We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of By the Bay Beachfront Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added By the Bay Beachfront Apartments to your Saves list
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   16 Braemar Ave, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Having never been to that part of the country we were uncertain as to where to stay. After some online research we chose By the Bay and weren't disappointed! The facility was very clean and well maintained. The studio apartment we stayed in was perfect and the bed quite comfortable. The easy access to the beach was a nice convenience. Next time we head north we will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
48
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mangonui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Mangonui is now my home. Our stay at By The Bay was our 1st introduction to Doubtless Bay. Mary and her husband were welcoming, accommodating, very helpful & we were made to feel like family. The level of comfort in the rooms is luxurious, huge beds, quality linen, leather couches, & the view soothed the soul. Top End Accommodation when you feel like a treat that doesn't break the Bank Account. $'s spend good value, you could easily pay double for the same 5 Star Accommodation at other venues. Memorable experience. I would recommend 100%

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The apartments were spacious, well equipped and very comfortable. The view was literally breathtaking. What topped it off for us was the treatment we received from our wonderful hosts, Alan and Mary. We honestly felt like long lost friends. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were two couples staying a few nights. The apartment was spacious and comfortable and had great views across the bay, the sounds of the sea a balmy accompaniment. The beach was only a short walk across the lawn, although it was a bit too cold to swim when we were there in autumn, but we did take the canoes out for a paddle round the nearby coves, which was good fun. The kitchen was well equipped, though we only had one dinner in, as there are restaurants and cafes only a short drive away. The hosts, Alan and Mary, were welcoming and most helpful - fitting our accommodation flexibly to our needs, and even kindly mailing back to me a cherished item I had left behind. Top hospitality!

Room Tip: Discuss any particular needs with Alan and Mary, who were most helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona2244FF, Guest Relations Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thanks Jackie, weather here still lovely and people are still swimming and the odd kite surfer still out. So glad you enjoyed your stay, and we are sure you will be back.
kind regards
Alan & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing studio room with a amazing veiw and short stroll to the beach and the spa. Our room had everything and more. The host were extremely welcoming and accomodating. Overall amazing and would stay again if was in northland. Ideal for couples and family

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and you had the very best of weather during your stay. Hopefully will see you again up this way, kind regards Mary & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed in the studio apartment and it was perfect for a couple. The property was exactly as described and our hosts Alan and Mary were very friendly and helpful. The view is stunning and the area is quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona2244FF, Guest Relations Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know about your holiday. We have had a couple of cyclones lately so the studio was an exciting place to stay in as the waves were lapping the stairs to the beach!!. Lullaby you off to sleep.Hope to see you again,
kind regards
Alan & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The view is breath-taking with the sound of the waves lapping gently in the bay your stresses and worries easily fall away. While taking in the beauty and serenity of the location you are also aware that if in the mood there are local restaurants and bars where you can enjoy culinary delights just minutes away. Stayed in the upstairs apartment which we found was tastefully decorated, immaculately cleaned, with a roomy balcony area you can sunbathe on as well as enjoy a family meal while overlooking the bay.

From the first telephone call to arriving at 'By and Bay Beachfront Apartments' the hosts Alan and Mary ensured our stay would be an enjoyable and memorable experience. We will return :)

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you Emily, So glad you were able to just chill out like you had requested. Will see you again at our beautiful beachfront apartments
kind regards Mary & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to By the Bay Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Bay Beachfront Apartments

Address: 16 Braemar Ave, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coopers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — By the Bay Beachfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments is absolute oceanfront setting with 3 large self contained apartments and 1self contained studio, can sleep up to 20 guests in total. Private access to the beach. Continental or cooked breakfasts available. Wifi, Cable TV and DVDs. Spa pool overlooking ocean and kayaks for guests to use. BBQs in a garden setting. You will think you are in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your By the Bay Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.