We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterberg Plateau Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otjiwarongo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterberg Plateau Campsite
Save
You added Waterberg Plateau Campsite to your Saves list
D 2512, Otjiwarongo, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Reggello
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We already spent 2 nights here in 2011 and we really wanted to come back with our friends which we did in November 2014. The Campsite is very beautiful and has now a solar panel heated bath. The swimming pool is nice and we enjoyed to spent another 2 nights here. In the morning we did the trecking to the Plateau with the guide, unfortunately he didn't speak very well English so it was a bit hard to understand and to remember all the informations. The nature is spectacular. In the evening we did the game drive organized by the Lodge to see all these beautiful animals as kudus, giraffes, zebras, warthogs, impalas and the impressive couple of rhinos which is living there. Our guide JJ was marvelous and also if it was the second time we participate it was still an awesome and breathtaking adventure! Thank you so much JJ, we will never forget this tour.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Plateau Campsite, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Wow, five stars all over - thank you! In our regular training sessions for our staff we will address the language issue you mentioned.
Greetings from the Waterberg Wilderness Team (and a word of special thanks from JJ)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This review is for the Andersson Campsite. We stayed there for one night in April. There had been heavy downpours on the day before our arrival. The road to the reception was in a bad condition. We asked at reception if the road will get any worse and they said no it wouldn't. However it got so bad we were scared to seriously damage the 4x4. The weather improved while we were there but no effort was made to fill in the worst potholes. The campsite itself is in a beautiful location. Unfortunately the firewood that was provided was soaked and the pool was to dirty to swim in. We tried walking the path to the Wilderness Lodge but had to stop because it was completely overgrown & eventually a rock blocked our path. We ended up going back & taking the main road. However during the 15min on the path we saw more animals than the rest of our stay. When we tried to explain at reception that the path was no longer walkable this was mostly ignored. In general staff were friendly but not very informed or organised. We were sent to three different places to get meat for a braai but in the end had to give up. Seeing that the meat was advertised on the website we hadn't bought any on the way. We took the tour onto the plateau because you can only get there with a guide.
The tour was informative, the view from the plateau is beautiful and the guides were very friendly. Apart
from some dassies we didn't see any animals. Which seems to be standard on the plateau as the guide confirmed he hardly ever sees any.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Plateau Campsite, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are really sorry to hear about your problems during your stay at our private nature reserve Waterberg Wilderness. Please accept our apology for any shortcomings and allow us to respond. - Roads & pool: In April we received very heavy rains (in one night we had 120 mm). You have to wait with repair works a day or so to let the soil dry. However, there was no risk to damage a 4x4 on the muddy roads; we drove around with our VW microbus. The pool is affected by rains, too, as trees tend to defoliate. - Trails: Although we regularly maintain our trails, in times of rains grass and bush might grow a bit into the path, but we definitely did not experience any rockfalls. - Wood & meat: With a humidity of nearly 100 percent, you cannot prevent the wood from getting damp. With regard to the confusion concerning the braai meat we are clueless, as this is such a common request from our camping guests and we have meat in stock at all times. - It is a pity that you only stayed one night, as there was little time for us to clean up after the thunderstorm and too little time for you to go on a rhino drive to encounter white rhinos and other game in our reserve. - Your Waterberg Wilderness Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund, Namibia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We arrived full of expectations; and were sorely disappointed when we arrived; half of the camp sites were over grown with long grass; the other half had hardly any grass; the bathrooms were cleaned once a day at midday, so if you were not up early (which you don't really want to do on holiday) you were met with a flooded bathrooms with dirty floors. The shop on site was very poorly stocked. The receptionist was more interested in arranging her personal life on her mobile phone than she was to help us paying guests (disgraceful) The game drive was done at top speed, the ranger did not drive around slowly looking for any game he raced from one water hole to the next and it was very unpleasant considering the price we had to pay. We took a walk to the German cemetery that is a very important part of Namibia's history, but it was so poorly maintained and over grown it was so sad to see. The property has so much potential and if it was managed better would be a world class destination. The Waterberg plateau is fantastic and well worth the visit, but be prepared its not the same standard as other Namibian camp sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Plateau Campsite, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
This comment does not refer to our Waterberg Plateau Campsite, but rather to neighbouring Waterberg Rest Camp of NWR (erroneously listed here under Okahandja, see link: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g1182984-d3616581-Reviews-Waterberg_Rest_Camp-Okahandja_Otjozondjupa_Region.html).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We enjoyed two lovely nights at the Waterberg Wilderness Campsite. It´s a very well-maintained site in a beautiful, very natural setting. The individual sites are spacious and have a tree + open hut construction (you´ll appreciate the shade!) as well as a barbecue and running water. The sanitary facilities are excellent with separate showers/bathrooms for each campsite. There is even a small pool. All staff was very friendly & helpful - also at the two lodges where we had refreshing afternoon drinks.
We would HIGHLY recommend to go on the organized afternoon game drive - seeing rhinos up that close while walking (!) past them is a real highlight.
The only thing we missed was a light and/or electricity at the campsite - hence not the 5-star rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We didn't camp but had a really nice and spacious room with a new bathroom (very nice!) and you can see the Waterberg with all his beautiful colours. Also dinner was good. There is also a nice swimming pool but it was too cold, so we didn't use it. Beware of the monkeys :-). In the morning we saw also some steenbock and moongooses.
Don't miss to go on top of the Waterberg, beautiful view!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Plateau Campsite, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your comment. However, it does not refer to our Waterberg Plateau Campsite, but rather to neighbouring Waterberg Rest Camp of NWR (erroneously listed here under Okahandja, see link: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g1182984-d3616581-Reviews-Waterberg_Rest_Camp-Okahandja_Otjozondjupa_Region.html).

