We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn more about this unique cat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheetah Conservation Fund

Cheetah Conservation Fund
Otjiwarongo, Namibia
+264 (0) 67 306 225
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Educational Sites, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A unique opportunity to experience conservation in action! CCF is the global leader in cheetah research, conservation and education. Its Centre, 44 kms east of Otjiwarongo, is open to the public all year round (8 am-5pm) except Christmas. CCF works to keep cheetahs in the wild and educate the public. However, it provides sanctuary to injured or orphaned cheetahs, many of which cannot be released back in to the wild. Learn about the cheetah's plight, watch them being fed or exercised at high speeds, meet some of our scientists. Our Model Farm teaches farmers how to co-exist with predators. Visitors can meet some of CCF's Livestock Guarding Dogs and their flocks of sheep and goats. You can also try our home-made goat-milk cheese, ice cream or fudge at the Cheetah Cafe. Limited luxury accommodations and camping are available.
Ranst, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Learn more about this unique cat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were ignorent about these animals. The run of young cheeta's at 8 o'clock in de morning gives the best photo's of your trip in Namibia. The guides learn you so much about the conservation of this wild cat. This is a must!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    26
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“CCF revisited”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had been here before and this time we wanted to see something new - the Cheetah run.
From our e-mail contact we learned that it could not be done on Sundays... But as we arrived we heard that sure we could, just phone us! So - don't trust your e-mail. Phone!
So what we did was the "Eland Drive". Last time we loved it. We had a truly enthusiastic driver called Charles who gave us a fantastic drive. This time, with another driver, it was more disappointing. The cheetahs looked sad and dusty and nothing was done to cheer them up... Still, I guess if it would have been a first time we would have been happy. The Eland Drive is a very good chance to get close and take nice photos.
This time we also did something we missed before - the cheetah museum. Big and interesting and for all ages. Don't miss it!
And, we will be be back another time to see the cheetahs run. But we will call first, perhaps even ask for Charles, our favorite guide!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Anders,

Thanks for writing and for your very constructive criticism. We are sorry your experience was not as good as the first one, but hope that your next visit will be. Do you remember who your guide was? We are open on Sundays and we strive to provide the best service, however, our staff gets rotated so they can have a Sunday off from time to time, so that might be the reason why Charles was not your guide this time.

Also, please know that all the activities we offer at CCF can be pre-booked for any day of the week, all year round except Christmas day if you give us a call. E-mail works out too, and it might be that the person who replied to you might have not clarified that perhaps that specific Sunday the run could not be scheduled (runs are scheduled based on weather, cheetahs' "mood" and the right staff being on duty).

Thanks again, and please feel free to write directly to us at info (at) cheetah dot org if we can be of further assistance,

Patricia Tricorache
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“8am Cheetah run- a must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We loved seeing the cheetahs run with the lure system (so cute!) and supporting this great organisation. There is a gift shop and education center so one can easily spend a few hours learning about cheetahs there!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“hey, how about humans ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

touching of course to see how well those wounded animals are being taken care of. But the cost is high. In fact, the monthly cost for one animal far exceeds an average monthly salary in Namibia. So yes the foundation is doing good and also helping kids, but still...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hello Michael,

Thanks so much for visiting CCF. We are happy to see that you bring a very important aspect of our work that most visitors don't get to experience. We believe that for conservation to be effective, people need to benefit from it.

In addition to school and youth education programs, CCF trains hundreds of Namibian farmers every year in integrated livestock management, which helps farmers protect their livestock from disease and predators, thus experiencing less financial losses and reducing the need to kill predators. The farmers win, but also the cheetah and the entire eco-system that depends on this apex predator. CCF also designs programs to create alternative income sources and capacity building for the community.

Please visit our web site cheetah dot org to learn more about work, and thanks for bringing up such a good subject!

Patricia Tricorache
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Preserving the cheetahs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The people at the place seemed to be very knowledgeable and had lots of information to share with us. There are a couple of activities to choose from depending on the amount of time you have to spend at the facility. Well-worth a visit!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheetahconservation, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Conservation Fund, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review and the very useful advice. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheetah Conservation Fund also viewed

Otjiwarongo, Otjozondjupa Region
Etosha National Park, Oshikoto Region
 
Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park
 

Been to Cheetah Conservation Fund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheetah Conservation Fund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.