We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beachfront location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coopers Beachfront Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coopers Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Save
You added Coopers Beachfront Suites to your Saves list
18 Bayside Drive, Coopers Beach, Mangonui, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$149 (NZD)
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Perfect beachfront location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Superb 5 days at Coopers Beachfront Suites. Perfect location with a stunning beach on the doorstep. 5km run each morning along pohutukawa-fringed beach followed by a relaxing swim in the sea. Interesting Maori pa sites immediately adjacent, and just a couple of minutes' drive to beautiful and historic Mangonui fishing village. Great location for cycling, walking and exploring the Far North. Janet and George were welcoming and knowledgable hosts, and their delightful 'westie' dog and burmese cats were an added bonus.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Coopers Beachfront Suites. George and Janet were terrific. Even with a bit of rain, there is tons to do outside: the beaches (of course), nature walks, photography, climbing over rocks and more. We wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you, George and Janet, for sharing your wonderful place with us. We had a magnificent time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed two nights here while touring northland, I swam in the sea, it was great, the beach is lovely. George and Janet were extremely hospitable hosts, and provided more in the way of breakfast items than we expected, OJ, bread, jams, milk & basket of fruit, thank you! Plus toiletries in the bathroom.
There is a vacant section between the property and beach but your own walkway down steps to a creek which runs into the sea, great photo opportunities with the huge flowering pohutukawas lining the beach frontage. For elderly or disabled persons, these steps are unsuitable but there is another paved beach access one house away.
I took my deckchair out onto the vacant section with my camera and Janet kindly surprised me with a glass of wine to complement the setting.
Suggestions were offered on eateries in the area which was appreciated.
The reason I have rated VG rather than excellent is due to the word 'luxury' on the web page, therefore my expectations were a little higher. The building is showing signs of age now but is immaculately clean and well presented. We were in the lower suite and you can hear the guests above walking (someone was up at 3am), but I am a very light sleeper.
Also, I chose this property partly because it reads on web page "not suitable for children". When we stayed there was a family of four above us, but the young children were well-behaved so no problem.
I left my bikini draped on the fan when we left and Janet phoned me (but we were out of coverage) and then kindly posted it to me. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Choose the upstairs suite for a better view, if you are able to do a flight of stairs ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

Our second stay at Coopers Beachfront Suites, and we are reluctant to leave. The apt is equipped with every amenity possible. Sunny rooms with a view to pahutakawas and the beach- so close we can hear the waves all day & night. Hosts George & Janet are lovely, & proud to share their bit of heaven. Thank you for pure peace & relaxation!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We have just returned home to the UK having stayed at 28 different places in our 2 months exploration of New Zealand and I am pleased to report that Janet & George's Beachfront Suite is top of our list. It was so good we extended our stay to 5 nights. We were in the upstairs suite which had great views and was furnished to a very high standard. A superb location to relax in luxury with direct access to the beach and to explore the Far North. Our hosts were unobtrusive yet available to help and assist on request.

Margaret & Bob

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Fall asleep with the gentle sounds of the sea and awaken to beautiful views of the bay and beach from every window and the balcony. Be walking, swimming or sitting on the beach in moments. Perhaps the best beachcombing and shell collecting anywhere. Gorgeous, quiet, and private. The suite is well decorated, furnished, and stocked. Friendly hosts Janet and George are a wealth of information. We booked four nights and decided to stay five and wished we had stayed longer. This is a wonderful place to stay but additionally makes a perfect location for visiting all the Northland treasures conveniently.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

For a four day break in August we booked three nights at Janet and George's beachfront suites, based on reviews written on TripAdvisor. We did quite an extensive search before booking and the ratings clearly favoured this accommodation - and for a reason!

This accommodation is absolutely perfect in every way. There's a ground floor unit and a second on top of that. Although the ground floor unit was vacant, Janet and George prepared the upper suite for us so that we could enjoy the view. It has an open plan kitchen and living room, separate bedroom with king-size bed and bathroom that is accessible from both the bedroom and living hallway. It is equipped with everything you need and much more. For example: forgot your reading glasses? No problem, as there's one provided in the suite. As advertised, it is not an actual bed and breakfast accommodation, but you're provided with some bread, spreads, milk, coffee etc. to prepare your own private meal in the morning.

Janet and George kindly offered to make some phone calls to see whether local touristic attractions would be open at this time of the year, and also gave us some good advise on other places of interest, like Cape Reinga (2hr drive), the sand dunes at Paihia etc. Cooper's beach itself is also worth a walk if you don't mind climbing some tree branches every now and then. The beach and the neighbouring peninsula look like great places to swim in the summer. Mangonui should also be a cosy place to go for a drink and bite to eat, but unfortunately quite some of the restaurants are closed several days of the week during winter time, or renovating in preparation of the high season.

Admittedly, the nightly rate was slightly above our budget, but we were offered a sweet winter deal to get the third night for free. It's absolutely great value for your money though, even if you have to pay the full sum.

Big kudos to Janet for giving us a ring about five minutes after we left! My partner forgot to take her jacket, but since we were only a few kilometres out, we quickly made a U-turn to come pick it up. We definitely recommend this to anything looking for an awesome place to explore the northern region of New Zealand.

Room Tip: The upper suite offers a great view on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coopers Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopers Beachfront Suites

Address: 18 Bayside Drive, Coopers Beach, Mangonui, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coopers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two luxury Beachfront self-contained apartments on un-crowded, un-spoiled Doubtless Bay in Northern New Zealand. American owners maintain international standards. Great base for exploring Cape Reinga, Kauri forests and beautiful beaches. Free Wi-Fi, provisions for continental breakfast first morning. Excellent local restaurants, gift shops and facilities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coopers Beachfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.