We are busy to clear up the confusion.

Your Waterberg Wilderness Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We camped here for two nights in late June, 2011.

The campsite was quiet and we had a choice of many nice sites. Most had a BBQ area, electric light, shared water tap nearby, and a tree for shade. Some had bench seats and/or tables also. There were three ablution blocks which was plenty; however if the campsite was extra full it is possible there might have been some queues for showers. The showers were clean and tidy and hot. There was also a covered communal laundry and cooking area with benches and sinks.

The reception / shop sells souvenirs, some basic food supplies, and firewood, although it sometimes runs out of firewood. The restaurant is a good 10 minute walk uphill along the road from the campsite. The atmosphere inside was very nice and we had a good meal with ostrich steaks. The restaurant also does lunches, which can be eaten outside in the courtyard. The swimming pool is next to the restaurant and is a good size, with shallow/children's and deep areas. It was very very cold in late June! There is a nice surrounding area with some deckchairs.

There are a number of short walks around the camp; we strung a few together which took 1 1/2 to 2 hours in the morning. In the evening we went up the Mountain View walk which is a must, the views are amazing (the photo doesn't do it justice). I would suggest making sure you are down well before dusk; take a good torch in case.

We saw rock dassies (rock hyrax) on the mountain view walk, baboons in the bush around camp (though they did not come into the campsite while we were there), and a large family of banded mongeese which swept through the camp. They were very entertaining to watch. Dik diks (cat-sized small antelope) hang around close to camp and on the roads. We did not see any snakes, which we were glad about, but it was wintertime.

Waterberg also provides double rooms, family units and chalets. We walked past the double room accommodation; there did not seem to be a lot of windows and the outdoor/BBQ areas were mostly small and shady and facing into / overhung by the bush. But we did not stay here or see it from the inside so it may be nicer than it looked.

I would certainly recommend Waterberg for a short camping stay.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Plateau Campsite, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your comment. However, it does not refer to our Waterberg Plateau Campsite, but rather to neighbouring Waterberg Rest Camp of NWR (erroneously listed here under Okahandja, see link: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g1182984-d3616581-Reviews-Waterberg_Rest_Camp-Okahandja_Otjozondjupa_Region.html).

We are busy to clear up the confusion.

Your Waterberg Wilderness Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterberg Plateau Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterberg Plateau Campsite

Address: D 2512, Otjiwarongo, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Otjiwarongo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Otjiwarongo
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both campsites offer secluded tent pitches (8 and 4 respectively) on the soft, red sand of the Kalahari, separated by bushes and trees, and a pool. Each pitch is equipped with shade roof, tap and grill and has its own shower/toilet in the central ablution block with hot and cold water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterberg Plateau Campsite Namibia/Otjiwarongo, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterberg Plateau Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.