16 & 83, Russell, Manitoba R0J 1W0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Russell
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban amenities wrapped in rural hospitality! The Russell Inn features 96 rooms and suites, a pool and waterslide, family restaurant and Kristie's Neighbourhood Pub. Other conveniences include a C-Store on property as well as Subway, Pizza Hut & Tim Hortons. The Russell Inn is located only 15 minutes from Asessippi Ski Resort and is the perfect place for your rural get-away! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre Manitoba, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.