We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dreaming on a floating hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Garzon Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Laguna Garzon Lodge to your Saves list
Laguna Garzon Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruta 10 Km 190, Jose Ignacio 20402, Uruguay   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save $50 on select meals
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Jose Ignacio
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“dreaming on a floating hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you really want to have a relaxing experience, getting asleep with the sound of the roaring sound of the ocean waves, seeing the sunset with the birds on the lagoon, and just cross the road to be at the beach, with probably one or two more people, thatis the place to go !
And don't ask for a tvset because there is no one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Originally only staying there for one night we extended our stay three times to a full 9 days. We loved every minute. It really brought us down from our hectic lifestyle at home and back to nature. Even though the place has its dificulties with nature at times (thunderstorms, poweroutage with loss of internet connectivity , floods and draughts) the view over the laguna, the peace, the wildlife and last not least the very friendly and always helpfull staff and owner made up completely for some inconveniences that are beyond theire control. In addition they have a very good young cook that knows how to make a dinner or lunch an excellent homelike experience. The breakfast could be improved in selection but eventually they will provide everything you request.
If you dont expect 5star luxury and can live without TV, this is the place to chill. Car is highly recommendable though.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This property is secluded and very remote. It is reached by ferry across a lagoon and is 8km from the nearest habitation of Jose Ignacio. As two single women travelers, we had booked a twin room, but the only room available was a double bed. Despite the fact that the website told us there was a restaurant, this has now closed and we were not informed of this until after we had checked in for a 2 night stay. As there is nowhere else to eat or to buy food, Laguna Garzon is a totally impractical place to stay without a car and without driving backwards and forwards to eat. We therefore decided it was not practical to stay, however the manager was very reluctant to refund our money until I rang Visa to complain.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

incredible experience, most relaxing, lovely attendants, unique place overwhelmed by nature . They are developing the product in a very special way. its has a great potential and it only depends on them to turn it into the best experience at punta de leste area.

Room Tip: incrementar los servicios de comida
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Last year, my daughter gave us, as our 30th anniversary present, a weekend at the floating Hotel “Laguna Garzón” in Maldonado, Uruguay.

Unfortunately, we were not able to make use of her present even after two tries for the following reasons:

First try: After having confirmed our check in date and about an hour before beginning our trip from Montevideo to Maldonado, I received a call informing us that they could not receive us because the level of the water was too high and some rooms were not available. Thanks God, we were at home yet, but, they could let us know in advance, right? What could happen if we were in our way to the hotel?

Our agenda for that weekend was ruined.

In return, they offered us to stay in their other hotel but I was not what we wanted, so finally they offered us to book us for the same hotel in high season (even though our reservation was for low season). We accepted and booked for the next month.

Second try: The day before our trip, I called them to confirm our reservation. After a few tries, I finally could contact them. The next day after we arrived at the hotel (about 160 km from Montevideo) we found that there was no electricity, there were no other customers and the hotel staff was leaving because they obviously couldn’t work without electricity.

As a result, we had to return to Montevideo, cancel the reservation and request a refund. Honestly, the whole situation was really upsetting.

The following days and despite having made multiple telephone calls and having sent several emails asking for the refund, we never received an answer. After several months, my daughter had to make a claim directly to her credit card, which is still pending.

Overall, I consider that the service and attention of owners and managers of Laguna Garzón Hotel, in this case, was inconsiderate and irresponsible.

Finally, not only I do not recommend it for the poor attention received, but also because the second time we went, we actually had access to one of the rooms which wasn’t clean and ready to be occupied and the attention of the staff was inappropriate .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Best holidays ever. Total rest and enjoyment.
Very comfortable log cabins floating over the lake, greatest view and peaceful natural environment. Just bring your book, beachwear and relax :)
Ideal for lovers of water sports as well as fishing, or just for relaxation.
Only a few miles away from Punta del Este.
Rodrigo and Ana are the hosts for the hotel and are very helpful and friendly.
WE LOVED IT

Room Tip: all cabins are great, maybe the ones locates further away from the bar are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

It begins with a phone call. You talk with Maria or Andrea (Andy)... and you immediately know it's going to be THE place. A really very nice place, very cosy and confortable rooms with a marvellous view, half a minute away from the waves of the Ocean and a clean white sandy shore. The team is really very nice and helpfull, making your stay zen and easy; the welcome is very friendly, smart, warm and classy. Any question? Here they are with a solution. The restaurant is in the same trend, with perfect service, really good cuisine and remarkable wines.
We highly recommend a visit. And for sure: we will be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Garzon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Garzon Lodge

Address: Ruta 10 Km 190, Jose Ignacio 20402, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Jose Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laguna Garzon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Laguna Garzon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Garzon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.