We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're glad we ticked the box” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Suaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Suaya to your Saves list
Casa Suaya
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Ruta 10 km 185.5, Jose Ignacio 20881, Uruguay   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Jose Ignacio B&B and Inns
Darien, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We're glad we ticked the box”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Jose Ignacio offers beautiful beaches, beautiful people and wonderful restaurants. Just over a mile walk from the main beach/lighthouse, Casa Suaya provides a quiet and laid-back retreat from the frentic pace of the village. The grounds are rustic but adequtely maintained and the rooms are nicely decorated but further away from the ocean (across a highway) than we expected. We'd highly recommend a second floor room which provides better views and more light. The restaurant is very good. Don't expect a Four Seasons experience from this trendy, boutiquey resort and be prepared for a few curveballs when the water shuts off for an hour or two but the atmospere is so relaxing that it's hard to get uptight about anything........Definitely a couples type of place with an occasional late night party. It's a must see, however, and we're glad we ticked the box. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    27
    7
    7
    14
See reviews for
22
57
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
L.A.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Casa Suaya really had it all: a beautiful, serene, private, intimate place that felt special. We relaxed by the pool, enjoyed the restaurant (delicious meals, and loved the set-up), and spent time on the beach, which was steps away & felt like it was our own private beach. We didn't want to stay in Punta because it was too busy, we wanted exactly what Casa Suaya represents.
It felt comfortable like a home, but better. We didn't want to leave. In fact, we changed our flight & booked an extra night there. The staff was friendly & very helpful, as well.
I can't say enough good things about this place - it's the perfect place to relax & get-away; paradise...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Our two night stay at Casa Suaya in beginning of December was supposed to be the highlight of our honeymoon. It was planned in towards the end of our wonderful holiday in Uruguay which took us all over the country, where we stayed in wonderful hotels & guesthouses at a variety of price ranges. I'd had my heart set on Casa Suaya after finding their website and once we finally drove up first impressions didn't start well, there's a busy road in front of the hotel, not like on the misleading photos from the website where it looks like the hotel & surround area is directly in the dunes / beach area. We arrive at reception and we are the only guests. A lady checks us in and a guy carries our bags to the bungalow and then that was pretty much the last time we saw any staff during our staff. She did tell us that we were there out of season and therefore no other customers. There was no one to ask any questions, no one to give us towels / pillows by the pool, no lights by our bungalow which was really scary at night when we were arriving, no security, no massages or horseriding as advertised, the pool was too filthy to swim in. We couldn't get our airconditioning to work and apart from the gardener we didnt' have anyone to ask to help us. We couldn't order any drinks or anything during the day time as there was no staff, so we ended up driving to the nearby village and buying snacks and drinks for our room. I wouldn't normally complain about such luxuries but at the prices were paying you expect to have all these perks as part of the stay! Another mayor annoyance was breakfast on the first day. Breakfast room closed, no staff. After walking around the resort we finally found the housekeeper who ended up making some calls and 30mins later a sleepy chef let us in the room, quickly trying to throw some food together, again, this was so frustrating and certainly not as advertised on the website!! The final straw came on our check out day, we assumed there would be no staff but miraculously the boy who carried our bags on the first day was hanging around waiting for us. He told me the card machine wasn't working and that I had to pay cash! Yeah right, because we normally walk around with such large quantities of dollars with us. I told him we would pay via credit card and that they had my details on file they could take the money later - it was just another frustration to end with. Once we'd arrived back in Montevideo the next day I wrote an angry email to the hotel complaining about the dreadful service we'd had and that they had my credit card details and could take the money if they wish. I would have at least expected a courtesy email back from Management or even a discount for the limited service we were given at such luxury prices, but nothing, no email apologies, nothing. Then after a long 3-4weeks AFTER our stay suddenly the full amount was taken off my credit card - not even a note / email from them saying sorry or 'we will take the money off your card now'. Nothing. I don't normally feel the urge to write into Tripadvisor but I would advise people to stay away from this place and not suffer the same we did.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Casa Suaya, Jose Ignacio, Uruguay.
The town of Jose Ignacio is located on the coast of Uruguay, about 90 minutes from the airport in Montevideo, Uruguay's capital city.
Customs and immigration are easy and coming from the U.S. with a Canadian passport I did not require a visa.
The roads ,hwy 1B, the road east to Punte Del Este and from there smaller roads to La Barra and Jose Ignacio are all well maitained and easy to drive on.The Uruguayan driving style is curteous and forgiving.The hiway runs close to the coast and affords glimpses of beaches and water until you turn a corner and a whole magnificient coast line is layed out before you.
December, January and February are the high season in the south so the roads in and around the coastal towns were busy with slow moving traffic, which is a blessing when you do not know where you are going and need to read the road signs.
The village of Jose Ignacio was a fishing village, that has become a holiday home village,with an interesting variety of architectural styles and stunning views it is definitley worth getting out of your car and walking around.
North of the roundabout and up the the road a couple of kms is Casa Suaya. You will pull onto a sand drive way and arrive at the reception, an open air office where Paulo and Leo greet you and check you in.
My bag was taken to the our room,my wife had travelled ahead as I had work to finish,and I was shown to the bar.
One thing I did not realise is that Uruguay was 3 hrs ahead of Florida,which is perfect as the custom dictates eating about three hrs off North Amercican times, i.e.breakfast at 10.30, lunch at 4p.m, and dinner at 10 or 11,a schedule that is very easy to slip into.
Do not worry about having to speak spanish as all the hotel staff speak very good english, of course a little bit helps so at least try.
