We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sensational experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Bejuco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Pacific Bay Resort
Save Saved
You added Pacific Bay Resort to your Saves list
Punta Bejuco, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Bejuco
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“A sensational experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Pacific Bay Resort is a place of exceptional beauty. The view at sundown from the hill at sunset is one that we will long remember. The property covers about 150 acres, most of it undeveloped. It has three gorgeous beaches which we had almost entirely to ourselves. (We liked South Beach the best for its combination of shade, hammocks and sandy bottom.)
The arrival by boat sets the stage for the experience. It is a beautiful half-hour ride through undeveloped coastline. If the term resort conjures up sitting by a pool with pool-boys bringing you pina coladas, this is not not the place for you. Lodge would be a better term for the place than resort. The cottages are basic but very roomy and comfortable. There is no pool. But who needs one with all that ocean available?
Frank, the owner, is a great fellow. After a few hours, we felt he was an old friend. He is a great story teller and a great steward of his land. As a former Boston restauranteur, Frank runs an excellent kitchen and we were amazed at the wonderful meals he was able to produce in this remote location.
To respond to a couple of previous entries: Yes, there is a pretty steep walk up the hill from the cottages to the restaurant. But there were four of us in our 60's and we did not have any trouble at all. Pacific Bay is in a hot climate and a bit of planning is in order to enjoy the day. Plan to do most of your activity in the morning before it gets too hot. Take a siesta after lunch. Top off the day with a late afternoon stroll to one of the beaches for a swim.
And to the worst suggestion on the Trip Advisor link: Please, Frank, no TV or DVD in the restaurant area. It would ruin the entire ambiance of the place. The point of coming to a place like this is to get away from the blare of the television and enjoy the sounds of the sea and the land and the pleasure of good company.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This little piece of Heaven is situated on a peninsula in the middle of a rain forest. The brightly painted guest cottages are tucked amongst the hills and by the beaches. Each cottage houses two large rooms with two double beds apiece and private bathrooms. A hammock is hung in the covered porch at each entrance. A ceiling fan and windows on three walls keep the rooms cool. The restaurant and communal meeting space is located atop a hill overlooking the bay with spectacular views. The food was fresh, abundant and delicious. Our days were spent mostly at their out of this world beaches body surfing, snorkeling, hunting for shells and of course swinging in hammocks tied between Palm trees at the beaches edge. If you're lucky enough to get there don't forget to go watch the sun rise over South Beach...Enjoy!

Room Tip: Our cottage was on a hill away from the beach but the sound of the waves still lulled us asleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I have traveled throughout the world. We can safely say that there are few places as beautiful as this resort. The beaches and views are simply spectacular. Want more? It's owner, Frank, is a super special and fascinating person who is eager to share his life's stories. Aside from his charm, he and his staff are wonderful cooks who offer scrumptious meals.
This is one place that words do not do justice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Amazing experience made memorable by beautifully manicured landscapes, roaring hillsides, age-old trees, a diverse host of animals and all the beautiful colors of the authentic Panamanian scenery. My fiance and I went there expecting some much needed R&R and were blown away by every aspect of the trip. The service, the food and the accommodations were all A-plus. Snorkeling and kayaking are included in the price, which is a great way to get out there and explore the place. The courteous and friendly staff are motivated by showing you a special experience, but know to stay out of your way and let you enjoy on your own. The owner is a delight with a warm personality, as is Joanna, Flora, Javi, Andy, Vincente and Charlie. This experience is one we won't soon forget. Thanks PBR!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with Chiquiri. Know that visit to PBR is not for those with lazybones--expect gor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I spent 3 days there earlier this month and it was like being in paradise. The owner Frank was the perfect host. He met us at the boat on his beach and took us to our cottage. This was followed by a tour of the resort in a golf cart, all 130 acres. And what a resort it is with multiple beaches and miles of beautiful and lush rain forest. Frank had learned his culinary skills in the restaurant business in Boston. His meals were outstanding both in taste and presentation. I will be back next year for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

As a family of 5 ( 2 adults and 3 children), we spent 3 nights at this wonderful resort and we enjoyed every minute of it. It is located on a peninsula but is only accessible by boat, which gives the feeling of being on a "deserted island". The property is a safe haven for monkeys, birds and lots of other animal life. It has 3 beaches, 2 of which are very easily accessible for swimming. Very frequently we were on the beach by ourselves! We would relax, play soccer on the beach, swim and kayak. While walking back to our cabin, we would frequently spot monkeys on the trees. The cabins were clean and the ceiling fans kept us cool at night. The food was delicious and plentiful. Above all, Frank, the owner of the property, was extremely welcoming and truly made you feel at home.

Room Tip: if you are traveling with young children look for a cabin closer to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

the food was excellent, the staff very accommodating;every cottage has an ocean view, were clean and beautifully decorated. the physical beauty of the land is breathtaking.
we were met at the dock at Boca Chica by a water taxi driven by a very safety minded Pacific Bay Resort staff member; the ride was lovely; we were welcomed by the host Frank, and it was a relaxing and effortless four days. All our needs and requests were taken care of promptly and courteously.
This place is definitely a "two thumbs up" vacation spot.

Room Tip: The host picks the cottage location with the specific needs of the traveler in mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Bay Resort

Address: Punta Bejuco, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Punta Bejuco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Bejuco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Pacific Bay Hotel Punta Bejuco
Pacific Bay Resort Panama/Punta Bejuco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.