We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote, relaxing . . . perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pacific Bay Resort to your Saves list
Pacific Bay Resort
Punta Bejuco, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Bejuco
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Remote, relaxing . . . perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Pacific Bay Resort was the perfect way to end our vacation in Panama. Imagine a secluded tropical location accessible only by 20 min boat ride, in the middle of a tamed jungle with three white sand, isolated beaches, with comfortable cabins and the friendliest staff you will find anywhere. That is Pacific Bay! Owned by a former Boston resident (Frank) we makes you feel right at home along with the rest of the welcoming staff who work to make sure you have a relaxing vacation.

Highlights of our time at Pacific Bay Resort:
- On one of the 3 secluded beaches of the resort, the only two people there, peacefully hanging in hammocks hung especially for us in the shady spot of our choosing
- The sunset from the main house/restaurant
- The personalized tour of the property by Frank
- Petting a baby deer who Frank and the staff have befriended
- Listening to howler monkies while falling asleep
- Sea kayaking in the aqua blue ocean (if we had been a bit braver, we could have gone to nearby deserted island to explore)
- THE FOOD! The amazing Chef Andy made us the most delicious food we found in Panama! My favorite was the poached pear for dessert, the home-made foccacia bread, and fresh fruit for breakfast. And it's included in the price!

It is off the beaten path, so it takes some effort to get there . . . but that is part of the point! It is also an extremely good value (Frank specifically created this place as an affordable option for the average person to be able to enjoy). The resort does a lot to support the local community, which made us feel great about spending time here as tourists.

Will DEFINITELY be back!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a bit of climb to the main house, so ask for a cabin closer to the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

It's remote. And there are geckos in the shower (sometimes). And the monkeys might wake you up at night while they swing through the trees. And you might run in to a hummingbird while walking down the very steep path. BUT (okay, fine, I actually love the previous things), it's really the most amazing place ever. Best bang for your buck you'll ever get, with great food, beaches to suit every taste, views that take your breath away (especially when you're watching a thunderstorm pass through - wow!), a good book collection, and comfy hammocks you can spend an entire day reading in. We went in July of last summer for a week and were the only guests. The staff was incredibly kind and thoughtful, and always inquired about what we wanted to eat and at what time. We will be going back - hopefully many times. As previous reviewers have said, it's paradise! By the way, bring good gripping walking shoes/sandals - the steep paths get slippery, especially after it rains.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first cottage (pink) called Chiriqui, closest to North Beach. We could hear the qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Pacific Bay Resort is a hidden gem. It takes a bit to get to it but that is part of it's charm. It's a beautiful haven away from computers and cell phones. Nothing but the sounds of birds and howler monkeys. Frank has gone to great lengths to make sure he is and his guests are respectful of the animals and the land itself. You can feel good about staying here. Frank himself is a great character. Always quick with a joke but also has a deep caring side as well. People who stay there become like family. The staff are all friendly and very respectful. One thing we were not expecting was the amazing food! It was to die for! Great food, great people and beautiful surroundings.....perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Center, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

We just left one of the most amazing places! Pacific Bay Resort is accessible by boat only. No Internet, no electricity (there is some solar power) and no phones. This is an Ecco vacation that is not soon forgotten.

It may be a little remote, but well worth the effort. The views are spectacular, the food is outstanding and the staff are so accommodating. I tore my Achilles tendon a few months ago and walking is a little difficult. But it was no problem for Frank and his crew. They took me anywhere I wanted in one of their golf carts.

The beaches are secluded and you pretty much have your own private beach. Did I mention the food?

Pacific Bay Resort far exceeded our expectations, we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Words are not enough to describe how much we love this place, from the second we arrived we knew it was special and did not stop smiling the 4 nights we were there. this was definatly the highlight of Panama after a month travelling. The boat only access makes you feel like you are going to your own private exclusive island and in a way you are. Even though it is on 145acres, there are only 5 bungalows and frank only likes to take 12 or so people at a time so it is never crowded!! We had the blue bungalow overlooking north beach,below the restaurant, and the view was stunning. the bungalows are 2 rooms,you have one side and someone else has the otherside, but the balconies are totally seperate(or in our case there was nobody next to us so it was really private!). The rooms are HUGE, with windows all the way around so they are light and airy and there is a constant breeze, which you need as it is hot out there. they are nothing fancy, just basic,simple rooms, but so clean and tidy and well just nice! he has created a place that is not fancy when this could have been a real expensive exclusive place out of the reach of most 'normal' travellers, instead he has got the right balance of price, comfort and therefore a great mix of people coming here. The restaurant is the best bit, the views are just breathtaking, everytime you sit up there you are blown away. And the food, wow, we were not expecting that. They made such an effort to make us different tasty veggie food everyday,it was amazing, we eat here better than anywhere else in Panama, they serve breakfast,lunch and dinner in great portions, you will never go hungry and it is all fresh and lovely. The beaches are beautiful, kayaks great fun, and all in all this is just a wonderfull place to hang out. oh and the other great thing, Frank, the owner, he is brilliant, we love him. And all the staff, Andy and the girls, just lovely. There is not one bad thing about this place and i wouldnt change a thing. Love it love it love it.

Room Tip: The blue cottage below the restaurant has lovely views, but it is a steep walk up to the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

in a nutshell our stay at frank´s pacific bay was the amaziest place we´ve ever been. if you want to calm down in nature at wonderful beaches with excellent food you need to go there. it´s absolutely off the beaten track and we hope this will never change:-). so we will come back-that´s for sure! The staff especially the cook:-) who creates a mix of italien and local cuisine, did a good job. we can recommend a fishing trip it was a real adventure. so make your own experience on this hidden place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This place is amazing. My husband and I spend the last couple days of our honeymoon here and it was the perfect end to our vacation. Although, it made leaving very difficult! It was so peaceful and relaxing after a lot of activities in other places. We layed on the beach, swang in hammocks, and swam in the warm ocean. There were three delicious home cooked meals a day with a beautiful panoramic view of the ocean. and there are monkeys! they do make a lot of noise in the morning so bring earplugs. the cabins were very spacious and comfortable, and clean. There is a lot of walking to up and down hills to get to places, but they have golf carts to take you around if you need it. Frank is the most entertaining host. We had a great time and can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Bay Resort

Address: Punta Bejuco, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Punta Bejuco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Punta Bejuco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pacific Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Bay Hotel Punta Bejuco
Pacific Bay Resort Panama/Punta Bejuco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.