The buildings fit niceley into there setting with the beach at the front and the hotel being nestled in a pine forest, and interestingly some of the buildings, not the quest rooms, have thatched roofs ,which turn out to be quite common here.
The bar staff at Casa Suaya, were most attentive and were willing to answer our endless questions about Uruguay as well as supply caipirinha's and very good Uraguayan wines and Champagne
The bar restaurant is facing the pool and from there the south Atlantic and beautiful empty beaches. Lunch can ,of course, be had pool side.
The rooms are comfortable, with a/c, refigerator,coffee pot, telephone, wifi,and ample closet space.The bathroom has a shower, toilet and bidet, with sinks in a seperate area.
Great towels and comfortable beds and linens and plenty of pillows are provided.
The stand out for us at Casa Suaya was the kitchen and chef,Clo.
The food that came from Clo and her staff was some of the best I have ever eaten.
A salad of delecate perfectly grilled squid with peppers and mango, or a 7 hour lamb, so juicy and so tender ,literally falling apart to the touch, fresh seafood and produce,
fresh green salads, eggs that actually taste like eggs.
Breakfast is not the North American style but Clo did share with me some of her personal stock of blood sausage that was like none I have ever had before.
In the kitchen there is a large rack of wood that burns all day and is used to grill meat and make bread,and Clo uses it perfectly.
Uruguay is famous for its farming and lamb and beef are on the menu as well as ample fresh seafood and locally sourced produce as well as being a wine producing nation.
Do not worry about having nothing to do, Paulo and Leo will arrange activities if you would like them. Golf, horse riding or a Polo lesson or drive to the sculpture park,visit art galleries in Jose Ignacio or La Barra to mention just a few.
Do bring cash, few restaurants take credit cards and at this time of year prices are high compared with North America.
Get a car drive around, do not be afraid to get lost, the people are friendly and kind and I hope you have a great time.
We did.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Jose Ignacio was a great location for some relaxation especially over the more bustling area of Punta del Este. Casa Suaya had friendly staff especially the 2 gentlemen that check you in. Later in the night it seems that it is more important for them to have a cool party environment than creating a sound sleeping environment for their paying guests. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. Definitely overpriced for the overall experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

my 2 best friends and myself went there to experience the south america`s summer (after everyone told me how dope is south america) and we had and amazing time in argentina and uruguay, specially in punta del este,in january. OMG!! is the place to be if you like exclusive cities in the world. We stayed at casa suaya, a beautiful boutique hotel in jose ignacio a few km away from the big noise. Very nice ocean views rooms with an amazing staff that will do anything for you to make you feel like home; even when they were at full capacity because january is the hottest month there. Great food at the restaurant "butia" with an amazing lady cheff that knows what`s up about style and food. if you wanna experience de real deal in punta del este, stay at casa suaya, rent a car, party at the hottest beaches, go eat at the best restaurants and go to the best and exclusive parties, if you can get in!!! :) that`s how we roll!!! i just love it!!! coming back this summer for sure!!!!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed for a week at Casa Suaya. We booked a bungalow at 750 USD a night because it was suggested as a cozy room, but instead it was a rustic cabin with damp smell. When we arrived it looked as nobody has checked up the room before our arrival: nothing worked! Non working bulbs, dirty floors, damp sheets, there where no trace of the promoted LCD with satellite channels, non working lights, only one robe for the two of us, no towels, torn curtains ..and the list goes on! As another example, there were country flowers in a vase on our arrival that were never replaced in the 7 days we´ve been there.
After asking many times for the LCD we got one "that they took from another room" but they never connected the satellite.
We never got replaced the broken lights of outside the cabin, so we had to walk in the dark every time we left the room in the night (and the paths are made of sand and small rocks...).
We got the chance of a hot bath only twice during our stay because the hot water is an odd thing at Casa Suaya.
The breakfast deserves a big POOR, it´s like you can imagine from a boarding school. It consisted in orange juice, coffee from thermos placed on a bar from many hours before you wake up, common bread (no wheat bread or any other kind than the most ordinary one!) and some slices of cheese, ham and one choice of jam. We never got in 7 days some creme cheese, or wheat toasts. We asked for them on the first day and they never got them for us...they just don´t care.
The water from the pool was dirty and freezing! They never turned on the heaters, although everybody asked them to do so. On our last days we saw an attendant removing the leafs and bugs from the pool and told us that they were going to turn the heaters on, but we were not lucky to see that and never could swim there.
They have the minimum staff we ever saw: the person who cleans the pool is the same that is seating at the reception, and give you the towels for the pool (that you have to beg for because nobody notices if you need them). They may leave the music on very loud and you may not find anybody to ask for get it turned down.
The owner of the hotel, a such "Adolfo Suaya" is another thing worthy a comment, because he moves around the hotel as trying to give the sense of "attended by its owner", but he is rude, haughty ,pedant, he never introduces himself, he fills the hotel pool and restaurant with noisy friends no caring for the comfort of the paying guests, and also make parties during the night. You get the sense that you are disturbing him at his house!
Not worth the money!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Suaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Suaya

Address: Ruta 10 km 185.5, Jose Ignacio 20881, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Jose Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Suaya 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy traveling and opt for discretion; intimacy and comfort Casa Suaya is for you. Your experience at Casa Suaya will be unique, you won’t be a room number for us, you will be our guest.Whether you decide to explore José Ignacio or just cozy up and spend the day on the property, we have everything you will need.Stay with us and you will feel like home, where you begin and end you day in your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Suaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Suaya Hotel Jose Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Suaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.